Confusing Card of the Week #38 – Blue Beetle, Jaime Reyes

Posted: May 10, 2016 in CCW, Confusing Card of the Week, Rules
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

Today, we’re going to take a look at Blue Beetle, Jaime Reyes from the DC Justice League set.

        Blue Beetle, Jaime Reyes

Ruling – Ability

Blue Beetle says that while he’s active, he will deal one damage to your opponent each time a Villain is fielded. His ability is a ‘While Active’ ability and only triggers once per Villain, not once for each Blue Beetle die.

Blue Beetle’s ability will trigger each time a Villain is fielded. A character is considered to be ‘fielded’ when it leaves the Reserve Pool and enters the Field Zone by paying its fielding cost (or sometimes by special abilities). Blue Beetle only checks to see if a Villain is fielded, regardless of who fielded it.

His ability deals non-combat damage, also known as ‘ability damage’ to your opponent. This is important because some cards in Dice Masters trigger or check for the type of damage being done.

Example:

~ I have two Blue Beetle dice in my Field Zone.
~ I field a Villain character.
~ My opponent takes one damage.
~ I end my turn and my opponent draws and rolls.
~ My opponent fields a Villain character.
~ My opponent takes one damage.

If you and your opponent each have a Blue Beetle active, then each time a Villain is fielded, each Blue Beetle character (not each die) will deal damage to the opposing player.

Example:

~ My opponent and I each have a Blue Beetle active in the Field Zone.
~ I field a Villain.
~ My Blue Beetle deals one damage to my opponent.
~ My opponent’s Blue Beetle deals one damage to me.

Here is the official Ruling.

Page 21 of the World’s Finest and Civil War Rulebooks, under the section Active and Fielded, you can find more details about character abilities similar to Blue Beetle’s.

Competitive Play Rating

While his ability is pretty good for Villain teams, I don’t think there is much room for him on a competitive Villain team. If his ability triggered for each active Blue Beetle, then that may be a different story. I like this card and I like the possibilities that come with him, but I don’t think he’s good enough to see much, if any competitive play. His benefits are not worth the effort he would require.

Blue Beetle, Jaime Reyes gets a competitive play rating of one out of five stars.
1 Star

Casual Play Rating

Now, Blue Beetle may not be good for the competitive scene, but in a casual setting I think he would be a great addition to a Villain team. The last few sets (with Villains) have given us great Villain cards that several players are using. You would gain the benefit of his ability from your Villains as well as your opponent’s Villains. I would recommend this card for any casual player. You could easily pair him with Two-Face, Double Deal to get that extra little bit of damage in when you field him, attack with Two-Face, and you’ll still have your Blue Beetle as a blocker! Blue Beetle has a great fielding cost and his stats are decent too. If you play Villains already or want to play something new, take a look at this card.

Blue Beetle, Jaime Reyes gets a casual play rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave us a comment here or message us on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Comments
  1. I love this guy – he’s a cornerstone to a casual Villain build I like to play I’ve called “Death by a Thousand Cuts”. Here’s the list for you to have a nosy at ( although I suspect you’ve seen such Villain type builds before)

    http://dicemastersdb.com/team-builder/v1/?id=6783#7147-3;7033-3;7078-3;7045-4;7238-3;7040-2;7278-2;7050-2;1482-2;1378-2;

    You’re right – it was great fun to play casually but it never quite held it’s own at competitive events. A lot of moving parts for lots of little pings (the “thousand cuts”). I keep meaning to re-look at it though – take a closer look at the new influx of villains from World’s Finest and Civil War to see if there’s something to strengthen it up…

    Great read as always. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] for this specific card. You can find a ruling on a similar ability here. I also did a CCW on Blue Beetle, Jaime Reyes which has similar […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

