Tournament Report! October 1, 2016 – Lockout League Week Three

Posted: October 7, 2016 in Report, Strategy
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For each Lockout League event, the ten cards on the winning team are added to a Lockout List (ban list). At the end of four weeks, we erase the Lockout List and either begin a new Lockout League or continue with other formats. We decided to try four weeks for our first Lockout League to see how much diversity we would see by the fourth week.

Our Lockout List for this week:

Character Slot Cards
Miri Riam: Beacon in the Dark
Half-Elf Bard: Master Lords’ Alliance
Morphing Jar: Canopic Jar
Elf Thief: Lesser Harper
Rip Hunter’s Chalkboard: “Only Zatara Can Reach the POINT”
Giant Spider: Greater Beast
Parallax: Source of Terror
Blue-Eyes White Dragon: Monstrous Dragon
Professor X: Recruiting Young Mutants
Agent Venom: Flash Thompson
Ring: Lesser Gear
Red Dragon: Lesser Dragon
Bane: Professional Criminal
Luke Cage: Knuckle Up!
Kobold: Lesser Humanoid
Silver Surfer: Silverado

Basic Action Cards
Cloudkill
Resurrection
Magic Missile
Vicious Struggle

My Team

my-team-10-01-16

You can find my team here, on DM Retrobox.

I apologize for the glare on Clayface. I used the rare version, Clayface: The Terror. I wanted to try Katana: Bushi and Hal Jordan: Green Lantern’s Light with Lantern Ring: Limited Only By Imagination. I added White Tiger: Mystical Amulet so I could get a Sidekick in the Field Zone if I didn’t have one to use for Clayface’s Global. I added Iceman: Too Cool for Words to make Bolts when I needed them for Lantern Ring and Hal Jordan. I decided to throw Phoenix on the team with her taunt Global to help remove threats like Oracle or Constantine. I added Blink for my characters and Polymorph as a backup to get in a little more damage by spinning up one of my characters. And of course, the rare PXG for ramp.

Round One

round-one-10-01-16

I got to go second against my husband in round one. This round went better than I expected. I bought some Hal dice and when the opportunity presented itself, I bought Katana. I stockpiled some energy and was lucky enough to get a large attack in. He purchased almost all of his Black Widow and Guy Gardner dice. The brutal onslaught that followed prevented me from being able to bounce back. He used Big Entrance to buy his Guy and Tsarina dice for only one energy, which made his team very lethal and fast. I did the best I could, but it wasn’t enough to overcome the rush of Guy and Tsarina dice.

Record after Round One: 0-1-0

Round Two

round-two-10-01-16

I went first against my second round opponent. I was facing a familiar Flying Ninja team and I knew I needed to be faster than his team. I purchased several Hal dice and a Lantern Ring, and then set myself up to purchase Katana. I used PXG to shuffle over as many Sidekick dice as possible and rolled up lots of Mask energy and a few Bolt energy. I used Iceman to get a handful of extra Bolt energy and then attacked for almost half his life total just from the Lantern Ring ability. I used my Blink to pull some of my characters back and let a few others get through. When I knew I was going to get my Hal Jordan dice back in the Field Zone, I used PXG to shuffle over enough dice to roll several Mask energy and Bolt energy on my next turn. This enabled me to defeat my opponent with a large burst of damage from Lantern Ring’s ability.

Record after Round Two: 1-1-0

Round Three

round-three-10-01-16

I went second against my round three opponent, who was playing a Mask Ring Team variant. Constantine stopped me from getting early game damage in with my Hal Jordan dice. It seemed like I couldn’t get a good footing to buy a Katana and then attack to get around Constantine. Scarecrow and Oracle shut me down fairly quick after that, and even though I would force one to attack, my opponent would use my own Blink to pull his characters back. Storm was a brief nuisance but didn’t do a lot to hurt me. He used his Ronin to slow me down even more, making it much harder to deal any damage to him at all. In the end, I was blown up by Lantern Ring and several Mask characters.

This team went on to win first place, which earns all these cards a place on the Lockout List for the final Lockout League event.

Record after Round Three: 1-2-0
Final Standing: 3rd

Final Thoughts

I think I tried too much with Katana and Hal Jordan. I probably should have either focused on Hal or Katana and not used both of them. I could easily have used Oracle in place of one to help control my opponents energy use a little better, or even used Constantine instead. If I’m going to build a different Mask Ring Team, I’m not going to use both Katana and Hal Jordan. Hal almost needs Iceman as a backup, so I kinda want to replace him with Constantine, and replace Iceman with Oracle. Clayface’s Global came in handy on more than just a few occasions, so I don’t want to get rid of him. I don’t like Ronin, but he is very effective on a team like this. This isn’t the first time that Ronin has done me in with the help of the Lantern Ring! I want to toy around with some different builds, and maybe even try a Hal Jordan Ring Team. He’s really fast and the Lantern Ring counts Masks and Bolts since he’s a Mask and a Bolt character. I’m not completely sure which way to go with my Mask Ring variant for regular play, but this version was fun to try in the Lockout League! I can’t wait for the last week! We have our D&D Strahd Rainbow Draft happening this coming Saturday (tomorrow – at time of article post) so we won’t be able to do our final Lockout League event until October 15. I hope everyone has a great Rainbow Draft Weekend and I hope more locations try out the Lockout League format!

Current Lockout List:
Italicized cards are the most recent additions.

Character Slot Cards
Miri Riam: Beacon in the Dark
Half-Elf Bard: Master Lords’ Alliance
Morphing Jar: Canopic Jar
Elf Thief: Lesser Harper
Rip Hunter’s Chalkboard: “Only Zatara Can Reach the POINT”
Giant Spider: Greater Beast
Parallax: Source of Terror
Blue-Eyes White Dragon: Monstrous Dragon
Professor X: Recruiting Young Mutants
Agent Venom: Flash Thompson
Ring: Lesser Gear
Red Dragon: Lesser Dragon
Bane: Professional Criminal
Luke Cage: Knuckle Up!
Kobold: Lesser Humanoid
Silver Surfer: Silverado
Lantern Ring: Limited Only By Imagination
Scarecrow: Legion of Doom
Storm: Wind-Rider
Oracle: Master Investigator
Parallax: Fear
Professor X: Trainer
Constantine: Hellblazer
Ronin: Between Employers

Basic Action Cards
Cloudkill
Resurrection
Magic Missile
Vicious Struggle
Polymorph
Distraction

What would you expect to see at your local Lockout League?
Has your FLGS already done a Lockout League?
Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Leave a Reply

