Confusing Card of the Week #33 – Two-Face, Double Deal

Posted: April 5, 2016 in CCW, Confusing Card of the Week, Rules
Tags: , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

Today, we’re going to take a look at Two-Face, Double Deal from the DC World’s Finest set.

        Two-Face, Double Deal

Ruling – Ability

Two-Face has a very interesting ability. If Two-Face is blocked when he attacks, he can do his attack to your opponent in addition to his blockers. This is not like Overcrush, which does damage to your opponent in excess of the blocker’s defense. A level three Two-Face would do six damage to any blockers (divided as normal between multiple blockers) and do six damage to your opponent, if you choose to. His ability will trigger when blockers are assigned and it only works if Two-Face is blocked. This ability is a ‘may’ ability, so you don’t have to deal the damage to your opponent.

This ability does not do ability damage. The ability allows you to do additional combat damage to your opponent. Game effects that affect, change, or redirect ability damage will not work on Two-Face’s additional damage. Anything that affects combat damage would work, like Mera, Mournful Rage‘s Global.

If Two-Face has Overcrush, he will deal damage to your opponent in excess his blockers.

Example:

~ I have a level three Two-Face in the Field Zone and a Hulk Out in my Reserve Pool.
~ My opponent has a Sidekick in the Field Zone.
~ I attack with my Two-Face.
~ My opponent blocks with the Sidekick. Two-Face’s ability would need to be triggered at this point, so I would need to choose if I was going to do his attack of six to my opponent or not. I choose to use his ability and Two-Face does six damage to my opponent.
~ I use Hulk Out on Two-Face.
~ Two-Face hits the Sidekick for one damage and my opponent for five damage.

Here is the official Ruling.

Competitive Play Rating
Two-Face is definitely an interesting card with great potential. The only issue I can see with him is his purchasing cost, but that can be reduced with Blue-Eyes. I can absolutely see him making it onto a rogue Villain team or even as an additional attacker on other teams. I’m not sure he’s a four star card because he does have a high level three fielding cost. He doesn’t need any other cards to be a good card, because he’s a good card on his own. I almost want to give him three and a half stars just because he is a good solo card, but the current meta is almost too fast for him to be viable by himself. His ability is really good and I really want to see him sneak into a top cut somewhere. He practically guarantees a hit on your opponent each time he attacks, but you really need Polymorph, or another card that spins characters up a level, to get the most out of his hits.

One of the biggest counters for him is going to be Mera, but if you also use an Elf Thief, Lesser Harper, you could steal that energy so Two-Face can get his damage in on your opponent. I look forward to testing this card in a competitive setting and hopefully we’ll see him in bigger events. I really want this card to be a star!

Two-Face, Double Deal gets a competitive play rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Casual Play Rating
A casual atmosphere is where this card is probably going to shine. He is really good, but he’s still manageable, and that’s why I don’t think he’s too overpowered for casual play. His ability is easy to explain and not too complicated for beginners and newer players. I personally have a casual Villain team that I plan to add him to and I can’t wait to play with this card!

Two-Face, Double Deal gets a casual play rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave us a comment here or message us on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements
Comments
  1. […] hitting you too! I currently use this card on my Villain team and I also featured him in a CCW. But just imagine this guy having Overcrush and pumping his attack up. His fielding costs and stats […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s