Confusing Card of the Week #26 – Black Panther, Diversion

Posted: February 17, 2016 in CCW, Confusing Card of the Week, Rules
Tags: , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

Today we’re looking at Black Panther, Diversion from the Marvel Uncanny X-Men set.

Black Panther, Diversion

Ruling
Black Panther’s ability is fairly easy to figure out. As long as you do not attack with him, you can choose an opposing, non-Fist character and that character can’t block.

Black Panther’s ability works for each of his dice you have in the field. If you have three Black Panther dice in the field and you want to only attack with one of them, you can use the ability on the other two dice to keep two of your opponent’s non-Fist characters from blocking.

Example:
~ I have three Black Panther dice in the Field Zone.
~ My opponent has a Wolverine, Green Goblin, and Sinestro in the Field Zone.
~ I choose two of my Black Panther dice to not attack with and use their abilities and pick my opponent’s Green Goblin and Sinestro. Green Goblin and Sinestro cannot block this turn.
~ I attack with my third Black Panther die.
~ My opponent can choose to block or not block with Wolverine.

In the scenario above, Green Goblin is a Bolt character, Sinestro is a Shield character, and Wolverine is a Fist character. My Black Panther could only pick my opponent’s Green Goblin and Sinestro.

Here is the official Ruling.

Competitive Play Rating
I feel like Black Panther’s ability could be useful, but I don’t feel like there is a place for him in the competitive meta. He cost too much for what he does, and to get much use out of him, you would need three or four of him fielded. His stats and fielding costs are fantastic for an aggressive player. Another issue with him is that you have to choose non-Fist characters. There are several good Fist characters that are meta, so he would have been much better without that limitation on his ability. I know there are meta cards that have a cost of five of more, but their abilities are more useful on their own or with one other combo card. Hulk, Green Goliath is a good example of a card that could easily replace Black Panther. His ability to wipe your opponent’s field and his huge defense outweighs his purchase cost. I still feel like Black Panther could potentially find his way onto a rogue team, but you probably are not going to see many, if any, of him at a major event.

Black Panther, Diversion gets a competitive play rating of one out of five stars.
1 Star

Casual Play Rating
Black Panther has an unusual ability and could be a great teaching and learning tool for beginners. His purchase cost isn’t too big of an issue in a casual setting and I would recommend him for almost any beginner’s team. He can be somewhat confusing for some beginners though, and I would suggest that any player using him be able to explain how he works. But as long as both players fully understand how he works, Black Panther can be a fun and unique addition to almost any casual team.

Black Panther, Diversion gets a casual play rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
You can post a question in our Facebook group and we’ll take a look at it.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s