Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

Our local masters of the dice played in a Monster-Only event, called the Monster Mash! We only allowed Non-Basic Actions from the D&D sets and any character with the Monster affiliation. We allowed any Basic Action Card from any set that’s normally legal.

We also entered all the players that dressed up, into a random drawing for leftover Strahd promos. Three players gave permission to have their pictures in the article and on my Facebook page. I respect the privacy of folks that do not want their picture or name used in my articles.

Here are three of the folks that dressed up:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Congratulations to the folks that won a Strahd! And thank you to all the folks that dressed up to participate in the costume fun!

Today is Halloween! I love Halloween because of the costumes, the scary stuff, the pumpkins, the excitement of Trick-or-Treating, and also because it’s a day of harvest celebration and remembrance of those no longer with us. Halloween is very special to me for all those reasons, but the most important reason is because it’s my wedding anniversary. Five years ago, I married the greatest guy in the world! We even dressed up for our wedding – Red Riding Hood and the Huntsman (he had a werewolf mask and gloves for after the ceremony).

I’m mostly a one person operation here, but when I need advice or encouragement, Travis is the first person I turn to. He’s Mr. DDK, my rules team, my play testing partner, my assistant editor, and basically my everything. He’s the most supportive of my work and is always there to back me up. I’ve had help from others in the community as well, but Travis has to deal with me all day – everyday – poking him for opinions and his thoughts on team ideas.

So, enough of the lovey stuff – on to Halloween! Or as they call it in Equestria, Nightmare Night! I want WizKids to make a My Little Pony set. I’d love to use Rarity, Pinkie Pie and Princess Luna/Nightmare Moon on a team! How can you go wrong with Princess Lune? Her cloak is made of bats and she looks so malevolent!

But she’s actually really kind and sweet and she wants everyone to have a fun and safe Nightmare Night.

happy-nightmare-night

Have a safe and fun Halloween or Nightmare Night – whichever fits you best!

My Team

my-team-10-29-16

You can find my team here, on DM Retrobox.

I didn’t want to use a team with only Dragons on it because I knew others would use Bronze Dragon with Anti-Breath Weapons. I chose one Dragon that I really liked for his Breath Weapon and ability – Green Dragon. I used Red Dragon primarily for his Global, but I knew I could buy him if I needed him. Half-Dragon was there to reduce the cost of my Dragons and also to add another way to get my Front Line dice a little cheaper. I added my own Bronze Dragon to help counter other Breath Weapons. Kobold was on the team for quick and easy ramp, and I knew Adventurers wouldn’t be an issue. Giant Spider was added for his Global and to help with troublesome characters by forcing them to block, which is another reason the Potion is there. If I needed to KO a large character that would also KO my character, I could use Potion to give my character Fast and not have to worry about losing my character. Manticore seemed like a good idea at the time because of his Cheetah-like ability.

Round One

round-one-10-29-16

I went second in my first round. I wasn’t sure what to expect with this team, but I knew that Mind Flayer scared me. Our game went on until time was called and we went into turns. It’s been a while since I’ve had a game go that long, but we just couldn’t get our win conditions set up. None of my dragons wanted to roll up on a character face very often. I had my Red Dragon and two Green Dragon dice cycling through my bag. Without PXG, it’s much harder to set your rotation up. I used my Kobold’s Swarm to help thin my bag a little. I used two of my opponent’s Cloudkill dice, both Breath Weapons, and my Front Line dice to attack my opponent without any blocker resistance to seize the victory.

Record after Round One: 1-0-0

Round Two

round-two-10-29-16

I went first against Mr. DDK. Unlike me, he went for full burn on the Dragons. I couldn’t get my dice to roll the way I needed them to for most of this game, but he was also having the same problem I was. I was hoping to get my Dragons to go off first with Front Line, but he bought Bahamut and I knew I was in trouble. I started buying up my Manticore dice as my backup, but it was a little too late. It only took him two attacks with Bahamut and I was done for. If that TMNT playmat looks familiar, it’s because it is! He decided to use my old mat since I have that awesome Turn One Gaming Playmat now.

Record after Round Two: 1-1-0

Round Three

round-three-10-29-16

I went first in round three against a Fiend Team. I helped him test play this team, so I knew I was in for a fight. One thing I changed on my team was Villainous Pact for The Front Line. I don’t regret my decision, but I do regret not purchasing all of my Front Line dice. We had a decent game, where he had gotten in a moderate amount of damage, but I had my opponent on the ropes – hanging by a thread at two life. I miscalculated my last attack, thinking I had him but I was off by two. I knew I could probably pull off a win on my next turn, if my opponent didn’t draw the one Front Line die he purchased. Out of all of the dice in his bag, it was the second die he drew. Then I had to hope it didn’t roll an Action Face for him. My hopes were instantly dashed! His first roll was all he needed as the Front Line Action Die landed on an Action Face. Sometimes you have luck with you, and sometimes you don’t. That’s just the way it goes!

Record after Round Three: 1-2-0
Final Standing: 4th

Final Thoughts

I had so much fun in this tournament! I love the D&D sets because of how well they work together within themselves. Even in such a limited event where we were only using the Monsters, the teams were so much fun and worked so well. Even with the bad rolls, as that happens, my team didn’t ‘flop’ and fail to function. My Half-Dragon did his job and so did my other Dragons. I think I probably would change out the Manticore for a Bahamut if I were to use this team again. I like the Manticore and it did really well for me against Mr. DDK, but I really wanted another Dragon for my team. I think Bahamut would be a good fit and the only other card I would probably replace would be the Potion. I didn’t use it and I didn’t see a time that I could have benefited from it. I could just swap the Potion out for Bahamut and keep my Manticore, which sounds like a better option. Not sure when we’ll do another Monster Mash and there could be more Monsters out by then too!

What are some changes you’d make without changing the spirit of the team?
Have a build you like better?
Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Leave a Reply

