Tournament Report! August 6, 2016 – DC Only Event

Posted: August 14, 2016 in Report
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

Sorry for the tardiness of this article, but I didn’t think folks would be as interested in the restricted formats. I was wrong! I had a few folks asking when I was going to publish the report for this event and when I told them that I hadn’t planned on reporting the restricted type events, they expressed how interested they were in all the event reports. So here it is! Apologies, again!

My Team

My Team 8-6

I really like my Justice League team and so I decided to make a few adjustments to it and play it for our DC Only Event.

You can find my original Justice League team build here, on DiceMastersDB.

I had to replace Professor X, Blue-Eyes, and Polymorph since they are not in the DC Universe. I knew I’d need a replacement for PXG, and since DC doesn’t really have a good PXG equivalent, I decided to play the lottery with Parallax, Source of Terror. I added Bane, Professional Criminal in the place of Blue-Eyes because I knew I would want to KO my Zatanna dice, and the best way I knew to make that happen was to block with her. Bane’s Global allows me to control some of the Field as well by making problem characters attack and not blocking them so that they go to the Used Pile. I chose to replace Polymorph with Anger Issues to help my Martian Manhunter get a few extra points of damage in, or to possibly add to a blocker’s attack to help KO an attacker. I really like Shazam!, but he’s way to expensive for a limited format like this. I decided to cut him from the team in favor of a cheaper Justice League affiliated character, Wonder Woman, Trinity War.

This team is very straight forward: Get Martian Manhunter out and attack often while maintaining a small blocking force with Zatanna, Aquaman, and Green Lantern if I can buy him.

Round One

Round One 8-6

My first round opponent brought one of my biggest threats – Guy Gardner. He can be a serious problem if he kicks off early. I played as smart as I could by buying Aquaman and Zatanna dice as early as possible. This helped soften up my opponent because of Aquaman’s Retaliation. I was able to buy two Martian Manhunter dice and get them cycling quickly by leaving as many Sidekick dice in the Field Zone as I could. My opponent’s Oracle was a minor annoyance, but Bane helped clear her from the Field Zone when I needed her gone. Martian Manhunter’s Overcrush paired with the attack boost on Anger Issues helped me win my first round.

Record after Round One: 1-0-0

Round Two

Round Two 8-6

Round two brought my rival (and husband) to the battlefield. I had prior knowledge that he was playing Teen Titans so I knew I had my work cut out for me. I managed to buy an Aquaman, two Zatanna dice, and a Martian Manhunter before his Teen Titans obliterated me. Teen Titans are not only good in drafts, they can be a beast to deal with in limited constructed formats as well. I was able to get some damage in before my demise and I played the best I could, but Teen Titans are really strong and have a great synergy.

Record after Round Two: 1-1-0

Round Three

Round Three 8-6

I got to play against this really fun Villain team in round three. The direct damage abilities on these cards are overwhelming while all of them are in the Field Zone. We both had bad luck with our rolls, but I was able to manage them a little more effectively and pull ahead of my opponent. He tried to recover, but his Blue Beetle dice refused to roll a character side for him. I tried to avoid KO’ing any Villains while his Black Manta was active so that I could avoid taking unnecessary damage from his Retaliation. Black Manta’s Retaliation is much worse than Aquaman’s, but my Aquaman was able to soften up my opponent for Martian Manhunter’s attacks. I was able to defeat my opponent before he was able to get Joker or Scarecrow.

Record after Round Three: 2-1-0
Final Standing: 2nd

Final Thoughts

I had a hard time deciding between Justice League and Teen Titans. I’ve never built a Teen Titans team because my husband plays Teen Titans. But I decided to go with my altered Justice League team for this event. I’m glad I did now because I realized that Wonder Woman, Trinity War would go great on my Ghandi team. I did very well in this event with my JL team and I’m really happy I decided to play it instead of building Teen Titans. I had lots of fun in this event!

What are some changes you’d make without changing the spirit of the team?
Have a build you like better?
Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Comments
  1. Hey Kitty. I’m considering a Teen Titans build myself for the event I’m going to on Tuesday night. It’s pretty much what Mr Dice Kitty played but with Kobolds for ramp & Pym Particles – Grow to use with Beast Boy. What made it so tough to play against? Any pointers?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Teen Titans have such an amazing synergy, and the right versions of each card make for a nasty team. Travis could give you better pointers than I could, like which version vs which and what to buy and when to buy it. Starfire was his MVP – the SR. He just kept his dudes in the field and I couldn’t target them because of Wonder Girl. If he needed to block, Raven allowed him to reroll any KO’d Titans. It’s brutal in a limited format like what we played. His regular build is even better. I’ll try get him to do a guest article about his Teen Titans team, since we’ve got new Teen Titans coming in the next set. :3

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ll bet it was. That’s one I’m going to use, I think. With just 5 Titans currently it’s the other three slots I struggled with. Still got one slot yet to fill…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

