Report and News! Origins Game Fair 2016 in Columbus, Ohio

Posted: June 21, 2016 in News, Report
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

What a week it’s been! We left home on Wednesday and traveled to Columbus, Ohio for Origins Game Fair. WizKids hosted the US National Championship there on Thursday alongside a World Championship Qualifier, a World Championship Qualifier on Friday, and then the World Championship on Saturday. For folks like me, this was super cool and I was totally okay with Nationals and Worlds being a day apart at the same location. This meant that if I didn’t do well in Nationals, I could try a qualifier or just enjoy all that Origins had to offer. If I did qualify in Nationals, I’d have Friday to look around, then play Worlds on Saturday.

As luck would have it, I did not qualify for Worlds through Nationals. I did not play in any qualifier events because my rolls during Nationals were awful, and I know how my luck runs. I don’t what folks to think I’m downplaying my opponent’s wins  – they were all great pilots and even if I would have had decent rolls, I think the result would have still been the same.

National Championship

The National Championship had 36 total players which gave us 6 rounds. We played best of one, 30 minute rounds, 3 turns.

Round One – Robert D.

Round 1 - Robert D

Apologies for the glare on Professor X.

One of my biggest fears was facing a mirror match against another Nova. Robert was using a variant of the Bolt Ring team and when I saw my first turn rolls, I knew I was in serious trouble. Robert got great rolls and he knew exactly what to buy and when to buy it. It didn’t take him long to defeat me and he played his team like it was second nature to him. Even though the match was over quickly, it was still fun to play and watch his team function so well.

Record after Round One: 0-1-0

Round Two – Travis H.

Round 2 - Travis H

When I saw my opponent’s name, I got excited! I’ve seen Travis H. in the Facebook groups and have even had discussions with him in the groups. There was a point where I was calling him and my husband Travis by numbers, Travis 1 and Travis 2. He was an absolute pleasure to play against and fun to talk to. He is also an amazing pilot, but his dice didn’t want him to have his Lantern Ring until late in the game. I almost had a glimmer of hope during our match – I thought I might get some worthwhile damage in, but it wasn’t meant to be.

Travis said that he hadn’t seen anyone roll consistently as bad as I had and I told him that was how I normally roll, which is absolutely true. But we still had a fun match and I hope that all his less desirable rolls were during our match. Travis finished 7th in Nationals and went on to the World Championship on Saturday. I’m not sure what place he finished in during Worlds, but if I confirm, I’ll add it in here.

Congratulations to Travis on all his great finishes and hopefully we’ll get to play again in the future!

Record after Round Two: 0-2-0

Round Three – Almir (Al) T.

Round 3 - Almir T

Apologies again for the glare on Human Paladin.

When we set up against each other, I absolutely didn’t think I’d win this match. But I felt so bad playing this match out. I didn’t have the best rolls and Almir’s rolls were much worse. He couldn’t get his dice to cooperate with him at all. Almir is another great pilot that did everything right with what he was given. You can tell when someone knows what they’re doing, even with bad rolls. I wish his dice had rolled better for him, but it happens.

I truly hope for a rematch one day with Almir and both of our dice better be nice to us and let us play a great game without all the poor rolls. It was a pleasure to meet Almir!

Record after Round Three: 1-2-0

Round Four – Thomas S.

Round 4 - Thomas S

Talk about an interesting team! I was super happy to see another Nova out there. I like the addition of Miri, but when I tried to use her, she just gummed up my bag. Miri is not for me, but she worked great for Thomas! This was an amazing game! Thomas and I had the most fun I had all day. Event though we were playing in a major event, we were cutting up and having a great time.

This game was well played on both sides and neither of us felt like we were at a serious disadvantage. Those are the types of games that I love and it literally came down to who rolled what they needed. It was an exhilarating match! I needed my Lantern Ring to roll for me and it didn’t. On Thomas’s next turn, he just need one die to roll for him, and it did. It was literally anyone’s game on one of those two turns.

Congratulations to Thomas on his 10th place finish! Way to represent Nova!

Record after Round Four: 1-3-0

I knew at this point that I would not make the cutoff for the World Championship qualifications, but I do not drop from tournaments unless I absolutely have to. I played out all six of my rounds.

Round Five – Doug T.

Round 5 - Doug T

Well, here I was, back to my pitiful rolls. I don’t like having such poor rolls because I feel like my opponents deserve a great match and bad rolls deny them that. I did the best I could, but I couldn’t get any momentum going against Oracle, Iron Fist, and Ronin. And that Constantine is a proxy with super cool art, and he had the official Constantine, Hellblazer sleeved under the proxy. I love the proxy cards and thought about using my Blue-Eyes White Dragon proxy. Mask Ring teams are very powerful and I was shown once again just how effective they can be.

Doug was a great pilot with an interesting team. He placed higher than I did in the final standings.

Record after Round Five: 1-4-0

Round Six – Dustin “Duck” T.

