Confusing Card of the Week #50 – Black Cat, Party Hardy

Posted: August 23, 2016 in CCW, Confusing Card of the Week, Rules
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

I have another request today. We’re going to take a look at Black Cat, Party Hardy from the Marvel Amazing Spider-Man Set.

Black Cat, Party Hardy

Ruling – Ability

Black Cat has the Underdog ability. Underdog is an ability that has different effects depending on which card you use. The one thing that all Underdog abilities have in common is that you need to have less characters in the Field Zone than your opponent in order to gain the benefits of the card’s Underdog ability. You will not gain an Underdog ability if you have an equal amount of characters in the Field Zone. Characters that are being fielded will count themselves toward the total number of characters.

Black Cat’s Underdog ability says that when she’s fielded, your opponent has to reroll all of their characters that are in the Field Zone. If those dice land on a character face, they are returned to the Field Zone. If they land on an energy face, they are placed in the Reserve Pool.

If a character has been dealt damage before Black Cat is fielded and the character is rerolled onto a side with defense equal to or lower than the damage dealt, the character is KO’d.

Examples

Example One:

~ I have one character in the Field Zone and my opponent has two characters.
~ I field Black Cat and nothing happens.

The reason I do not get her Underdog ability in this example is because she will count herself and my other fielded and compare to the number of fielded characters on my opponent’s side. I must have less characters – not an equal amount.

Example Two:

~ I don’t have any characters in the Field Zone and my opponent has three characters.
~ I field Black Cat and my opponent must reroll all three of their characters.
~ Two of their characters land on an energy face and are placed in their Reserve Pool.
~ One of their characters lands on a higher level character face and stays in the Field Zone.

Example Three:

~ I don’t have any characters in the Field Zone and my opponent has two characters. One is a Sidekick and the other is a level two Black Widow die.
~ I pay one Bolt Energy to use Magic Missile‘s Global to do one damage to my opponent’s level two Black Widow, Tsarina die.
~ I field Black Cat and my opponent must reroll both of their character dice.
~ The Sidekick lands on an energy face and is placed in the Reserve Pool.
~ The Black Widow die lands on the level one face and stays in the Field Zone, but since the damage hasn’t been cleared yet, the Black Widow die is KO’d and placed in the Prep Area.

Official Sources

There is an Underdog ruling referencing this card. You can find it here.

Page 23 of the Civil War Rulebook under the Rerolling Dice section, explains where dice go when they are rerolled.

Example Three Reference:
At the very top of Page 12 of the Civil War Rulebook under the Clean Up Step section, it states that all damage to all dice remaining in the Field Zone is cleared during this step. A character that has been rerolled but remains in the Field Zone is not considered to have left the Field Zone, therefore damage would not clear until the Clean Up Step.

Competitive Play Rating

As much as I like this card, it’s really hard to play her in the current meta. I’m certain that if someone built a team specifically around this card, she could reach a rogue status in the meta. She’s not a terrible card at all – I actually think she has the potential to see meta play in a non-Bard meta. I blame a lot of meta problems on Bard, but it really is that big of an issue. Lantern Ring isn’t as serious of a problem compared to Bard. The meta needs to be much less aggressive to see a lot of these type of cards find a place. I love control type cards so there is a special place in my heart for this Black Cat.

Black Cat, Party Hardy gets a competitive play rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Casual Play Rating

Black Cat is a very good card, but the strategy of using her can be difficult for newer players to use or difficult to understand when playing against her. That’s just because of all things there are to remember with her ability like how Underdog works, where dice go when they roll certain sides, what happens when they’re damaged first, etc. It’s a lot to focus on as a beginner when you’re trying to learn other rules and basic strategy. She does make for a great teaching tool for more advanced level casual players. I could easily recommend her for advanced level casual players, but I wouldn’t recommend her for a beginner’s team. Once they show a good understanding of the rules, then I would suggest her as addition to their team.

Black Cat, Party Hardy gets a casual play rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool and DiceMastersDB for the use of their sites.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s