Confusing Card of the Week #28 – Elf Thief, Lesser Harper

Posted: March 4, 2016 in CCW, Confusing Card of the Week, Rules
Tags: , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

Sincerest apologies on the tardiness of this post! My eight month old and myself have been super sick with a nasty stomach virus. We are both doing much better with the help of my husband. Super kudos to him. But now, to the important stuff!

Today, we’re going to take a look at Elf Thief, Lesser Harper from the Dungeons and Dragons Faerûn Under Siege set.

        Elf Thief, Lesser Harper

Ruling
For Elf Thief’s first ability, it states that you can field the Elf Thief for free as long as you have an energy in your Reserve Pool. The first ability is very straightforward and easy enough to understand.

Elf Thief’s second ability says that when you field Elf Thief, you can use an energy from your opponent’s Reserve Pool. This is where things get a little tricky. When you field an Elf Thief, you can then use an energy from your opponent’s Reserve Pool. This ability must fully resolve or you will lose the opportunity to use that energy in your opponent’s Reserve Pool. Because of how this ability works, you cannot ‘stack’ the energy theft. When you use the energy, it will go to your opponent’s Used Pile. If you do not use the energy, it will stay in their Reserve Pool.

Example:

~ I field my first Elf Thief. I choose to use a WILD from my opponent’s Reserve Pool and use it with some of my energy in my Reserve Pool to purchase a character die. I field my second Elf Thief and choose to use a BOLT from my opponent’s Reserve Pool to pay for my Red Dragon‘s Global and then resolve it’s effect.

~ I field my first Elf Thief. I do not choose any energy in my opponent’s Reserve Pool. I purchase one of my dice. I have now lost the opportunity to use one of my opponent’s energy in their Reserve Pool from my first Elf Thief. I field my second Elf Thief and choose a MASK in my opponent’s Reserve Pool to use for Professor X‘s Global.

This character has great potential to slow your opponent down and even bring a bit of control to your side. When stealing energy, always steal what’s beneficial to your opponent.

For example, your opponent has three Sidekick dice on their Mask side and one character die on a Mask in their Reserve Pool. You can tell they’re planning to move eight of their Sidekicks to maximize their chance at drawing a character they desperately need. It would be best to steal the Mask energy that’s on the character die because this now minimizes how many Sidekicks they can move.

Also make sure that your opponent knows what your current move is. It’s not only courteous, but it will also eliminate confusion of game state/game play. For instance, when you play an Elf Thief, be sure you announce clearly which energy you are using in your opponent’s Reserve Pool.

Here is the official Ruling.

Competitive Play Rating
I predict this card seeing some play on most top tier teams. I can’t spot one negative to this card. He fields for free, he steals your opponent’s energy, he’s a Mask character, and he only cost two energy. I feel like he’s going to be a key card on many teams and I would be shocked if he wasn’t. His stats aren’t an issue at all because he’s one of those characters that you don’t mind feeding to your Blue-Eyes. If he doesn’t roll a character side, not a big deal – He’s a Mask Energy at worst. Who doesn’t love Masks?! I don’t know what else I can say about this card other than I love it. I can’t give it a five star rating though, because he’s not Blue-Eyes. While I can see him on most teams in the future, I don’t think he’ll find his way on to every team. Every team out there can find a spot for Blue-Eyes.

Elf Thief, Lesser Harper gets a competitive play rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Casual Play Rating
I really like this card for casual and competitive play. While his second ability can cause a bit of confusion, it’s easy to explain. If the person that fielded the Elf Thief doesn’t use the energy, then they lose the opportunity until they field another. It’s a ‘use it or lose it’ type ability. But other than the second ability be a little confusing for newer players, I don’t have anything bad to say about this card. I’m sure any casual player could find a spot for him and it doesn’t hurt that this card is the common version. Blue-Eyes is a little pricey on secondary market for casual play, but the Elf Thief is very obtainable for the casual player that buys booster packs when they stop in their FLGS.

Elf Thief, Lesser Harper gets a casual play rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
You can post a question in our Facebook group and we’ll take a look at it.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Comments
  1. […] Confusing Card of the Week #28 – Elf Thief, Lesser Harper […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

