Confusing Card of the Week #12 – Game Mechanic “Timing”

Posted: November 18, 2015 in CCW, Confusing Card of the Week, Rules
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

Today we’re looking at Timing. Timing is a game mechanic and we are going to look at a few examples.

First we will use Black Widow, Tsarina and Marvel Girl, Humanity as examples from this post, here.

Black Widow, Tsarina says, “When Black Widow attacks, she deals 2 damage to your opponent. Your opponent can prevent this by spinning one of his characters down one level.”

Marvel Girl, Humanity says, “When you are attacked, you may spin up Marvel girl one level. If you do, gain 2 life.”

So, if my opponent attacks me with Black Widow, and I have Marvel Girl in the field, what happens first?

We look to the DC Rulebook on page 21 and find this:
Timing Conflicts
If there is a conflict of timing (e.g., both players want to use an ability simultaneously), the person whose turn it is always resolves their effects first. If simultaneous effects are controlled by the same player, that player chooses the order of those effects. Once activated, an effect is always resolved entirely before the next effect begins. You cannot use an effect after your opponent starts an effect but before it resolves. The only exception to this is when an effect redirects or prevents damage, but those situations are clearly spelled out in the card text.

Long story short, my opponent is the ‘turn player’ and so my opponent gets to trigger Black Widow first. After Black Widow’s effect resolves, I can then trigger my Marvel Girl’s ability (if my life total is still above zero).

It’s possible to KO an opponent with Black Widow’s ability before Marvel Girl can trigger her ability.

Now let’s look at another Timing example with Storm, Wind Rider and Dr. Doom, Reed Richard’s Rival as examples from this post, here.

Storm, Wind Rider says, “When fielded, reroll up to 2 opposing characters. Each die that does not roll a character goes to your opponent’s used pile. Storm deals 2 damage to your opponent for each die moved.”

Doctor Doom, Reed Richard’s Rival says, “While Doctor Doom is active, each non-Villain character gets -1A and -1D (no matter how many Doctor Doom dice you have fielded).

My opponent has Doctor Doom and a Mystique, Raven Darkholme active. I field Storm and choose Doctor Doom and Mystique. My opponent rerolls both of them and does get not a character on either one. The two dice go to my opponent’s used pile and my opponent takes four damage. Storm gets -1A and -1D until the end of turn. If she is on her level one side, she would be KO’d and sent to the prep area.

Any dice fielded after Doctor Doom has left the field would not suffer from his static effect.

Taken from the FAQ:
“Q: Please explain the interaction/timing of “When Fielded” and “While Active” effects.
A: Characters are fielded when they are moved from the reserve pool to the field zone (by paying their fielding cost or through any special effect). An effect that occurs while the character is “active” is described as an effect that takes place when one or more of that card’s dice are in the field. See the Tournament Rules – Active and Fielded section in the rulebook on page 19. For example, Hawkeye Longbow’s effect would activate only when you pay the character’s fielding cost and move the die from your reserve pool to the field. Doctor Doom Reed Richards’ Rival’s effect would stay in effect as long as that character die is in your field zone.
For “When Fielded” effects, you ask “Was the character fielded?”— If “yes”, the effect occurs immediately as they are fielded. This will happen simultaneously with any static effects already in the field (like Doctor Doom Reed Richards’ Rival’s -1A/-1D). So, if I field Hawkeye on his Level 1 or 2 face (with 1 Defense), if there are no other defense modifiers on the field, it would play out as:
1) Hawkeye deals his attack value (which is being modified Dr. Doom RRR by -1) to target character.
2) Dr. Doom’s RRR modifies Hawkeye’s Defense by -1 KO’ing Hawkeye.
So, effectively, Hawkeye uses his effect just as he is KO’d.”

Quick links for reference:
Marvel Girl vs Black Widow
Storm vs Dr. Doom

I don’t have a rating for a game mechanic and I won’t be doing a rating at this time for the cards mentioned in this post.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
You can post a question in our Facebook group and we’ll take a look at it.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s