Event Report – Guardians Team, Teen Titans OP

Posted: December 7, 2015 in Report, Team Building
Tags: , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Masters!

 

So my team didn’t quite perform the way I’d hoped. Well, I had fun and that’s all that matters! We play one game rounds, a 30 minute timer, and five turns when time is called. The number of rounds is based on the number of players. We had three rounds for this event with a total of six players.

I apologize in advance for the short report. I didn’t take enough notes – and this is my first ever event report. I know what I need to do next time! But here’s what I have.

Round One
My opponent was playing an interesting team that involved spinning your opponent’s characters up and down while doing them damage. I made a huge mistake in buying too many Drax dice too early and not balancing him out with Rocket. I think I only bought two Rocket dice and had bought all of my Drax dice. I got a Star-Lord on the field, but with him taking damage from my opponent’s spinning him and then needing to block with him, I couldn’t keep him on the field. I had a rough time combating this team and in hindsight, I would have played a little different. I was saving energy early on to use Professor X’s Global, when I should have been buying other dice. Drax’s level three field cost really messed me up, because I couldn’t seem to roll him on any other side! In some cases, that wouldn’t be a bad thing but it was awful in this game. I ended up losing in turns, after time was called.

Round Two
My opponent was playing a team built from a starter with a few added cards. Of course, the way it always goes for me, I got the best rolls against him and bought the right dice at the right time. I even got a Starhawk on the field and had several Drax and Rocket active with a Hulk Out ready. I don’t like when my teams seem to work that well against newer players. But this game confirmed that the team could work with the right rolls. It was near my fifth turn when I had Starhawk active and ready to attack. I had taken his life down, little by little, with Drax and Rocket throughout the match. I then was able to attack for game with about 15 minutes left in the round.

Round Three
My opponent was playing a fairly competitive Teen Titans team. I didn’t stand a chance, but I did get decent rolls and survived long enough to see that I really need to do something about buying too many Drax before getting my Rockets. I had to buy a Star-Lord early because I didn’t roll anything other than three fists and a shield on turn one. I wasn’t about to waste two energy and only buy a Drax die. But after that horrible turn one roll, my rolls improved. I just bought the wrong dice, again. His team moved quickly and we ended our game with 20 minutes left in the round.

Conclusion
I do actually love to play this team. I just need to find the right flow with Drax and Rocket and I think that swapping to a different Drax could help a lot. I think I’ll be swapping the Drax, Arthur Douglas for either Drax, Pained or Drax, Infinity Watch. I plan to do some test playing tonight during our casual play and see which I like better. I got that cool new Robin, Teen Titans Team Leader for playing in the event. I still feel like a winner though, because I learned something about my team.

Event though I ended with a record of 1-2-0 (1 win, 2 losses, 0 ties), I still had a lot of fun testing this team. That should be everyone’s goal at these type of events – have fun!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Leave a Reply

