Confusing Card of the Week #22 – Imprisoned, Basic Action Card

Posted: January 21, 2016 in CCW, Confusing Card of the Week, Rules
Tags: , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

I hope everyone is safe and cozy today and that you all stay safe and cozy throughout this winter weather that most of our region is getting. We haven’t been snowed on yet – but it’s coming tomorrow morning! So, being that I’ll be housebound (most likely) for the weekend, I may do an article on one of my teams. But for now – CCW!

Today we’re looking at the Imprisoned, Basic Action Card from the  Marvel Uncanny X-Men Starter Set.

Imprisoned, Basic Action

Ruling
This card is one that I have a serious love-hate relationship with. If you are too familiar with different gaming lingo, this card can throw you for a loop. I am specifically referring to ‘total fielding cost’ and what it means on this card.

I want to touch on what capturing is, before we get into the details of this card. When you capture a die, you put it in your field underneath the capturing die. This means that the captured die can no longer be affected by anything else because it has been removed from the game, but only temporarily. A capturing die can still be affected by game effects. If a capturing die is removed, the captured die is returned to where it was captured from unless otherwise stated. Capturing will end at the end of turn, but as you can see that Imprisoned is an exception. It’s also worth mentioning that anything attached to a captured character die will get captured with it. (Ring of Magnetism, Magic Helmet, Vibranium Shield, etc.)

A character has a ‘total fielding cost’ on their die. We’ll look at Black Widow, Tsarina and Professor X, Recruiting Young Mutants as examples.

If you are wanting to know what a character’s total fielding cost is, you add the fielding cost of each side. Black Widow’s fielding costs are 0, 0, and 1. Her total fielding cost would be 1. Professor X’s fielding costs are 1, 2, and 3. His total fielding cost is 6.

When you read Imprisoned, it’s easy to confuse the wording on the card with TFC (Total Fielding Cost). If you read the card more closely, you’ll see that the wording actually means something different.

When you activate Imprisoned, you can capture as many characters as you choose, but you can only capture characters until the fielding costs of the captured characters are equal to or less than two.

Here are some examples:
~ Six Sidekick dice (total fielding cost among characters is zero)
~ Three level one Black Widow dice, two Sidekick dice, and one level two Professor X (total fielding cost among characters is two)
~ Two level three Black Widow dice (total fielding cost among characters is two)
~ One level three Black Widow die (total fielding cost among characters is one)
~ Any character that is on a side with a fielding cost of three or more is not affected by Imprisoned (Professor X, level three has a fielding cost of three)

If your opponent has other characters in the field with a zero fielding cost, you can choose to not capture those dice and only capture others. You are not required to capture all valid options. When choosing the dice for Imprisoned, it’s worth mentioning that those dice are not being targeted. Effects that make characters immune to being targeting will not stop them from being Imprisoned.

The card also states that the characters remain captured until the effect is cancelled or you damage your opponent. What this means is if you do any damage to your opponent, whether it be from an attack or ability, Imprisoned will go to your Used Pile and your opponent will get their characters back in their Field Zone. There are also cards that can cancel the effects of Action Dice. If one of these card effects are used, Imprisoned will go to the Used Pile and all the captured characters will return to your opponent’s Field Zone.

One of the last things I’d like to mention about this particular card is that it doesn’t say that you can only have one Imprisoned die active. You are able to purchase and use all three of your Imprisoned dice and have each die capture as many characters as the card allows.

Here is the official Ruling.

Competitive Play Rating
As I stated earlier, I have such a love-hate relationship with this card. I initially thought it to mean the character’s TFC. When I realized that it meant a total of all the character’s current fielding costs, I realized just how good this card was. This is one of the Basic Actions that you should consider if you have a spot open. There are a few issues with this card. One issue is if you get into a race with your opponent to buy all the dice when you don’t want them in your bag early game. And another is obviously having your dice used against you. I do like that this Basic Action does not have a global ability on it. It’s really good on it’s own and very much worth purchasing in a game. If you’re running Blue-Eyes, you can easily reduce the cost to two. I wouldn’t be surprised to see this card on several teams in a competitive setting. There are counters to this card, but I feel the benefits of using this card are well worth the risk.

Imprisoned, Basic Action gets a competitive play rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Casual Play Rating
As for a casual setting that has players of all different skill levels, this card is good and bad. For more advanced players, this card can be a great teaching tool in moderation. For beginners or less advanced players, this card can be very annoying and even scare some players off. Beginners don’t have the skill set or sometimes, the cards, to combat something like this. The capturing mechanic can be very confusing too for beginners and there are other cards out there that are probably better for teaching this mechanic. I don’t recommend a beginner use this card either because I feel like the skill level is a bit higher than beginner. It requires that players know when to re-roll for energy or just let it expire other than use it to capture that one Sidekick early game. Not understanding how to use this card in a strategic manner can be very off-putting for some players and causes the game experience to deteriorate. But I don’t discourage advanced players from using it in casual settings; I just ask that they use good judgement to determine which opponents to use it against and which ones to leave it on the card for.

Imprisoned, Basic Action gets a casual play rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
You can post a question in our Facebook group and we’ll take a look at it.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s