Confusing Card of the Week #31 – Ring, Lesser Gear

Posted: March 22, 2016 in CCW, Confusing Card of the Week, Rules
Tags: , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

Today, we’re going to take a look at Ring, Lesser Gear from the Faerûn Under Siege set.

        Ring, Lesser Gear

Ruling – Ability

This is one of the many cards that can Equip to specific characters. The character must have the Equip symbol for you to be able to equip the gear dice to the character. When you equip the dice, you place the gear touching the equipped character die. You can attach the gear to a character when you field the gear die, or at the beginning of any turn, including your opponent’s turn. If the character leaves the Field Zone, the gear dice stay in the Field Zone, unattached. These dice cannot attack or block.

While this Ring is equipped to a character, the character will get +2D and they cannot be the target of Global Abilities.

Ruling – Global

This Global was intended to be like the one on Ring, Epic Gear. The Global on Lesser Gear is missing a key part of the text – on any face. This means that you can pay one of any energy and once during your turn you can put a Sidekick die from your Used Pile into your Reserve Pool, on any face you choose.

If you need a Mask Energy, but you have a Fist Energy in your Reserve Pool, you could spend that Fist and take a Sidekick from your Used Pile and place it on its Mask side in your Reserve Pool. You could even use this Global Ability to put a Sidekick in your Reserve Pool, on its Sidekick face.

The Global Ability is only available to you during your turn, and you can only use it once. It also does not affect characters with Ally, because those characters only count as Sidekicks while they are active in the Field Zone.

Here is the official Ruling.

Competitive Play Rating

I do not know exactly how I feel about this card for competitive play. I feel like the best I can do is give it a rogue team rating of three stars. It depends completely on your team build if you would find this card useful. There are plenty of great characters that can use gear, and many of those see top tier play, but this particular version is probably not one you will see used for it’s ability. I see the Epic Gear being used for its ability above this version. But I can’t give it lower than three stars because you could see this card on teams specifically for it’s Global. It really all depends on how the teams are built and the play style of the person using the team. I don’t think that this card has a place on most teams.

I know some folks may say, “Isn’t this Ring better than Magic Helmet, Greater Gear?” As my husband pointed out to me when I mentioned this, the Magic Helmet protects your Human Paladin, Lesser Emerald Enclave from Actions and character abilities, while your Human Paladin protects your side from Globals. The ring only protects from your Human Paladin from Globals, which he does anyway.

I could see this card with Half-Elf Bard, Master Lords’ Alliance or Hal-Elf Bard, Apprentice Order of the Gauntlet, maybe. Again, it comes down to play style and how you build your team. I still don’t feel this particular version is going to be more than just a rogue team card.

Ring, Lesser Gear gets a competitive play rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Casual Play Rating

This is a great card for a casual player. You can use it on tons of different characters from both of the D&D sets, but one that stands out to me is Half-Elf Bard, Master Lords’ Alliance. The Half-Elf Bard is awesome and it comes from the starter for Faerûn Under Siege. Ring, Lesser Gear could easily find a spot on many different kinds of casual teams. You don’t have to play only Dungeons and Dragons to find this card useful. Beginners and casual players could also use this card for its Global and not even have a character with the Equip icon. Casual players should let their opponent know about the missing text and how the card is intended to work.

Ring, Lesser Gear gets a casual play rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave us a comment here or message us on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements
Comments
  1. I saw a guy in a FUS draft event use the ring’s global in a fairly handy way. It was useful for pulling that energy type out he needed when a bit stuck.

    Still didn’t win him his games against me though 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] covered this card in a CCW article in the past. This is a Global that I feel is almost essential for your survival against […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s