Round 6 - Dustin 'Duck'

I had loads of fun with Thomas earlier in the day, but Duck had me rolling with laughter! Duck was an absolute pleasure to play against! Here was another Nova player too, but he had a character that almost beat the pants off of me. I got lucky when Duck didn’t roll his Scarecrow several times, but the one time he did roll Scarecrow, he took my Nova and hit me in the face with him. I’ve never had that particular Scarecrow used against me before so it was a surprise.

Our match was one of my favorites just because of how much fun we had while playing. We took it seriously, but not too seriously because it was our last round, and we were at the bottom table anyway.

Record after Round Six: 2-4-0
Final Standing: 27th place

Final Thoughts

My final thoughts on my Nationals experience are simple – I got a weird stroke of luck at the WKO2 but my poor luck still holds. Just because you know how to build and play a team, doesn’t always mean the dice will roll the way you need them to. Consistently bad rolls are my life! I would probably do better with a team of miscellaneous characters with different energy types than a cohesive team that has purpose.

I still had loads of fun with everyone at Nationals, even though I didn’t place well. I got to meet many of the folks I idolize from TRP and the PDC. And I also have to say that I’m blown away by the number of Dice Masters players that know who I am because of this blog. I can’t express the gratitude I feel towards all of you from all over the world that read my articles. I met some super cool folks from Mexico that did some trading with me. David, Marcelo, Abraham, and the nice gentleman from their group that was translating for them (I’m so sorry! I can’t remember your name!). I’m so glad you all made it up to play and that I had the pleasure of meeting you all.

I enjoyed meeting all the new folks and playing against folks I’ve never played against before. I got to see folks I know which made this event even more awesome! Everyone is so super cool in the community and I couldn’t have hoped for a better experience. I went to play Dice Masters – winning didn’t matter. I feel like I walked away a winner anyway because of all the new friends I made, all the friends I got to see again, and especially all the love I was shown by everyone. There isn’t a gaming community out there that’s like ours.

World Championship

I didn’t pay much attention to the Worlds event (shame on me, but there was so much to do at Origins!), except for checking up on everyone to see how they were doing.

I know there are some topics going around in the Facebook groups that were also discussed by us players at Origins, and I really don’t want to get into those at this time. The only one that I will touch on is the first player advantage. This topic cause heated discussions and I wish folks would take a step back and review what they’re going to say before they put it on the internet. There is definitely an advantage to going first and WizKids had noticed this. I’ve heard that they are working on test playing different fixes, so give them some time and let them figure out what they need to do for the health of the game and the community.

Origins Game Fair

Origins Badge

I’ve been to several conventions but Origins was the first Game Fair I’ve ever been to. It’s not like your normal convention. There were a few folks dressed in cosplay but what I saw more than anything were games – games everywhere! Almost every booth had tables set up for demos or mini tournaments.

WizKids had their own booth with loads of table space for Attack Wing, Heroclix, and Dice Masters events. They also had a display case with special preview items. I took a few pictures and tried to get the best ones I could. I uploaded a lot to my Instagram and Facebook page as well.

Click on the pictures to get a better look!

World's Qualifier Friday

Don’t let the giant Pikachu fool you – this is definitely Dice Masters. This was the World’s Qualifier on Friday. Thursday’s World’s Qualifier had 63 folks and Friday had 73 folks competing. Travis played on Friday, and dropped with a record of 3-3-0. He would have played his last round, but he dropped to help me because I had a really bad pain in my lower back and in my stomach. A nice young lady named Leslie hunted down the first aid folks for me, and luckily, it turned out that I just needed to sit for a bit. I had been on my feet all day, walking around, and I just over did it. You can’t do that after you have surgery! Thanks again to Leslie for looking out for a fellow player. That’s another example of how awesome are community is, and I apologize if I misspelled your name.

I added loads of pictures on my Facebook Page from the WizKids Fan Appreciation Event and even though I was sitting on the floor in the front row, my pics are not that good. Check out my Facebook if you’d like to see the pictures I got. I don’t want to put them in my article because they’re really poor pictures. The biggest thing I was interested in was news on rotation and we did get confirmation that there will be rotation sometime in the future, but they couldn’t tell us what sets or when it would happen. That’s a little more info than what we had before.

WizKids gave out prizes with trivia questions, which was super awesome, but they took it a step further. They did a raffle, giving out an uncut sheet of Age of Ultron for Dice Masters and a factory set of one of the new Clix sets to a Clix player. WizKids goes above and beyond to show their appreciation to all of us players. Thank you WizKids for hosting this event and doing everything you could to accommodate all the folks that wanted to be in it.

WK Fan Appreciation Event

I want to show a fellow player’s awesome playmat, but I forgot to ask if I could put his name in my article. He had it made, but the creator is not currently taking orders. If either of them sees this article and doesn’t mind  having their names and affiliation be added, I’ll add it. But this mat is super cool! I’m not sure what the exact material it’s made of is, but it has magnets on the card sleeves, and foam between two pieces that hold the dice in place. He folds up the whole playmat to about the size of a notebook and everything is held in place. He unfolds it where ever he sits down to play and the whole team is set up and ready to go!

Playmat inside

I want to move on to some of the supplies I spotted at Origins. I managed to find a large supply of Turn One Gaming Supplies playmats over at Troll and Toad’s booth.

