Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

I finally had an opportunity to purchase a T1 Roll Master Playmat. We recently made a trip to Comic Cellar in Memphis and while browsing the store, we came across a box of playmats. As I glanced over them, my eyes fell upon the familiar designs of the Roll Master mat. It was as if the clouds of heaven had parted and a band of pony angels descended, singing the most glorious of tunes. My search was over and I was no longer upset about passing on one of these mats at Origins.

But angelic ponies aside, if you’re not familiar with Turn One Gaming Supplies, you should check out their site. They have goodies for lots of different gamers out there, as well as a variety of accessories for different games.

roll-master-mat

Art and Color Scheme

The art on the playmat is very fun and appropriately designed for a mostly comic book themed, dice game. I especially like that there aren’t pictures on the card spaces. This sometimes bothers me about custom playmats because when you place your cards on the mat, they cover the art.

The bomb and Kaboom! on the Used Pile fits perfect with the theme of the game and function of the Used Pile, just like the hand in the Transit Zone that appears to be sinking into the Used Pile. The tumbling dice in the Reserve Poll are fun, and I like that they don’t have numbers or pips on them. I prefer the blank dice with the giant Roll! in the Reserve Pool. The character falling from the window in KO area and the hero swinging into action in Prep Area are perfect fits in those areas as well. I especially like the Batman nod with the hero and the T1 spotlight. The Field Zone looks as if a huge character just landed in that area and the Pow! in the Attack Zone is just glorious! I love the color scheme for the life tracker and how the bursts change shape size just ever so slightly as the numbers decrease.

What I Would Change

I don’t see much of anything that needs to be changed with the art or color schemes. They’re all amazing, bright, and lots of fun! The only suggestion I have is maybe the addition of a small design or watermark type detail on the white area. It doesn’t need to be super fancy, maybe just comic dots, swirls, or lines of some sort. I would love to see the addition of a girly color scheme mat at some point in the future but that’s not a change to the current mat – it’s an addition to the line of awesome mats T1 offers.

Design and Layout

One of the biggest issues that I have with the WizKids playmats is that the life tracker is at the bottom of the mat. This really bugs me – a lot. I feel like it’s wasted at the bottom of the mat and moving it to the top makes it easier for both players to see, and eliminates most of those accidental bumps. This is a great change that T1 did with their mat.

Another issue I have with WizKids mats – which is definitely a problem now – the absence of the Out of Play or Transit Zone. The Transit Zone (Out of Play) has been a functional part of the game since the second set and T1 fixed that problem with this mat. At first, I was not excited about it being above the Used Pile but that’s only because I got used to using the Dice Bag section on the WizKids mat as a Transit Zone. But after test playing on my new mat, I found it to be very useful above the Used Pile and not below it or the Reserve Pool.

I love these two major changes that T1 made on their mats. I like the other minor changes they made too. The dice placement is above the character card instead of beside it which allows for more play area space. This also means that the card space is slightly larger than the cards, but it’s not a big deal when you realize how much additional space you have in play area. In the picture below, you can see just how much larger the play area is on the T1 playmat. T1 really fixed all the major design and layout flaws of the standard Dice Masters playmat and I absolutely love playing on this mat.

roll-master-play-area

Speaking of extra size, the T1 mat is just a little bigger than my WizKids TMNT mat. I like my new extra space! The picture below shows the extra space when the TMNT mat is placed flush with the top of the T1 mat.

roll-master-size

The one thing missing from the Roll Master playmat that’s on every WizKids mat is the Turn Order text. While this text comes in handy during demos and teaching, it’s not something I desperately have to have on my playmat and I don’t mind that it was left off of the Roll Master playmat.

turn-order-text

What I Would Change

They’ve done such an amazing job on these mats and I hate to sound like I’m looking for something to complain about, but the separate KO area throws me off a little while playing. I feel like they could have left the K.O. text at the top of the Prep Area box, as one box and not two, and it would be perfect. Sorry to sound so nit-picky with such an amazing design. But other than that, the Basic Actions only need three dice squares and that would allow them to make those spots more snug with the card size. Everything else is perfect though and like I mentioned, those are only minor issues and not serious functional issues.

Quality

I have a lot of playmats. I’m serious. I played the WoW TCG and I have all the playmats from the Epic Collections (similar to the Collector’s Boxes), which is quite a few just with those. I’ve also got five official WizKids Dice Masters playmats. Other than WoW and Dice Masters playmats, I have loads of MtG and Pokemon playmats as well as tons of other miscellaneous fantasy art playmats. So when I make this next statement, I want you to understand, I have lots of different comparable material. This playmat is the thickest and most durable of all the playmats I own. I’m fairly certain that it wouldn’t be smart to try to wash most of the mats I own, but the T1 mat is machine washable. This is very handy since accidents happen! I’ve got several mats that someone has either spilled a drink on, marked on (accidentally), or gotten dirty and I’m way too afraid to put them in the washer. Knowing that I can wash this mat, makes me feel more secure in my playmat investment.

The picture below is the best picture I could get of the thickness comparison but I tried, and it does not do justice to the T1 playmat. I promise you, it’s thicker than it looks. It also feels more firm than other playmats.

roll-master-thickness

I love the way my dice roll on this playmat too. I’m not sure if they’re statistically rolling better or if it’s my imagination, but the dice don’t seem to fly all over the place either. I think the firmness and thickness has something to do with that.

Price vs Quality

The price vs quality of this mat is amazing. T1 shows an MSRP of $19.95 for all their standard sized playmats. That’s about the same price as the WizKids playmats as well as most other gaming mats. I usually don’t like spending $20 on a mass produced playmat, but the Roll Master playmat from T1 is well worth the money. You would expect a playmat of this quality to cost more than $20.

What I Would Change

I can’t think of anything I would change with the quality of this playmat. It’s the highest quality mat I own and it costs roughly the same as all of the standard playmats out there (prices do vary at some locations).

Final Thoughts

I just can’t say enough about this playmat to adequately show just how great this playmat is. I don’t have much to say in my final thoughts because I feel like I covered everything as thoroughly as I could in the article. If you have any questions about the playmat, feel free to message me or comment here. I am very pleased with this purchase and would highly recommend the Roll Master playmat for every Dice Master out there!

The Reserve Pool also did a review of the Roll Master playmat and you can find it here.

Turn One Gaming Supplies Links

Website
Playmats
Ordering Info

Be sure to drop by their website and check out all their accessories. I would love to check out the Kaboom! sleeves for my Dice Masters teams. If I can find them locally, I will most definitely purchase a pack and review them.

Comic Cellar Info

Comic Cellar FB
Comic Cellar Website

Address and Phone
3620 Austin Peay Hwy Ste 2
Memphis, TN 38128
(901) 382-8623

If you live in or around the Memphis area, this store is more than willing and happy to host Dice Masters events. There are a few locals there that I’m sure would be thrilled to have more folks on a regular basis. This venue has plenty of space for folks to play, it’s comfortable and clean, easy to get to, and it’s close to food (always a plus when food is near). Stop by Comic Cellar and let them know you’re a Dice Master! I also want to say that the locals that were there playing other games were very courteous as well. I want to send thanks to Comic Cellar for having us and being very accommodating.

Do you have a favorite playmat?
What do you think of the Roll Master playmat?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Comments
  1. […] looks familiar, it’s because it is! He decided to use my old mat since I have that awesome Turn One Gaming Playmat […]

    Like

  2. […] I’ve got a Turn One Roll Master Playmat that I did a review article on, which you can find here. But I have been itching to get my hands on these […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

