Tournament Report! August 13, 2016 – Marvel Only Event

Posted: August 14, 2016 in Report
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

I like unlimited constructed events, but I love limited and limited constructed events. It’s fun to see all the different teams that folks build and even more exciting to find a card that never gets a chance to shine in unlimited formats.

My Team

My Team 8-13

I tried to build a Spider-Allies themed team, but there are several things I didn’t like on the team after I started playing. Luke Cage and Scarlet Spider were definitely mistakes.

You can find the team build here, on DiceMastersDB.

Round One

Round One 8-13

Round one saw Spider-Man facing off against Wolverine. I made the classic mistake of not keeping blockers in the Field Zone and Wolverine finished me off quickly with some well placed Hulk Out attacks. You should never underestimate – or forget – about Wolverine, Formerly Weapon Ten. He can easily change the game into your opponent’s favor, especially if he consistently rolls up on level three. I was able to get some damage in on my opponent but the characters I purchased didn’t have a decent enough defense to stop the Overcrush coming from the Hulked Out Wolverine. His strategy worked well, because he ended up in second place for this event!

Record after Round One: 0-1-0

Round Two

Round Two 8-13

My round two opponent is a newer player, but he knows how to use what he has to achieve a victory! He bought up his Black Cat dice early in the game, which I hadn’t bought any of mine at that point. He was able to remove my characters, or enough of my characters to be able to attack for large amounts of damage at one time. His use of Black Cat showed just how good she can be and the mistake I had made by not purchasing her until it was too late. I underestimated how good Black Cat was and it contributed to my defeat in round two.

Record after Round Two: 0-2-0

Round Three

Round Three 8-13

I saw my round three opponent’s Sidekick team and I just knew I was in for a beating. Luckily for me, the dice didn’t roll well for him, and I wised up and bought Black Cat early game. What a difference she makes! I was able to rid the Field of Shannon Carter on multiple occasions, forcing her to cycle back through the bag. Using Wasp’s Global and Silver Sable’s ability is a great combo! I forced my opponent to block while only attacking with a Hulked Out Silver Sable, helping to clear the Field Zone of other Sidekick boosting characters. Using Hulk Out on Silver Sable helped me defeat my opponent and achieved my only victory for the night.

Record after Round Three: 1-2-0
Final Standing: 4th

Final Thoughts

I had lots of fun with this team, but my favorite things about it are the Silver Sable/Wasp Global combo and Black Cat. These cards had the opportunity to shine where they normally don’t in regular unlimited constructed events. I don’t plan to keep this team or even keep my Spider-Allies team together. I already use Wasp and Silver Sable on my Girl Power team and I will be using them more effectively in the future. I want to find a place for Black Cat on my Girl Power team because she’s actually a really good card, especially for a casual team like that.

What are some changes you’d make without changing the spirit of the team?
Have a build you like better?
Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Leave a Reply

