The Competitive Player’s Biggest Problem – Building Casual

Posted: December 11, 2015 in Strategy, Team Building
Tags: , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Masters!

Today’s topic is probably a touchy one for some folks. I can fully understand why, but it’s a topic that I really want to discuss. Many competitive players have one mode of thinking; fun means winning. It’s not their fault for thinking that way because our society equates success to winning. If you aren’t triumphing over someone, stepping on the backs of those you’ve defeated, then you aren’t having fun.

It really takes a lot to change this mode of thinking and not everyone has the right mindset for it. I’m not saying that you shouldn’t try to win; I’m saying that playing the game, win or lose, should be fun for all those involved.

So, if you have a knack for building really good teams that seem to decimate all your opponents, take care that you aren’t hurting feelings. If you think your teams aren’t for casual play, and you don’t know how to tone it down, I may be able to give you some advice.

Find your strongest card and replace it or don’t buy it. My husband built a team that is based on spinning your opponent’s characters up and down and dealing them damage from it. One of the biggest problems my casual teams have against that one is his Green Dragon, Master Dragon and Beast, Kreature. Because of how specific his team mechanic is, he doesn’t want to swap those characters out. He decided that because of their abilities being really good, he just won’t buy those character dice while playing against certain teams, like casual teams.

Pick characters with abilities that rely on multiple characters for a combo. I have a team that needs to have multiple characters in the field that are level two or three. I call it my Colossus team and it’s centered around Colossus, Piotr Rasputin; La Jinn the Mystical Genie of the Lamp, The Power of the Lamp; and Sabretooth, Something to Prove. It’s difficult to get the combo going and it gives my opponent a chance to build up and maybe get several attacks in before I can even get going. My Colossus team doesn’t usually attack with anything so any character I get in the field, I leave there.

Choose characters that you like and don’t focus on their abilities. I have a whole team, all eight characters of nothing but female characters that I like. I chose the character by name first, then I looked at all their different versions and picked one I liked. I had to suppress the urge to build around some of the characters as I put that team together. My woman team is not very good at all, but it works great against new players and beginners. I added some characters for their Global abilities, when fielded abilities, etc, to give my opponent a chance to see different aspects of the game. I even added some Basic Action Cards that don’t get used much, like Stinking Cloud.

Build around a theme, like Spider-Man, X-Men, or Villains, and use as many of the chosen affiliation as possible. My Spider-Man team uses seven Spider-Man affiliated characters and Blue-Eyes White Dragon, Monstrous Dragon. Some of my other affiliation teams may use Blue-Eyes as well as Professor X, Recruiting Young Mutants. I don’t mind using these cards because my opponent can use the Global Abilities on them too.

Learn to read your opponent and how to adjust to their moods. If you’re a competitive player, then you should be fairly decent at reading your opponent. Adjust your play accordingly to make the game a little more fun for them if they seem to be getting discouraged. Maybe offer advice and tips, or remind them of Global Abilities and Basic Actions on your side.

Be patient with your opponents. Remember that new players or new to gaming players, may not understand things right away. Try to relate game aspects to things your opponent will understand to help them grasp the game concepts better; use sports references if they’re a sports fan. Your experience as a competitive player can really help increase the level of casual play and maybe even transition some casual players into being competitive.

Playing in the casual scene is much different than the competitive scene and some competitive players have trouble adjusting to a slower pace. Take your time adjusting if you’re a super competitive-minded player.

Good luck!
Have your own bit of advice or tips for a smoother transition?
Drop them in a comment here!
Remember to keep it fun and friendly!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

 

Leave a Reply

