Confusing Card of the Week #47 – Beholder, Lesser Aberration

Posted: August 2, 2016 in CCW, Confusing Card of the Week, Rules
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

Today, we’re going to take a look at Beholder, Lesser Aberration from the Dungeons and Dragons Faerûn Under Siege Set.

“Beauty is in the eyestalks of the Beholder…”
           ~ Said by at least one D&D character on almost every D&D table.

Beholder, Lesser Aberration

Ruling – Ability

When you field a Beholder die, you can use up to two different Global Abilities without paying their cost.

There are cards out there that have or add additional costs besides paying energy or even add additional energy costs (Jinzo, Trap Destroyer; Oracle, Master Investigator; Blue-Eyes White Dragon, Monstrous Dragon). Beholder will cover those costs as well as the regular costs. A card such as Polymorph, Basic Action Card, does not make you spin the character down as part of the cost. The cost on Polymorph is simply a Mask Energy for the effect of spinning characters.

Each card with a Global Ability counts as a different Global Ability, even if the card or effect is identical. When a Beholder die is fielded, you could use the Global on your Blue-Eyes card as well as the Global on your opponent’s Blue-Eyes card.

Ruling – Global

This Global ability allows you to move a Spell die on an Action face from your Reserve Pool and place it on the Beholder’s card. When you start your next Roll and Reroll Step, you take that Spell die and place it in the Reserve Pool on the same side.

Since this Global places the Spell in the Reserve Pool, it is my belief that you do not get to roll or reroll that die. Your Roll and Reroll Step specifies that you roll the dice you drew and the dice from your Prep Area. I have submitted this question to WORF so that we have an official reference.

There is a very important clarification that I feel should be made about this Global. The term Spell refers to only a few very specific cards.

~ Limited Wish
~ Prismatic Spray
~ Potion

These are currently the only Spell cards in the game. I was using the Global to store Polymorph Action Dice during a casual game last night until my opponent asked if they could use the Global as well. We then discovered that Polymorph is not considered a Spell. If it doesn’t say Spell in the name or sub-name, it not an eligible target for this Global. (I blame my background in D&D for this misinterpretation.)

When used properly, it allows you to save an Spell die that you may not want to use on one turn, and potentially use it later. If you still aren’t able to use it or want to save it, you only need to pay the Global and store the Spell again. Either player may use this Global and may store a Spell die, but only if they have one to place on the Beholder’s card.

Official Sources

Here is the official Ruling on Beholder’s ability.
You can also find information about using the same Global on two different cards in the FAQ, but there is also a Ruling on WORF.

*** EDIT ***

Adding a link to a relevant ruling – here.

Competitive Play Rating

Beholder is a great way to bypass that tax that Oracle and Jinzo add to your Globals. Not only is the ability amazing, but Beholder is great Blue-Eyes food and even better for Fabricate. I know this card has seen major meta play and I wouldn’t be surprised if it sees even more in the future. He’s an inexpensive Mask character and he’s got beefy stats for his fielding costs too. This card is just great overall and it just gets better if you’re using one of the three Spells.

Beholder, Lesser Aberration gets a competitive play rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Casual Play Rating

This card makes for some interesting casual play! I used him on a team with Two-Face last night and he almost out-shined Two-Face! My strategy for Two-Face quickly became my strategy for the Beholder, but he didn’t do the job quite as well as Two-Face. For a beginner, this card may be a little too confusing at first and would require some practice to figure out how to properly use his Global. Most of the time, this card is used exclusively for his ability. That in itself is odd, since most cards with Globals are picked because of their Globals. I still think this card is great for casual play, even with its slightly confusing Global. His stats and fielding costs are way too good and his ability makes him really good!

Beholder, Lesser Aberration gets a casual play rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements
Comments
  1. Arge O'Neal says:

    Great write up as usual! One note, according to the Beholder ruling linked above, the spinning down portion of the polymorph global isn’t considered a cost (I guess you might want to spin down to a burst face for example). Quoting the ruling – “Though not asked, Polymorph is a different case (from other costs). It has you pay energy, and then do 2 different effects (spinning a die down and spinning a die up). Beholder would let you not pay the energy.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Troy Miller says:

    I love this card – we have a “life gain” tournament coming up, and I plan to use it with BEWD and Pizza, should be fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love this card so much too and it’s thanks to a WKO2 opponent that I found out how good it is. Thanks again Brett, if you see this. :3

      You should do a write up on TRP’s blog site about the life gain tournament. I’m interested in the details!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s