Confusing Card of the Week #14 -Superman, Kal-El and Retaliation

Posted: November 19, 2015 in CCW, Confusing Card of the Week, Rules
Tags: , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

Today we’re looking Superman, Kal-El from the DC Justice League set and the Retaliation ability.

Superman Kal-El

Here is a link to the official Retaliation Ruling.

Retaliation triggers off of each unique character in the field and not from each character die. Characters with Retaliation do not count themselves when they are KO’d.

Example One:
~ I have one Superman in the field.
~ Superman is KO’d.
~ My opponent takes no damage.

Example Two:
~ I have one Superman and one Cyborg, Exceptionally Gifted in the field.
~ Superman is KO’d.
~ My opponent takes one damage because Cyborg has Retaliation.

Example Three:
~ I have two Superman and one Cyborg in the field.~ One Superman is KO’d.
~ My opponent takes one damage from my active Superman and one damage from my active Cyborg, for a total of two damage.

Example Four:
~ I have two Superman and two Cyborg in the field.
~ One Superman is KO’d.
~ My opponent takes one damage from my active Superman and one damage from my active Cyborg, for a total of two damage.

Example Five:
~ I have two Superman and two Cyborg in the field.
~ One Superman and one Cyborg get KO’d.
~ My opponent takes two damage from my active Superman and two damage from my active Cyborg for a total of four damage, because there were two affiliated characters KO’d.

Competitive Play Rating
There are plenty of decent Justice League characters that someone can build a nice rogue team around the Justice League Retaliation. Superman could make for a powerful addition to that team. I flinch at his level three fielding cost, but his level stats make up for that some. His level one and level two fielding costs and stats are good. His purchase cost can be reduced by characters like Blue-Eyes White Dragon, Monstrous Dragon or Basic Actions like Big Entrance.

While Superman is not great on his own, he could be extremely beneficial on the right team. I would recommend him for a Justice League Retaliation based rogue team, but would not to put him on just any team.

Superman, Kal-El gets a competitive play rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Casual Play Rating
Superman would make for a great addition to any Justice League themed team. I would recommend caution when playing with several Retaliation characters on one team though. In a casual setting, some players may get really frustrated in having to play around the Retaliation ability. For a casual team, I would recommend only one character with Retaliation; or maybe only purchasing one of your characters with Retaliation and not all of them.

His fielding costs and stats are great for casual play. His purchase cost isn’t too bad, especially since you can reduce the cost by running certain cards, like Blue-Eyes or Big Entrance.

Superman, Kal-El gets a casual play rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
You can post a question in our Facebook group and we’ll take a look at it.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Leave a Reply

