Confusing Card of the Week #27 – Assemble!, Basic Action Card

Posted: February 23, 2016 in CCW, Confusing Card of the Week, Rules
Tags: , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!


Today, we’re going to take a look at Assemble!, Basic Action Card from the Marvel Age of Ultron Starter set.

        Assemble Basic Action

This Basic Action has caused some confusion. If your dice bag is empty and you would draw dice, you are supposed to refill your bag with the dice in your used pile. When you read Assemble!, you see that it says ‘Search’ your bag and never says that you draw a die. You are searching for a character die, then fielding it, and not drawing it. So if your dice bag is empty and you try to use Assemble!, you will not get to refill your bag and then search.

Here is the official Ruling.

Competitive Play Rating
For competitive play, I don’t feel that this Basic Action Card is a good choice. Even with a cost reducer as good as the globals on Blue-Eyes White Dragon and Red Dragon, this Basic Action Card still costs way too much for what it does. I can’t see this being played in a competitive atmosphere.

Assemble!, Basic Action gets a competitive play rating of zero out of five stars.
0 Stars

Casual Play Rating
I really don’t like this card for casual play either. It still costs too much for what it does and even if you explain the difference between drawing and searching, it’s still confusing for beginners. I have no doubt that someone, somewhere, really likes this card and that it really works for them. I just cannot justify recommending this card for casual play unless this is the best option you have available. It’s not the worst card, but be sure you know how it works if you use it on your team.

Assemble!, Basic Action gets a casual play rating of one out of five stars.
1 Star

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
You can post a question in our Facebook group and we’ll take a look at it.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s