Confusing Card of the Week #20 – Kobold, Greater Humanoid (and Swarm)

Posted: January 8, 2016 in CCW, Confusing Card of the Week, Rules
Tags: , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

Many apologies for posting so late this week. I try to have the CCW up between Tuesday and Thursday, but sometimes, things get crazy busy. But here it is, at last!

Today, we’re going to take a look at Kobold, Greater Humanoid from the Dungeons and Dragons Battle for Faerûn set.

        Kobold, Greater Humanoid

Ruling
Kobold has a few aspects to his card. We’ll save Swarm for last

Let’s look at the first bit of text. Must attack if your opponent controls any adventurers. Adventurers come strictly from the D&D set and they all have the Experience ability. If your opponent has a character active that has the Experience ability, then your Kobold is forced to attack. The most confusing part of this is remembering what an adventurer is.

The other text says that at least one adventurer must block this Kobold. So if you have two Kobolds active and your opponent has two adventurers, your Kobolds must attack and each adventurer must block the Kobolds. Now, your opponent can choose to have both adventurers block one Kobold, so long as both their adventurers are blocking Kobolds. This part is also easy enough, as long as players remember what adventurers are.

The most confusing part of this card, and a few other cards, is the Swarm ability. Swarm allows you to draw an extra die during your draw step, but only if you have the character with Swarm active and you draw one of that character’s dice. Here are a few examples to help show how this ability works.

~ I have one Kobold and one Orc active and they both have the Swarm ability. I draw four dice during my draw step and one of the dice is a Kobold. Since I have a Kobold active, I get to draw one more die from my bag for a total of five dice roll.

~ I have one Kobold and one Orc active and they both have the Swarm ability. I draw four dice during my draw step and two of them are Kobold dice. Since I have a Kobold active, I get to draw one more die for each of the Kobold dice I drew, for a total of six dice to roll.

~ I have two Kobold and one Orc active and they all have the Swarm ability. I draw four dice during my draw step and one of them is a Kobold die and another is an Orc die. Since I have a Kobold active, I get to draw one extra die (not two) because of the Kobold die I drew. I also get to draw an extra die because I drew an Orc while I have an Orc active. That gives me a total of six dice to roll.

~ I have one Kobold and one Orc active and they both have the Swarm ability. I draw four dice during my draw step and one is a Kobold die. I draw my extra die and it’s an Orc die. I get to draw again because I drew an Orc and have an Orc active. This gives me a total of six dice to roll. If I draw another Orc or Kobold, I get to draw another die increasing the total to seven.

Here is the official Ruling.

Competitive Play Rating
Kobold is very cheap, has really low stats, and an amazing fielding cost. Swarm teams generally use Kobolds to help get their swarm triggers early.  This character makes for a great addition to any Swarm team, even with the threat of Human Paladins. Kobolds could also potentially help get those annoying Paladins off the field if you use the right Basic Actions. Even if you get stuck with a character side when you want energy, his fielding cost is no trouble at all. He makes for great fodder for Blue-Eyes to help get that higher cost character that may be your win condition.

Kobold, Greater Humanoid gets a competitive play rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Casual Play Rating
I can’t give any character with Swarm more than three stars for casual, simply because of the confusion that Swarm can cause. These make for great chump blocking characters, and churn characters once the player has mastered how Swarm works. I have my own Swarm team that use in some casual events and even though Swarm can be fast, if you don’t have a solid win condition, you could get shut down. If the Swarm ability wasn’t such a large point of confusion, this card would easily get a four star rating. This character has so many uses in casual and competitive, including being fodder for Blue-Eyes.

Kobold, Greater Humanoid gets a casual play rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
You can post a question in our Facebook group and we’ll take a look at it.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Comments
  1. M K says:

    Considering kobold swarm was a critical part of two of the decks in the top 16 at worlds (http://www.diceanon.com/dissecting-the-worlds-archetypes-spray-swarm/), three stars seems low for competitive play rating. What does it take to get four?

    Like

    • This particular Kobold has a three star rating as a rogue character because I thought that the rare version was the one used on those teams. Apparently the source I used was incorrect on which Kobold it was!

      I wanted to give him a four star for competitive and I will adjust my rating, since I was misinformed initially.

      Thank you for the link!

      Like

Leave a Reply

