Confusing Card of the Week #39 – White Tiger, Mystical Amulet Focus on Sacrifice

Posted: May 17, 2016 in CCW, Confusing Card of the Week, Rules
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

Today, we’re going to take a look at White Tiger, Mystical Amulet from the Marvel Amazing Spider-Man Starter set.

        White Tiger, Mystical Amulet

Ruling – Ability

White Tiger says that when she’s fielded, you may sacrifice another character to give her die +1A, +1D, and Overcrush until end of turn.

Sacrifice was new in the Amazing Spider-Man set. When you sacrifice a character, it goes out of play until end of turn, where it then goes to the Used Pile.

When you sacrifice a character with an ability that triggers when it’s KO’d, you will not get the benefits of the ability. Sacrificing a character is not the same as KO’ing a character. The same is true for abilities that trigger when one of your characters are KO’d, like the Retaliation on Black Manta, Deep Sea Deviant. If you were to sacrifice a Villain, you would not get the benefit of Black Manta’s Retaliation ability because the Villain was not KO’d.

When you field White Tiger, you may only sacrifice one character for her ability. This is because her ability is a specific trigger, with a specific target. Even if you fielded a second White Tiger die, you would not be able to give an additional +1A, +1D, and Overcrush to the first White Tiger.

Example:
~ I have a Sidekick in the Field Zone.
~ I field a level one White Tiger die.
~ I sacrifice the Sidekick and the White Tiger die gains +1A, +1D, and Overcrush until the end of turn.
~ The Sidekick will go Out of Play until End of Turn, where it will then go to the Used Pile.

Ruling – Global Ability

White Tiger’s Global ability allows you and your opponent to move a Sidekick to the Field Zone at the cost of a Fist Energy. You can only use this Global once during your turn, but if your opponent also had this Global, you could use both.

If there are Sidekick dice in both Used Piles, you each must move one to the Field Zone. If only one player has Sidekick dice in their Used Pile, then that player must move one to the Field Zone as a Sidekick.

Since her Global says ‘field’ a Sidekick, this counts as fielding a character for abilities. 

This Global is a Limited type Global.

Official Sources

Here is the official Ruling on Out of Play.
Here is the official Ruling on Sacrifice and KO.

Amazing Spider-Man Rulebook
Page 21 – Information on “Fielded”
Page 26 – Sacrifice Definition

Competitive Play Rating

The only way I could see this card being played in the competitive scene, is if there was something that desperately depended on White Tiger’s Global. She has a really cool ability, and if it was on a more aggressive character, she would definitely be better. Her ability only allows for her get the benefit once, when she’s fielded. If her ability allowed for multiple sacrifices, even as a “When Fielded” ability, she would definitely be worth looking into then. Her Global may make her playable at some point, but as of right now, there are plenty of other ways to get Sidekicks without helping our opponent out with a blocker. I believe there was a showing with White Tiger this weekend at one of the WKOs, but I wouldn’t expect her to be widely used.

White Tiger, Mystical Amulet gets a competitive play rating of one out of five stars.
1 Star

Casual Play Rating

For a casual Spider-Friends team, I think she’s a great choice as long as you’re not using Underdog. She’s got some great stats for casual play and her Global helps you get that sacrificial character for her ability. I have this particular character on my Spider-Friends team and I use her often. I use White Tiger’s Global, then Magic Missile‘s Global to do one damage to the Sidekick my opponent just put in the field, then I field White Tiger, sacrifice my Sidekick, and now I have an Overcrushing White Tiger that’s got one more attack and defense. Hopefully they don’t have any other blockers, but if they do, they’ll likely get KO’d if you’ve got a level three White Tiger.

White Tiger, Mystical Amulet gets a casual play rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave us a comment here or message us on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements
Comments
  1. Arge O'Neal says:

    Are you sure the global doesn’t count as fielding? Says “Each player must field a Sidekickā€¦” which would be super useful with the new venomā€¦

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fielding only happens when you move a character die from the Reserve Pool into the Field Zone by paying its fielding cost or sometimes by special means. Her Global allows you to field one from the Used Pile, not your Reserve Pool. Page 21 of the Amazing Spider-Man Rule book discussing Fielding in depth.

      Also, in the FAQ under the ‘Please explain “When Fielded” effects’ and ‘Please explain the interaction/timing of “When Fielded” and “While Active” effects’ sections it states that a character is Fielded from the Reserve Pool.

      Like

  2. Joey says:

    The way I read it is that if you use a card like Rally which says “move” a sidekick to the field then it doesn’t trigger, but if it says “field” as with the Angel card, then it does. This could be something that will need to be clarified with the new Venom.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I could very possibly be wrong on this, and will definitely need to be asked on the rules forum. I’ve always based the ‘fielding’ a character off of the resources linked and White Tiger and Angel Air Transport are both bringing in Sidekicks from the Used Pile, not the Reserve Pool.

      I’ll most definitely be posting this to the rules forum for an official ruling. I encourage others to ask as well.

      Like

  3. Joey says:

    There are already plans in the making for the Venom team. LOL. Just saw this. http://www.thereservepool.com/content/1141-Team-Brew-Switcharoo-13-Unlucky-Numbers

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, looks like I’m most likely inaccurate on that. I will most definitely edit this article to reflect the correct information.

      I would say that the sources need to be updated to include that characters can be ‘fielded’ from other zones by abilities that allow them to be ‘fielded’.

      Thanks for the input and also for the link. I hadn’t read that newest Team Brew Switcharoo yet. XD

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s