Confusing Card of the Week #5 – Magneto, Sonderkommando

Posted: November 12, 2015 in CCW, Confusing Card of the Week, Rules
Tags: , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

This week’s Confusing Card of the Week is Magneto, Sonderkommando from the Marvel Avengers vs X-Men set.

Magneto, Sonderkommando

Ruling
Let’s take a look at his static ability first. While you have at least one Magneto die in the field, all of your Villain characters get +2A and +2D. So what exactly is a Villain? Villains can be found in Marvel and DC sets.

Marvel Villain Symbol             DC Villain Symbol
Marvel Villain Affiliation                            DC Villain Affiliation

Evil characters from the D&D set are not considered to be Villains, and the Yu-Gi-Oh! set does not currently have any Villains.

So back to Magneto’s ability. If I have a Magneto, Wererat, and Sinestro in the field, Sinestro will get +2A and +2D because he has the DC Villain affiliation. The Wererat doesn’t get a bonus from Magneto because it’s an evil monster from the D&D set, and Magneto doesn’t give himself the bonus because his ability says ‘other Villains’.

Now let’s take a look at the Global that Magneto has. It says that you can pay a Mask to reroll a Villain die. This includes dice in your reserve pool. This is incredibly helpful if you roll energy on that Villain that you needed to field this turn.

I really need my Venom on a character side and after my reroll, he’s on an energy side, I can spend a Mask to reroll him and hope I get a character.

This Global is also helpful if my opponent has a particularly annoying Villain in the field. I can spend a Mask to force them to reroll the Villain and hope it lands on an energy side.

Let’s say you draw a Magneto die and three Sidekick dice. You roll all four dice and your Sidekicks roll a Shield, Bolt, and Fist. Your Magneto rolls a double Mask. You decide to keep the three Sidekicks on the energy you rolled. You reroll your Magneto and he lands on double Mask again.

You cannot spin Magneto down to a single Mask side and reroll him. If he lands on a single Mask side, you cannot reroll him by spending that energy because it goes in transit and the die is no longer there for you to reroll.

Here is a link to the official Magneto Ruling.
Here is another Relevant Ruling.

Competitive Play Rating
This character has a particularly useful Global if it’s paired with an Action like Takedown or another card that can give a character the Villain affiliation. But relying on a combo that uses Globals or even adding something like this to a team can backfire on you in a big way. When you build competitive teams, you don’t typically build a team that has a backfire potential like this. You would have to build a very specific team for a card like Magneto, and I don’t feel there is enough support for teams like that at this time.

Also, Magneto’s fielding cost isn’t the best, especially his level three. He has fairly beefy stats, but not worth the cost of the die, the effort to roll a character, and then the potential of a two or three fielding cost. I just don’t see a truly competitive player putting him on a team for anything other than his Global, which is situation specific.

Magneto, Sonderkommando gets a competitive play rating of one out of five stars.
1 Star

Casual Play Rating
For a casual setting, you can build an interesting team if you pair Magneto with a card that can give characters the Villain affiliation (like Takedown). This gives you the ability to force your opponent to reroll characters and possibly clear the field for yours to get through. Trying to get this combo to go off can be very difficult because it relies on having a lot of different components, but when it does, it’s a lot of fun.

Since Magneto is only useful in certain situations, it makes him difficult and potentially disappointing for beginning players. More advanced players can find creative ways to use him. He gets a solid two stars for casual play because he can make games more interesting and help teach players about using certain Globals effectively.

Magneto, Sonderkommando gets a casual play rating of two out of five stars.
2 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
You can post a question in our Facebook group and we’ll take a look at it.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s