Report! WKO Day One – Vicious Narwhal, the Struggle is Real

Posted: May 16, 2016 in Community, Draft, Report, Strategy
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

Wow – what a weekend! I have so much to talk about. I know you’re all probably anxious for my tournament report, but I want to talk about our draft day first. Side event days are just as important as the main event, because that’s one of the best ways to meet folks and have some fun before the seriousness that can come with the main event.

I want to give a huge shout out to all the folks that came to Big Bang in Owensboro, Kentucky. I met several folks on Saturday, made a few new friends, and got to meet someone from TRP face-to-face. The first person I met is the creator of the Sidekick app, Aaron S. You’ll see his awesome custom mat in some of my draft pics. It’s a super cool looking app that I fully intend to purchase. I didn’t even know about the app until I met him on Saturday. I formally met OddballNarwhal, author of the Team Brew Switcheroo articles on TRP. From then, it was an outpouring of introductions, cutting up, fun, and drafts. I had loads of fun drafting with Cory and his wife Sharon, Joe and Logan, Aaron, Narwhal, Corey, Andy P., Adam R., Gabe and his son, Sean, Brad, and of course my husband Travis. If I forgot to add you, I’m very sorry. I tried to make sure I had everyone’s names.

The venue was very accommodating and the staff was very polite and helpful. If they didn’t know an answer to something, they tried to find out as quickly as possible. Jason did an awesome job judging and running the events. If you’re ever in Owensboro, Kentucky, stop by Big Bang and check them out. We would love to come back and play in any major events held here in the future. If you live in the area, this is a great place to play! They’re trying to grow their local community, so stop in often and show your FLGS some love.

I would also like to thank everyone for being so tolerant of our little one when she got a little cranky and also for being so cool about the seating for the drafts.

Draft One

This was our first chance to draft Civil War and even though we had looked at the cards in our Gravity Feed, we really didn’t know what to expect. I went for low cost characters and by my third or fourth pick, I was just grabbing anything that somewhat looked cool. This set is fun, but somewhat difficult because of how defensive some of the characters are. We were not able to use Civil War Basic Actions, so I decided to go with Power Bolt for some damage and Resurrection for some energy ramp.

Draft One

I lost my first draft to Aaron S., creator of the Sidekick app. We just had massive walls of characters and started attacking each other. His Namorita was the better character, KO’ing some of my attackers and sending them to the Used Pile with her ability. It was a great game and I had a blast! I didn’t earn a foil in this round, but Travis won and chose Professor X.

Draft Two

Draft two

This was the defining moment for me. OddballNarwhal from TRP was my opponent. We had already been chatting it up about all things Dice Masters but then… the Struggle to beat Narwhal… was real. He pulled something that I totally didn’t see coming.

Draft Two Team

Needless to say, Narwhal crushed my hopes and dreams of earning my first foil card. Vicious Struggle, paired with Rocket Raccoon and/or Luke Cage makes for a very, very nasty limited Civil War team.

Narwhal used my own Luke Cage Global against me as well as his Rocket Raccoon. When I first saw Rocket in the first draft, I thought to myself, ‘Who would use this in draft?!’ – the answer is: Anyone that brings Vicious Struggle. These two characters are good with Vicious Struggle. But it’s totally not fun to go up against and I must have forgotten how to play, because I didn’t buy a single Vicious Struggle to use against Narwhal. I learned my lesson! Travis was not able to win this round either, so we didn’t earn any foils this round.

I stole his strategy and used it.

Draft Three

There isn’t much to talk about in this one. Travis and I were facing off and our little one was super cranky because of a serious lack of naps. We finished drafting our cards – which we were just grabbing whatever at this point – then Travis conceded to me so he could take the little one for a nap, and this win earned me a foil Miri.

Draft Three

Draft Four

So this is where I ripped Vicious Struggle right off of Narwhal. I had a plan and I was honestly shocked I didn’t see more of it.

Draft Four

The gentleman next to me with the Civil War playmat is the only person I can’t remember, and I don’t think I really had a chance to speak with him much. I apologize!

I was a little concerned in this draft, even though I had a plan. I didn’t see many Rockets early on and I was really worried that someone else was grabbing all of them. I was having trouble finding Luke Cage as well and that’s when I was starting to sweat some. But then, Luke Cage showed up. I really wanted Rocket if I could find him, and I got super lucky! In our second pack of cards, I found two! I was set then and started looking for any extra Rescue I could find. I ended grabbing Falcon too and was really happy with my picks.

Draft Four Team

We got our dice, set up our teams, and started our fourth draft match! I’m so sorry Andy P. The blame falls totally to Narwhal for this match, because he showed me how good Vicious Struggle is with this set in drafts. The Vicious Narwhal struck again and struggle is real! Andy put up a much better fight against me than I did against Narwhal though. He bought one of my Vicious Struggle dice and we were in a Vicious Struggle face off. I was able to out-damage him just enough to win and claim my foil Bane!

Foil Prizes

A wonderful person named Corey traded with me so I could get Phoenix, and complete my set of foils. A huge thanks goes to him for being awesome and trading with me. We didn’t draft anymore on Saturday and we didn’t play any Quick Plays. We drafted two super rares: Iron Man and Steve Rogers.

Travis's SR

After my fourth draft, we decided to call it a day. We had a three and a half hour drive home and a long day ahead of us on Sunday. We had the best time hanging out and drafting with all of our new friends. And thanks to Narwhal, I have a pretty good draft strategy now for Civil War. I think I will call it the Vicious Narwhal strategy.

I can’t wait to draft again this weekend in our FLGS. I have a few other strategies that I would like to try. We left Saturday with this super-warm fuzzy feeling. We couldn’t wait to come back on Sunday!

What are some of your favorite cards to draft?
Did you win any foil cards at a WKO this past weekend?
What is your favorite foil?
Drop a line in the comments or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Comments
  1. Vash989 says:

    I play with Narwhal in Louisville. This insight into his drafting strategy will be most useful in our Civil War drafts. MWUHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Ron S. says:

    This is funny, I used Vicious Struggle with Rocket Raccoon and Luke Cage myself to win Shinys. I apologized up front, but it is super effective. And because of the drafting quickly and playing one game, I got to repeat the strategy a few times. And of course, my Man Out of Time Team now is complete.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey guys ! Thank you, I have a draft tomorrow and I was planning on doing that Vicious, Rocket, Cage combo too. Any suggestion on when and how to buy your vicious struggle dices without the other noticing what you are doing ?

    Liked by 1 person

    • If you bring VS, folks are gonna know you’re up to something. You need to buy one first turn and hopefully go first so you get two of them and not just one. Each VS triggers so if you have two active and get hit for one damage, your opponent takes two not one.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

