Confusing Card of the Week #43 – Vicious Struggle, Basic Action Card

Posted: July 6, 2016 in CCW, Rules, Strategy
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

Today, we’re going to take a look at Vicious Struggle, Basic Action Card from the DC War of Light Starter set. I was looking at my CCW list and saw it wasn’t on there. I was very surprised and I decided that it must be done before my one year anniversary of CCW (which is this month!).

        Vicious Struggle

Ruling – Ability

This is not a Continuous Action Die. It has an ability that lasts after your turn is over, but the die itself does not remain in play. Once you use the Vicious Struggle Action Die, it is placed Out of Play. Abilities that target or specifically affect Continuous Action Dice would not affect Vicious Struggle.

Each Vicious Struggle Action Die that you use will trigger the ability independently, but it will not count damage from other Vicious Struggle Dice.

Example:

I draw and roll two Vicious Struggle Action Dice.
I use the first and it goes out of play.
I use the second and it goes out of play.
On my opponent’s turn, he fields a character that deals one damage to me when it’s fielded.
I take one damage and each of the Vicious Struggle abilities will trigger.
My opponent will take one damage from each Vicious Struggle ability, for a total of two.
My opponent attacks me with a character that has an attack value of four.
I do not block the attacking character.
I use a Global during the Attack Step to increase that character’s attack value by three for a total of seven.
I take seven damage from the character’s attack and each Vicious Struggle ability will trigger.
My opponent will take seven damage from each Vicious Struggle ability, for a total of 14.

If your opponent has a Vicious Struggle ability active, and you can do enough damage at one time to KO your opponent, the Vicious Struggle ability will not trigger. This is because the game is over the moment one player’s life total reaches zero.

Example:

My opponent and I each have two life.
I have two Sidekicks active and my opponent doesn’t have any characters active.
I attack with both Sidekicks.
My opponent will take two damage and the game ends.

Official Sources

Here is the official Ruling.

Competitive Play Rating

I can only give Vicious Struggle four stars in our current Bard-heavy meta. Vicious Struggle has a good chance to stand up against Bard teams, but you have to go first and you have to be able to pilot the team perfectly. This type of team has no margin for error, but if you’re playing on a competitive level, you already know that. Ever since my Vicious Narwhal incident, I’ve studied this card and the teams and even considered playing it in Nationals. But work then a medical emergency cut my practice time to -zilch- and I was not going into Nationals with a team I hadn’t properly test played. Vicious Struggle has huge potential in a meta that is void of Bards, but then again, so does everything else. With the amount of Struggle teams at Origins, I imagine we’ll see an increase in these teams at other competitive events.

Vicious Struggle, Basic Action Card gets a competitive play rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Casual Play Rating

I do not like this card at all for a casual setting. Being a new player or a beginner and playing against something like this is not fun at all. I would not recommend anyone use this card for casual play unless you’re playing against an advanced player with a skill appropriate team. The ability on this card is a little confusing too, because some players don’t know where to put the dice when used or they forget it was used all together. Be kind to your casuals… the Struggle is real and no fun.

 Vicious Struggle, Basic Action Card gets a casual play rating of one out of five stars.
1 Star

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s