Report! Battle for Faerûn Month 2 OP Event – Unlimited Constructed

Posted: April 11, 2016 in Report, Strategy
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For our first Battle for Faerûn Month 2 OP Event, I decided to try my more competitive team featured here. I built this team around Dick Grayson, Brand New Bat and was hoping that the other cards on the team would help Dick Grayson shine some.

Round One

Round One

My first round opponent was using Guy Gardner, Blinding RageConstantine, Hellblazer, and Nova, The Human Rocket as her primary buys against me. I had a decent start with my Alfred and my Dwarf Wizard dice. I bought the Dwarf Wizard to put up a defense against her Guy Gardner dice and it worked great. I had several Dwarf Wizards in the Field Zone before she got a Constantine active and I thought she was going to use Psylocke to KO my Dwarf Wizards, but that didn’t happen.

I used my Alfred dice to great advantage for my Clay Golem’s Fabricate ability. I ended up with a nice wall of Clay Golems before I was finally was able to purchase my Dick Grayson. I still had a Clay Golem die left and was successfully able to Fabricate two Alfred dice to purchase the Clay Golem. This gave Dick Grayson +4A and +4D. I used Blue-Eyes Global to KO Alfred and again increase Dick Grayson’s attack and defense by another two, for a total of +6A and +6D. My level one Dick Grayson was then able to attack for nine damage. She blocked him, but he dealt his damage to her directly and her blocker took no damage.

We ended the game in turns with Dick Grayson and several Clay Golems attacking at once to give me the win for round one. I think because I swapped my team up from last week, she wasn’t sure how to handle all the activity on my side of the field. With all the moving parts on my team, it can be a lot to remember for a player that’s still somewhat a beginner.

We still had fun, even with all the craziness on my side. Having fun in store level events is what really matters!

Record after Round One: 1-0-0

Round Two

Round Two

I was looking forward to this match because this player is one of the most competitive at our venue and he plays really well. He used:

Constantine, Hellblazer
Hulk, Green Goliath
Human Torch, Johnny Storm
Green Goblin, “Gobby”
Deadpool, Jack
Solomon Grundy, Buried on a Sunday
Professor X, Recruiting Young Mutants
Blue-Eyes White Dragon, Monstrous Dragon

Of course, my biggest threat was going to be Gobby so my first purchase should have been Dwarf Wizard. I did what anyone wouldn’t do and bought Alfred first. I should have went for my Dwarf Wizard first and then my Giant Spider dice. My poor purchasing choices left me highly vulnerable to Gobby. It didn’t take him long and he destroyed me with Gobby bombs.

Had I done the smart thing and bought my Dwarf Wizard and Giant Spider, I may have lasted a little longer. The Spider is key to getting rid of all of those Sidekicks, but for some reason… I forgot about the Giant Spider and didn’t buy a single one…

Giant Spider

I also use the Invulnerability so that I can increase Dick Grayson’s attack, but it would also be useful in helping to clear the field of Sidekicks when they outnumber my Spider’s attack.

Shame on me for forgetting my Giant Spider!!! It absolutely cost me the game. I would have stood a much better chance if I would have purchased them.

Record after Round Two: 1-1-0

Round Three

Round Three

I was determined to not make any serious mistakes in this match. I was up against a Bard Blitz team and I wanted to do the best I could. I did indeed do the best I could. I bought a Giant Spider on first turn and one on my second turn. I didn’t get a third turn. It all happened so fast and I had even KO’d one of his Sidekicks on my second turn. On his third turn, it was all over. My only blocker had the Relentless Global used on it and then I had a small army coming directly at me.

Round Three Turn Three

I didn’t make any major mistakes… I was taught exactly why they call it ‘Bard Blitz’ and I suggest that everyone watch out for them. They are dominating at many events and I really hope my husband feels bad for blowing me up in three turns. Just kidding! He played perfectly and his team performed so smoothly.

Record after Round Three: 1-2-0
Final Standing: 5th

Final Thoughts

Oh my… This team would be great in a semi-competitive atmosphere where your players are more advanced but not running Bard Blitz or previous versions of top tier teams. I had fun even though I didn’t do as well as I would have liked and oddly enough, my casual team performed much better last week!

I intend to keep this team together for a while and playing it again, maybe with modifications. But for now, I need almost everything to go to the back burner so that I can start working on what I’m going to be playing for the upcoming WKO in May.

What are some changes you’d make without changing the spirit of the team?
Have a build you like better?
Drop us a line in the comments or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Comments
  1. We’ve all had those moments where we have completely forgotten one of the fundamental elements on our team – if it makes you feel any better I do that aaaaaaaaallllll the time!

    The Bard Blitz frightens me – I’m hoping to high heaven Civil War has something that settles it down a bit before Nationals here in June – it’s going to make a very boring tournament otherwise.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bard Blitz is a major threat to all metas. Even with bad rolls, that team obliterates teams that have more components to them.

      And as for forgetting things – I do it all the time as well. Last week it was Batgirl. This week was Giant Spider. Who will it be now? Professor X? Lol

      It happens and if I played with one team more often, I probably wouldn’t have that issue – or at least not as bad. But I love building different teams!!!

      Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. […] Source: Report! Battle for Faerûn Month 2 OP Event […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

