Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

I hope you all have had a wonderful release week/weekend. I know we have had a blast! We typically do a draft on the Saturday after a new set releases to celebrate. While I was looking through the cards in our feed on release day, I realized how much of a slug-fest this set was going to be in draft. I was not wrong! This set has one Global ability and it’s on Motorcycle: Vroom!, which is like a Blink or Distraction Global with an added condition. One of the most important things about drafting this set is to be very careful when picking your Basic Actions!

We had a total of eleven players for our draft, so we split into two pods to draft (one pod of six, one pod of five).

draft-1

After drafting – the battles began! I always love seeing these pictures with all the playmats down the tables! We even had players at the very back table too.

draft-2

My Team

my-team

Characters
Lady Bullseye: Attack on Two Fronts
Agent Carter: Behind Enemy Lines
Multiple Man: Jamie Madrox
Miguel O’Hara: Spider-Man 2099
Negasonic Teenage Warhead: Bored in School
Free Chimichangas: Best Things in Life
Satchel of Unlimited Weaponry: Sword
M.O.D.O.K.: Twisted Mind

Basic Actions
Resurrection
Big Entrance

Event

So… It was very clear when I started playing my first of four rounds, that I had made a huge mistake with my Basic Action Cards. Lady Bullseye was such a great character, but I needed Overcrush from a Hulk Out or direct damage from Magic Missile – desperately. I totally didn’t need Big Entrance or Resurrection and I’m not sure why I picked them. But that’s why your Basic Action choices are so important! I could have possibly won a game or two if I’d have brought those Hulk Out and/or Magic Missile. I ended up going 1-3-0, my only win being the bye. Even though I had a poor record for the night, I still had tons of fun!

i-played-a-modok

The pod I was running for the drafting portion had mostly high cost characters in it. I actually purposely drafted M.O.D.O.K. cards, added him to my team, and even fielded him a few times. I have a picture as proof!

all-the-l-bullseye-and-chimis

In one of my games, the turn before I was dealt lethal damage, I had all of my Lady Bullseye and Free Chimichanga dice in my Used Pile. The two Big Entrance dice (that I was desperately wishing were Hulk Out dice instead) helped me buy two of those Chimichanga dice. I didn’t take my own advice about Lady Bullseye – lesson learned!

Even though I ended the night with a bye win and three losses, I still got a booster pack prize. We usually give out OP Kit prizes each week, whether we draft or not, but the FLGS is really generous with their additional prizing for drafts. So someone like me, that finished in last place, almost always leaves with at least one booster pack prize.

We also gave away a Deadpool gravity feed from our Thanksgiving Food Drive Raffle. One of our players that has never purchased a sealed feed, and only purchased a single raffle ticket, won the feed! Congratulations again to Craig! He pulled some decent Super Rares too – Wolverine Lord of Vampires: The X-Vampires Will Feed and Lady Deadpool: Earth-3010.

I can’t wait to try different sealed formats with this set! I really like this set a lot, especially for drafting. I think I like this set more than War of Light to draft with, and it’s one of my favorites!

How does this set rank as a draft set for you?
What are some of your favorite draft strategies for this set?
Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty, and thanks so much for reading!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Leave a Reply

