Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

This past Saturday was Free Comic Book Day and if you were one of the lucky ones, you got a Batman, Terror of Crime Alley FCBD promo card! If you didn’t get one, you may be able to find some leftovers somewhere or even trade for one. I only got one copy of the promos and left the others for new players and other collectors, even though my husband and I are both collectors.

I ran demos all morning and gained some new and renewed interest in Dice Masters! Thanks to WizKids for this FCBD promotion! The demo teams I put together were made of four characters with three dice each, two Basic Action Cards, and ten life. I made a Spider-Friends team and a Batman Family team. I didn’t do it intentionally to match the starters my FLGS had, it was just a happy accident. Having Batman, Terror of Crime Alley on one of the demo teams was also a huge benefit.

Here were the demo teams I used (click to enlarge):

I used mostly cards from the Amazing Spider-Man Starter and the World’s Finest Starter and chose some common cards from the corresponding sets to help fill out the teams better. I wanted to show new players that they could build a casual, four character team, just from the starter and a handful of packs. Now, these teams won’t win any WKOs, but they’re good enough to teach someone and to get someone started. I even had some of the commons from the teams to give out to folks if they liked the team they played.

FCBD was a huge success! We started with seven starters (not counting the one I purchased) and the store sold six of them to six different people. Four of the people were new players or players returning from a break. Only two were sold to current players!

Aside from all the FCBD fun, we had an OP Event that evening. I decided that I would try a team I had thought wasn’t good enough for the current meta, because of Blitz. But now that I know how to handle Blitz, I thought I’d give this team another try. I learned several things and this is a team I’ll be testing a little more with a few modifications.

Our event was three rounds, best of one, thirty minute time-limit, and five turns in time. We had six players for this event.

My Team

My Team

You can find my team here, on DiceMastersDB.

My main goal with this team is to race my opponent with Fatality and Lantern Ring. If the game looks like it could go into mid or late game, Nova is my main man. Scarecrow and Ring are both techs against Blitz teams. My supporting Globals are Iceman, Professor X, and Blue-Eyes. Ring can be useful as a supporting Global as well, but I didn’t find myself using it much. Magic Missile is a tech for Blitz and part of my Nova win condition. Distraction is another tech against big attackers as well as to push my own characters back. My characters do not need to do combat damage to my opponent since Lantern Ring does most of the work.

If I’m playing against Blitz, the strategy is the same for all non-Blitz teams. Field Sidekicks or other characters to help block some of their attackers, Magic Missile characters on during their Main Step – don’t wait for the Attack Step, and Distract back anything that’s too much handle. Once you survive turn three against Blitz, things should become a little smoother for my team.

Round One

Round 1

My first round opponent was playing a Gobby-Lax team. I wasn’t worried about his Constantine because I knew I could rely on Nova’s ability if he bought Constantine. He went straight for Gobby and I knew I was in trouble. I bought a Fatality and Nova and tried to quell the mass of Sidekicks he was fielding. Using Parallax can be challenging. You need to roll your fielded characters into energy, then back to characters again to gain the ‘When Fielded’ effects. I was hoping that would play in my favor.

He ended up buying three Gobby dice and our game went to time. I had him down to sixteen life, which at first glance, looked like I was on the ropes. I won’t lie – I was. He had a super run of Gobby-Lax, reducing me quickly to three life from around eighteen. He just needed his Gobby-Lax to do his job one more time. I got lucky and Gobby didn’t roll well.

With Parallax failing my opponent, I was able to secure a win. I used my Magic Missile Action Die to drop his life to fourteen, attacked with Nova to bring him to nine (five Bolt Energy in the Reserve Pool and active Lantern Ring), then use Magic Missile’s Global to deal damage to Nova five times during the Attack Step – dealing a total of ten damage to my opponent’s nine life. We ended in turn one after time was called.

I honestly didn’t think I had that game, but Iceman, Too Cool for Words saved my backside. His Global gave me the Bolt Energy I needed to secure round one. The only reason our game went to time was because we were playing cautiously and mapping out each of our moves. Strategic games can go to time and there is nothing wrong with that. We had an epic game that taught us both a few things about our teams.

Record after Round One: 1-0-0

Round Two

Round 2

My second round opponent was once again, my wonderful husband. Again, I faced his Poly/Hulk variant. This game didn’t have any super exciting things that went on, because Oracle shut me down early game. Her ability slows down any team that relies on Globals in the slightest, and one of our players calls her ‘toxic’ to the meta. I’m not sure I agree with that completely, but she is a total pain. If you use a taunt or Prismatic Spray, Lesser Spell, then she’s not so bad.