T1 Mats at Troll and Toad

While we were scouting the dealer’s hall, we found loads of dice towers, but the one dealer that stood out was Wyrmwood Gaming. They have the coolest dice towers that are magnetized and collapse into a neat box. They would be perfect for Dice Masters, Dungeons and Dragons, Zombie Dice, Chupacabra, or any other dice related game! The quality of these dice towers is well worth the money you would spend on one. We got to see these up close and the quality is out of this world! A nice gentleman demonstrated how they collapse and fit perfectly into the tray that you can get with them. I will be looking into getting one myself at some point in the future, because I play a ton of dice games!

The Hickory Dice Tower is probably my favorite. There are custom options too like text or a picture. I could get any dice tower with my logo on it. I would seriously recommend that you check this place out. You will get a dice tower that is unique, high quality, and easy to assemble and disassemble for storage or travel. You can also find Wyrmwood on Facebook.

Hickory Dice Tower from Wyrmwood

Other Happenings at Origins Game Fair

There was so much more than Dice Masters and Dice Masters accessories there! I’m a board gamer too, so this game fair was awesome for me! I mentioned already that almost every booth had tables for demos and tournaments, everything from Ticket to Ride and Catan to VS and TCGs like Magic and Spoils. I had two solid days to look around and I did not see everything. I looked at as much as I could in the gaming hall and the dealer’s room. I demoed several games and got to play in a giant King of Tokyo event. Everyone that played got a special pack of promo cards for King of Tokyo!

I got to visit iello Game‘s booth and we bought the bundle special, so we got King of New York and the new printing of King of Tokyo that has the Space Penguin and Cyber Kitty in it. If you bought the bundle, you got some cool King of New York promo cards too.

iello bundle

I got to demo this super fun game called Betabotz by Zagar games. You can find them on Kickstarter and on Twitter. I desperately want to see this game get going. If I had the money, I would totally fund the rest of their Kickstarter. This game is a ‘take-that’ bidding game that also inspires some cooperative work among players. You build up your robot by bidding on components and winning them. You have code cards that you keep secret in your hand that can help or hurt other players when you play them. You go on ‘missions’ and earn more bits (currency). The player with the most victory points is declared the winner. There are several ways to earn victory points as well. If you like Munchkin or use Munchkin as a gateway game, check this game out. It’s got some similar bartering and take that mechanics, but Betabotz inspires more co-op and it’s way more fun! There isn’t much time left in the Kickstarter, but they’ve said that they will relaunch if they don’t reach their goal this time.

We picked up Dead Last, the social collusion game for 6 – 12 players by Smirk and DaggerTiny Epic Galaxies by Gamelyn Games, Sheriff of Nottingham promo cards, Lanterns: Harvest Festival promo cards, Red Dragon Inn promo card, an awesome set of dice and a bag from Q Workshop, a special Origins 2016 D6 from Crystal Caste, and a cute Origins 2016 Mayfair Games Pin (I love Star Trek Catan!).

Game Loot

There is a TCG called The Spoils, that’s been around for ten years, and I have never heard of it! I had a ton of fun learning to play it and we even did a draft for it on our last day at Origins. I used to play and judge for Magic: the Gathering, many years ago, and as popular and well known as MtG is, I prefer Spoils much more! If you want to play something similar to MtG, but different and interesting, check out The Spoils! We got some cool goodies from them as well. I love the Micromajig tokens!

There were numerous artists there as well, and my favorite artist had a booth, but was unable to attend in person. Ed Beard Jr. is an amazing fantasy artist that’s done so much art for Magic: The Gathering. Another artist that I really like is doing the art for Betabotz, Tina Bongorno, and I even got her to sign a promo Betabotz card!

I wish I had been able to see and do everything, but there is just too much for one single person to do at Origins in two days. We wanted to do some of the RPG events like Pathfinder or D&D, but we didn’t even make it over that way. There were war games, deck building games, miniature painting, RPGs, loads of board games, living card games, TCG/CCGs, supplies, and so much more at Origins. If you ever have the opportunity to go to Origins Game Fair, I would say take that opportunity – it was so worth the trip!

I had so much fun playing in the Dice Masters National Championship and I would go again, just to try the qualifiers and experience Origins again!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Comments
  1. Paul K. says:

    For reference: Travis H. ended up fighting it out against IsaacBV in the semi-finals of Worlds, and Isaac barely beat him. So he got 3/4 place.

    Regarding the play surface, here are a few posts about it from Reddit:

    BEHOLD! The mark V play surface.

    Just finished a play surface for /u/GoGoNJDevil and man, I am seriously envious of this one.

    The latest play surface. Guardians of the Galaxy themed.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Origins looks freakin awesome. I dream of getting the opportunity to go someday (if only I had the money…)

    Bad luck on the rolls, that’s the way it goes sometimes, I can definitely empathise. A shame it had to happen at a National event – but you’ll come back stronger next year. 😎

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s just how my luck goes most of the time. The main reason for me going was to meet more folks and experience Origins and have fun! I accomplished all I went to do! I hope you someday get the opportunity to visit the states. I would love to visit Europe. My husband has been to Europe (lucky!).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

