Confusing Card of the Week #36 – Delayed Blast Fireball, Basic Action Card

Posted: April 26, 2016 in CCW, Confusing Card of the Week, Rules
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

Today, we’re going to take a look at Delayed Blast Fireball, Basic Action Card from the Faerûn Under Siege Starter set.

        Delayed Blast Fireball

Ruling – Ability

Typically, any Action Dice left in your Reserve Pool will clear to your Used Pile during the Clean Up Step at the end of your turn. The keyword Continuous on any Action Card (Basic or Non-Basic), simply means that when you use the Action Dice, they remain in the Field Zone beyond your turn. The type of ability on the Action Card will determine when the Action Dice are used and where they go.

Delayed Blast Fireball says that when your opponent declares an attack or skips their Attack Step, Delayed Blast Fireball will deal four damage to all opposing characters and then the Action Dice is moved to your Used Pile. If the Action Dice are showing a double burst (**), then it deals six damage instead.

The breakdown will help explain how this Action is used.

During my Roll and Reroll Step, I roll a Delayed Blast Fireball Action Die on the single burst Action side. I decide to keep it and not reroll it.

During my Main Step, I place my Delayed Blast Fireball Action Die in the Field Zone.

I finish my turn and during the Clean Up Step at the end of my turn, my Delayed Blast Fireball Action Die remains in Field Zone instead of going to my Used Pile, because of the Continuous keyword.

My opponent begins their turn, they roll and reroll and then finish their Main Step.

My opponent decides to skip their Attack Step. At that time, before moving to the Clean Up Step, Delayed blast Fireball will activate and deal four damage to all my opponent’s characters.

If my opponent had decided to attack instead, they would get to choose their attackers and attack. Any effects that trigger when a character attacks would happen. My Delayed Blast Fireball would then activate and deal four damage to all of my opponent’s characters. If there are characters left attacking, I can then choose to block.

The Attack Step concludes and then the Clean Up Step begins.

Here is the official Ruling.

Competitive Play Rating

I know that this particular Action is an answer for a few teams out there. The question is, how much of an answer is it? How important is it to use this Basic Action? If you’re thinking about teching for Bard Blitz, you now have a chance to make a large purchase like this and even field it before the Blitz can get you. But in the recent test playing that my husband and I have been doing, I still don’t think it’s a necessary card. Basically, there are several answers for teams like Bard Blitz, but if the Blitz gets what it needs when it needs it, your answers won’t work. Bard Blitz is still a potential turn three win with the right rolls. I think some folks will try this card and some of those will like it and some will still lean towards Hulk, Green Goliath or other options. I do not think this particular card is for everyone or even for every team. I see this as a big rogue team card, but it’s possible you’ll see one or two in top cuts. That’s why I have to give it three and half stars because it’s a higher end rogue team card.

Delayed Blast Fireball, Basic Action Card gets a competitive play rating of three and a half out of five stars.
3.5 Stars

Casual Play Rating

I feel like this card is very straightforward and easy to understand for a player of any skill level. The Continuous keyword is easy to explain and remember, and the ability is clear. It has a clear trigger and clear effect. The cost is somewhat high, but for the ability the card has, I would say it’s appropriate enough for competitive and casual play. This is a good starting Basic Action Card for any beginner and it’s even good for advanced players. There isn’t much to clarify on this card except the Continuous keyword. I would recommend this Basic Action Card for any casual player.

Delayed Blast Fireball, Basic Action Card gets a casual play rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave us a comment here or message us on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Comments
  1. Hi DDK. Another great card breakdown.

    While I totally recognise the awesome power of this card you would never find me using it. In my local Meta there is a lot of attention paid to BACs and the communal nature of the Fireball makes it too much of a risk. I can almost certainly anticipate my opponents buying up my BACs.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

