The Deadpool Cometh, November 16, 2016 and a Shout Out to WizKids

Posted: November 1, 2016 in Miscellaneous
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

We’re roughly two weeks away from the release of the next set, Marvel Deadpool! I’ve got my gravity feed pre-ordered and I’m totally ready to get my review article done. I don’t have anything new to share in the way of spoilers, but I wanted to make it a point to direct players to the WizKids Deadpool official site.

You can find loads of pictures and various information on the official site, including the rules insert with affiliations and new keywords! You can find a direct link to that rules insert, here.

We see two new affiliations, Deadpool and Inhumans, and the return of Villains and X-Men.

We also see the return of the Impulse ability, which I’m super happy about! I really like Impulse and I can’t wait to see all the new ways to use Impulse. There are also two new abilities, Back for More and Deadly. I’ll go more into detail about these in my review article, but you can read what they do on the rules insert.

I did a review article on the eight super rare cards, found here. In my review article for my gravity feed, I’ll highlight my favorite pulls.

I think I’m most excited for the introduction of the Deadly keyword and I have to give kudos to WizKids for introducing keywords for already existing abilities and keeping other keywords alive, while letting others go.

Speaking of WizKids, they do contests from time to time on their Facebook page for a variety of their great games. They’ve done some really cool Dice Masters contests, but they recently did a Star Trek: Attack Wing contest. I was lucky enough to be selected as the random winner for that contest! I won an expansion ship for Attack Wing as well as a Star Trek Online (PS4) code for an add on, which is super cool too. I was super excited because of how much I love Star Trek and the Attack Wing game! If you like space fighter type games, this is one to check out. If you like Star Wars: X-Wing, but you like the Star Trek universe, how have you not heard of Attack Wing?! Don’t get me wrong… I like Star Wars too, but Star Trek is my favorite of the two universes. I do not like the X-Wing game though, because I feel way too limited in my fleet creation. Attack Wing brings so many different factions, options, and variables. Nothing is more fun to me than being able to have Worf captain a Romulan ship while in a fleet with Picard captaining a Borg ship.

Attack Wing is very specific to the Star Trek universe, unlike Dice Masters which spans several different universes. If you don’t like Star Trek at all, then you’ll have to pretend the characters and ships are something else.

I’ve played STAW since it released, even though I only play casually with our group of four players. Getting a scene up for STAW is very difficult, especially in such a small town, but I won’t ever give this game up (like Dice Masters).

We got to meet John de Lancie and I was able to get my Q Admiral card signed, which is super cool!

admiral-q-signed

If you like space themed things, games that play like giant chess matches, and want to try another game from WizKids, I would recommend Star Trek: Attack Wing. There is also a Dungeons and Dragons: Attack Wing game that is themed around the Dungeons and Dragons universe. So if space isn’t your thing and fantasy is more appealing, check out the D&D Attack Wing. It has a few different mechanics than the Star Trek variant.

I want to give a shout out to WizKids and thank them for all the work they do on their games and all the extra stuff they do, like the contests, which they are not obligated to do in the first place. I also want to thank their Dice Masters Rules Team for all the work they do, and I know they’re working on rules when they can. I appreciate every bit of communication we get from them.

Thanks WizKids! Without your games, I’d be forced to play other games and I wouldn’t be anywhere near as happy!

Comments on this article are welcome, but please, be kind. I will not approve nasty or hateful comments.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Leave a Reply