I did not take Oracle into account when I adjusted my team for the OP. I seriously lacked a way to get rid of Oracle and that ultimately led to my downfall. My opponent bought her on turn one before anything else, because he knew how Global dependent my team is. He was able to field her quickly and because of that, he had time to build his field up with different character dice, while I struggled to buy one every turn. I ended up getting hit for 62 damage somewhere close to mid game. Thank you Oracle for reminding me that I need a taunt.

Round 2 Oracle

#oraclehypeisreal

Oracle hype is real.

Record after Round Two: 1-1-0

Round Three

Round 3

My opponent in round three was playing a Guardians of the Galaxy + Avengers theme team. This opponent is one that I would say is above an intermediate level player and is almost on an advanced level, he just needs help building competitive teams. This team was a great casual team though, and I felt a little bad because I was playing a more competitive team.

But he led off strong with Wasp, Founding Avenger. I was taking damage each time that I used Professor X. I didn’t go directly for Fatality, because I knew, even with the direct damage coming from Wasp’s ability, I could go for Nova and Lantern Ring as my primary focus. Nova prolonged the game by rolling energy on my roll and reroll and that gave my opponent a chance to buy some other characters.

I had bought a few Fatality dice and on the next turn that I had Nova, he came up a character and secured my victory. I had a couple of Fatality dice and a Nova attacking while Lantern Ring was active and it depleted my opponent’s life quickly. He didn’t realize what Lantern Ring did until my final attack when the ability triggered. That made me feel really bad, even though he looked my team over, I just assumed he knew what the cards did. I sometimes forget that returning players that have been away for a little while, don’t always keep up with our local meta. But there were no hard feelings and he even ended up winning the Fellowship Prize.

Record after Round Three: 2-1-0
Final Standing: 2nd

Final Thoughts

Oracle is devastating to any team that relies on Globals, which is a lot of them out there including my WKO choices. If I’m going to play this team anymore, I will need to change a few cards. Guess who is getting added to my team? That’s right, Oracle, Master Investigator and a taunt like Phoenix, Redd. While I love Scarecrow as a Blitz counter, this team offers many opportunities to combat the Blitz. I will be removing Scarecrow to add Oracle. The other card that I like, but didn’t use anywhere near as much as I would have liked was Ring, Lesser Gear. I desperately need a taunt on this team, so I will be removing Ring to add Phoenix.

*** EDIT ***
This is something that came to mind after I had published this and was off making my Ramen (Ramen is the food of the Gods – Food of the Gods! I love Ramen so much!). A taunt could potentially hurt me more than help me. Another option would be Prismatic Spray, but I’m not a huge fan of generic energy. So another Action Die came to mind – Kryptonite, Green Death. While it’s not as good as Prismatic Spray, because it only targets one character and not all your opponent’s characters, I like it much more because it has Bolt Energy sides! I’m thinking I may test this card instead of Phoenix – or I may just test both.

I like the rest of the team and I’ll be test playing this team with the changes as a potential WKO team. I have a team that I’m almost certain I’ll be playing, but I’m testing other teams, just in case my mood changes the day of the event. I am a woman – my mood changes with the wind!

WKO2 is this weekend! I’m not sure what to expect, since I’ve never been to one, but I know I’ll have fun! Hopefully I’ll see some of you in Owensboro, Kentucky. I’ll have a report up about my WKO experience sometime next week.

What are some changes you’d make without changing the spirit of the team?
Have a build you like better?
Drop a line in the comments or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Comments
  1. Brett Borders says:

    Excellent writeup as always!

    Another route to consider would be Dwarf wizard in place of fatality if Nova ended up being your win condition most of the time. That would solve a jinzo/Oracle/hulk problem.

    Another option to consider is miri. With the lantern ring out you can buy a miri, field a miri, and pull in the just purchased one. You now have doubled your amount of attackers for the turn.

    I like kryptonite for this team also. If you have time to play test, give jade – empowered by the starheart a try. It will give you a double benefit when pinging Nova or even your opponents bolt characters .

    Liked by 2 people

    • Awesome advice! I’ve been playing with Kryptonite and I absolutely love it. We’ve been play testing all evening. XD

      I really need Fatality for her speed against mid-range control. I can’t lose her, but Dwarf Wizard was on my list as an alternative to Oracle. Oracle is just too amazing though!!! So many good options out there and not enough character slots! I think we should have an extra slot for a non-basic action. Lol 😛 just kidding!

      You’ve got some good options in there for several different play styles. Miri sounds like a great try too. I’m totally going to swap Fatality out just to try her and see if Miri can give me a speed edge. I like the idea of the added churn with Jade, but I don’t have a spot for her. I don’t want to swap her for Fatality, but I may play test her and see how she does. Thanks for leaving the comment! That could give other folks ideas if they want to test this team out.

      Thanks for reading! I appreciate it and your advice!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

