Tournament Report! September 24, 2016 – Lockout League Week Two

Posted: September 26, 2016 in Report
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

So, if you aren’t familiar with the Lockout League format yet, the ten cards on the winning team from each week are added to a Lockout List (ban list). At the end of four weeks, we erase the Lockout List and either begin a new Lockout League or continue with other formats. We decided to try four weeks for our first Lockout League to see how much diversity we would see by the fourth week.

Our Lockout List for this week:

Character Slot Cards
Miri Riam: Beacon in the Dark
Half-Elf Bard: Master Lords’ Alliance
Morphing Jar: Canopic Jar
Elf Thief: Lesser Harper
Rip Hunter’s Chalkboard: “Only Zatara Can Reach the POINT”
Giant Spider: Greater Beast
Parallax: Source of Terror
Blue-Eyes White Dragon: Monstrous Dragon

Basic Action Cards
Cloudkill
Resurrection

My Team

my-team-9-24-16

You can find my team here, on DM Retrobox.

I was hoping to win this week so I could my most disliked card on the Lockout List – Vicious Struggle. While I dislike Bard and Aggro teams, I dislike Vicious Struggle the most of all the cards in the game. If the ruling for Vicious Struggle didn’t allow it to ‘stack’, this Basic Action Card wouldn’t be as nasty as it is. I know I give Bard lots of grief, but it’s much easier to throw Bard on a team and roll with it. Vicious Struggle requires certain cards to be as deadly as it is, and as fast as it can be.

Round One

round-one-9-24-16

As fate wold have it, the two Vicious Struggle players had to face off in round one! I went second against this Vicious variant. We had a really good match, but all it took was for my opponent to get at least two of his Vicious Struggle dice and enough Kobolds and that was it for me.

This team ended up being the winning team, so all ten cards were added to our Lockout List.

Record after Round One: 0-1-0

Round Two

round-two-9-24-16

I went first against my round two opponent who was playing a unique Cave Guy team. It’s a team he’s been working on for a while and trying to fine tune and we haven’t played against each other since he initially built the team. I knew I needed to race him to lethal damage or start putting blockers in the Field. Our game went longer than any Vicious Struggle match normally goes because every roll was terrible for me and every draw was awful. I haven’t had this much bad luck since I played Nova Ring at Nationals. I was able to stay afloat for a little while, but he ended drawing the perfect combo of dice to take me down. But that’s just how it goes sometimes.

Record after Round Two: 0-2-0

Round Three

round-three-9-24-16

I went first against my round three opponent, who happened to be my husband. He was playing his Avengers team for this event and it’s a nasty team when it goes off. I ended up with some of the best rolls I’d had all night and drawing the right dice at the right time. I won this round a few more turns than what it typically takes a Vicious Struggle team to reach lethal damage.

Record after Round Three: 1-2-0
Final Standing: 3rd

Final Thoughts

I may not like using Bard much, but I dislike playing Vicious Struggle so much more. Each match was torture for me, because I don’t like teams like this that don’t give your opponents a chance to avoid or even substantially reduce lethal. You can avoid or substantially reduce lethal damage from Bard and Guy, if you keep blockers in the Field Zone. There are only two options I’ve found for folks to use as effective counters against Vicious Struggle – Any Vibranium Shield with the Global that’s on Vibranium Shield: One of a Kind or Lex Luthor: Ex-Con. The Vibranium Shield Global would require you have energy to reduce the damage your opponent would take because that would significantly reduce the damage you would take from the active Vicious Struggle abilities. Lex Luthor is probably the best counter I can find for Vicious Struggle. Constantine: Antihero is okay, but not reliable. I don’t plan to keep this team together or to even play this team again, unless I feel I have to for another Lockout League event.

Current Lockout List:
Italicized cards are the most recent additions.

Character Slot Cards
Miri Riam: Beacon in the Dark
Half-Elf Bard: Master Lords’ Alliance
Morphing Jar: Canopic Jar
Elf Thief: Lesser Harper
Rip Hunter’s Chalkboard: “Only Zatara Can Reach the POINT”
Giant Spider: Greater Beast
Parallax: Source of Terror
Blue-Eyes White Dragon: Monstrous Dragon
Professor X: Recruiting Young Mutants
Agent Venom: Flash Thompson
Ring: Lesser Gear
Red Dragon: Lesser Dragon
Bane: Professional Criminal
Luke Cage: Knuckle Up!
Kobold: Lesser Humanoid
Silver Surfer: Silverado

Basic Action Cards
Cloudkill
Resurrection
Magic Missile
Vicious Struggle

What would you expect to see at your local Lockout League?
Has your FLGS already done a Lockout League?
Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Leave a Reply

