Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

Today, we’re going to take a look at  Lockjaw: Fiercely Loyal  from the Marvel Deadpool set.

lockjaw-fiercely-loyal

Ruling – Ability

Lockjaw’s ability is a While Active ability. It doesn’t matter how many Lockjaw dice you have in the Field Zone, only that you have at least one for his ability to work. While Active abilities are like a light – they’re either on, or off.

Before your opponent’s Clear and Draw Step, you name a non-Sidekick die. If your opponent draws that die, each of their character dice in the Field Zone will take two damage and all of your Lockjaw dice will get +2A. The only stipulation for this ability is that the named die be a non-Sidekick die. You can name any Character or Action die, including a Non-Basic Action die.

Lockjaw’s ability only checks that the named die was drawn, and does not trigger for each of the named dice drawn.

If your opponent has any dice that are KO’d by this ability, those dice are not eligible to be rolled during the Roll and Reroll Step on that same turn.

This Paragraph is Out of Date – See Update Below!
There is still some debate over when this ability can trigger during the turn. Some players believe it triggers only during the Clear and Draw Step, while others believe that it would trigger at anytime during the turn. I have inquired about this on WORF. Until I have an official response to clear this confusion up, I have ruled that the ability only works during the opponent’s Clear and Draw Step. Through my interpretation of the wording on the card, it sounds as though the ability only checks for the die during the Clear and Draw Step. I would think that if it was intended to check for the die during the entire turn, the wording would be a little more specific like: “If your opponent draws that die this turn…”. Hopefully WizKids will respond soon to my follow up on the current WORF topic. I will update this article when there is an official ruling.

*** UPDATE! ***

WizKids has made an official ruling on when Lockjaw’s ability triggers. They have ruled that Lockjaw will trigger outside of the Clear and Draw Step. My ruling is not in line with WizKids, so I am adjusting my ruling to correspond with theirs. You can find the update on the original Lockjaw ruling, here.

Miscellaneous Card Info

Lockjaw: Fiercely Loyal is a Shield Character and has the Inhumans affiliation. This card also has a Max Dice of four.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario.

Example One:
One active Lockjaw.

~ I have one Lockjaw die active. Before my opponent’s Clear and Draw Step, I name Multiple Man.
~ (Clear and Draw) My opponent clears their Reserve Pool into their Used Pile and draws four dice from their bag.
~ (Clear and Draw) They draw three Sidekick dice and one Multiple Man die.
~ (Clear and Draw) All of their active characters will take two damage, and my Lockjaw will gain +2A.

Example Two:
Multiple active Lockjaw.

~ I have three Lockjaw dice active. Before my opponent’s Clear and Draw Step, I name Multiple Man.
~ (Clear and Draw) My opponent clears their Reserve Pool into their Used Pile and draws four dice from their bag.
~ (Clear and Draw) They draw three Sidekick dice and one Multiple Man die.
~ (Clear and Draw) All of their active characters will take two damage, and my all three of my Lockjaw dice will gain +2A.

Example Three:
Drawing multiples of the named die.

~ I have one Lockjaw die active. Before my opponent’s Clear and Draw Step, I name Power Bolt.
~ (Clear and Draw) My opponent clears their Reserve Pool into their Used Pile and draws four dice from their bag.
~ (Clear and Draw) They draw three Power Bolt dice and one Sidekick die.
~ (Clear and Draw) All of their active characters will take two damage, and my Lockjaw will gain +2A.

Example Four:
Dice KO’d by Lockjaw’s ability.

~ I have one Lockjaw die active. My opponent has three Sidekick dice active and one Wolverine die in the Prep Area. Before my opponent’s Clear and Draw Step, I name Multiple Man.
~ (Clear and Draw) My opponent clears their Reserve Pool into their Used Pile and draws four dice from their bag.
~ (Clear and Draw) They draw three Sidekick dice and one Multiple Man die.
~ (Clear and Draw) All of their active characters will take two damage, and my Lockjaw will gain +2A.
~ (Clear and Draw) The three Sidekicks will be KO’d and sent to the Prep Area.
~ (Roll and Reroll) My opponent rolls the four dice they drew plus the Wolverine die that was already in their Prep Area. The Sidekicks that were KO’d on this turn will remain in the Prep Area until their next turn.

NEW! Example Five:
Named dice drawn outside of the Clear and Draw Step.

~ I have one Lockjaw die active and my opponent has two Sidekick dice active in the Field Zone. I name Multiple Man.
~ (Clear and Draw) My opponent clears their Reserve Pool into their Used Pile and draws four dice from their bag.
~ (Clear and Draw) They draw four Sidekick dice.
~ (Roll and Reroll) My opponent rolls and then rerolls the four Sidekick dice and the result is a Shield energy, two Mask energy, and a Sidekick.
~ (Main Step) My opponent spends the Shield energy (placing it Out of Play) to use the Global on Resurrection. The die that’s drawn is Multiple Man. My opponent’s two fielded Sidekicks take two damage and my Lockjaw die gets +2A.
~ (Main Step) My opponent fields the Sidekick in their Reserve Pool. It doesn’t take damage because it wasn’t active in the Field Zone when Lockjaw’s ability was triggered.

Official Sources

You can find the official ruling on WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF), here.

Competitive Play Rating

Lockjaw’s ability is definitely interesting and potentially useful, but I feel like he’s only going to be really good in certain local metas. He’s probably not good against a Vicious Struggle team or even a Front Line team. I can’t just toss this card aside and claim he’s not viable in certain metas though. He only cost four to purchase and has a TFC of one – which is pretty awesome. His stats aren’t horrible for a defensive character, and his ability could give him some bite with that bark and possibly change your opponent’s mind about attacking. I can give him a rogue team rating, but he’s not a card that I see turning up on every team.

Lockjaw: Fiercely Loyal gets a competitive play rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Casual Play Rating

If not for the confusing text on this card, he’d easily have earned three, maybe four stars from me for casual play. He’s a great card once a player understands exactly how he works. He’s got a great purchase cost, good stats, and an awesome TFC. I just wish his ability was a little easier to understand for a beginner. Players with a better understanding of the rules could probably find ways to use this card in casual play and I encourage those players to use Lockjaw. He’s not a terrible card, he just needs a bit of explanation to help players better understand how he works.

Lockjaw: Fiercely Loyal gets a casual play rating of two out of five stars.
2 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s