Confusing Card of the Week #25 – Psylocke, Kwannon the Assassin

Posted: February 9, 2016 in CCW, Confusing Card of the Week, Rules
Tags: , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

Today we’re looking at Psylocke, Kwannon the Assassin from the Marvel Uncanny X-Men set.

Psylocke, Kwannon the Assassin

Ruling
This card comes from the second set, Uncanny X-Men. When WizKids released the first set of Dice Masters (Avengers vs X-Men), I don’t think they knew exactly what they had done. Dice Masters is similar to Quarriors, which has a following, but nothing like Dice Masters. I attribute this to familiar characters and how easy the game is overall. I don’t think WizKids knew just how big Dice Masters was going to be and so they didn’t word these earlier cards as clearly as they should have for the first few sets. Psylocke, Kwannon the Assassin is a prime example.

Psylocke’s card says that when you field her, you can pay two Mask Energy to knock out one character. You only get to pick one character die with her ability. You do not get to KO all the fielded dice of one character. Her ability is optional and not a required trigger.

If you choose an opposing character die to KO and it has an ability that triggers when it’s KO’d, your opponent gets the ability. This would include characters with Aftershock. You could also choose to KO a character die you control, but you would not get to use Aftershock on your own character.

Examples:
~ My opponent has three Wolverine, Canucklehead dice in their Field Zone. I field a Psylocke and pay two Mask Energy. I get to choose one Wolverine die to KO, not all three.

~ My opponent has a Zatanna, Zatanna Zatara die in their Field Zone. I field Psylocke and pay two Mask Energy. I KO my opponent’s Zatanna and they get to draw a die and put it in their Prep Area.

~ I have a Zatanna, Zatanna Zatara die in the Field Zone. I field Psylocke and pay two Mask Energy. I KO my Zatanna and then I get to draw a die and put it in my Prep Area.

~ My opponent has an Aunt May, Caring Aunt in the Field Zone. I field Psylocke and pay two Mask Energy. I KO my opponent’s Aunt May and my opponent gets to use her Aftershock ability.

~ I have an Aunt May, Caring Aunt in the Field Zone. I field Psylocke and pay two Mask Energy. I KO my Aunt May die but I do not get the Aftershock ability because Aftershock triggers only when my opponent knocks out my character dice.

Here is the official Ruling.

Competitive Play Rating
This character has huge potential. Her fielding costs are some of the best and even though her stats aren’t so great, it’s her ability you want her for. Since Mask Energy is such a predominant energy type in the game, getting two to use for her ability isn’t too much trouble. She can eliminate huge threats by not having to deal damage and that is a great advantage. She works well on almost any team and she also works on her own without the need of a combo card. Her purchasing cost is amazing and she’s a character I would almost run at max dice if I had room.

Psylocke, Kwannon the Assassin gets a competitive play rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Casual Play Rating
Psylocke’s ability is easy enough to explain to beginners and with her purchasing cost and fielding costs being some of the best in the game, I can’t discourage any casual player from using her. Her ability is fine for casual settings – I don’t feel that it’s too overpowered. Her stats aren’t the best, but that makes her manageable and not too powerful. I’m not sure how many good things I can say about this card, and there aren’t many negatives. I would highly recommend this card for any player of any level.

Psylocke, Kwannon the Assassin gets a casual play rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
You can post a question in our Facebook group and we’ll take a look at it.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Comments
  1. AgentJ says:

    She is from Uncanny X-men set, not AvX.

    Like

Leave a Reply

