Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For the first week of our Classic Avengers OP events, we played an Unlimited Constructed format. I really wanted to revamp my teams before I play them again, so for this event, I decided to try something new with something old.

My Team

my-team-12-3-16

You can find my team here, on DM Retrobox.

Lady Bullseye is the main win condition, but Beholder can also assist with that and his ability is a great utility. Groot helps keep my Lady Bullseye from falling victim to my own Magic Missile. Everything else on the team is strictly utility: Wasp for her force block Global, Parallax for his Lottery Global, PXG, Blue-Eyes for his cost reduction Global, and Rip Global to help me prep something I buy. My main goal is to use Lady Bullseye as an Overcrushing attacker against a low defense character that was targeted by her ability. Magic Missile helps me clear the Field of other potential blockers that could help my opponent reduce the amount of damage from my attackers with Overcrush.

Round One

round-one-12-3-16

Round one was a whirlwind of Magic Missile actions and Lady Bullseye dice flying back and forth. My opponent was trying to get Storm and Lady Deadpool active so he could do extra damage with his Magic Missile dice. I was a little worried when I saw that super rare Lady Deadpool across the table from me. My opponent shot me with Magic Missile a few times before he could get a Lady Deadpool and Storm active. I wasn’t sure I could pull off a win once he got them both out, but my opponent made a fatal error in his blocking choices. He didn’t realize that he would take so much damage from blocking my Lady Bullseye that had the higher attack. He could only block one of my two Lady Bullseye dice that were attacking. His blocked character could only stop a small amount of the damage, leaving the rest to strike his life total along with the unblocked Lady Bullseye. That final attack secured the game for me. If he had blocked the other instead, he would have been at one life and possibly turned the game around. It was a fun match though, and I could have been toast at any point against his relentless Magic Missile dice.

Record after Round One: 1-0-0

Round Two

round-two-12-3-16

Round two was against Mr. DDK and his ridiculous Ultra Front Line team. This game went fairly quickly with him being the victor. He got an Oracle out early in the game, slowing me down too much. After a few turns, he was set up with two Ultraman dice in the Field along with several other characters. He rolled a Kryptonite and used it on one of my characters. Ultraman then used my Magic Missile on me, Hulk Out on himself, Imprisoned my entire Field, and Front Lined his whole Field. The amount of damage was massive and has left me traumatized. Red and Green are not colors I enjoy seeing together now because of Ultraman and Kryptonite. I think a well placed Cold Gun could possibly help against these shenanigans. I couldn’t get much going on my side during this game.

Record after Round Two: 1-1-0

Round Three

round-three-12-3-16

Round three was a super fun match! We duked it out until the very last turn after time was called and it was anyone’s game the entire time. Her Constantine and Dwarf Wizard were slowing and stopping almost all of my abilities and she had also gotten a Bard in the Field. The last piece she needed was Imprisoned, and when she finally got it, she couldn’t attack for lethal damage. I had worked at chipping away her characters in the Field with Magic Missile and Lady Bullseye when I had the opportunity to do so. But it seemed like, every time I would gain a little bit of footing, there was something new getting in my way. These are the games that are exciting and fun for me. I love the back and forth action and how the game can lean either way during the whole match. I had thought about buying her Imprisoned dice just to get Constantine and Wizard out of the way, but I decided not to because I kept thinking that I might be able to pull something off. She always chose the right character to name or was able to field the Wizard at the right time. This game was a huge challenge and it literally came down to the last turn, where I was lucky enough to attack for lethal damage.

Record after Round Three: 2-1-0
Final Standing: 3rd

Final Thoughts

I really love the Lady Bullseye/Overcrush combo and I’m desperately trying to make it work. One of the problems that I’m running into is direct damage. Every direct damage Global, like the one on Magic Missile, can be used against my Lady Bullseye. I added Groot to help boost her defense and he works great, but he takes a few turns to set up. I really need a taunt and I’m not sure what to take off. The Lottery is crucial – It helps me reroll those Lady Bullseye or Hulk Out dice that I need. Blue-Eyes helps me get things cheaper. Rip is very essential and PXG is handy for ramp and bag manipulation. I can’t take Wasp off, because she’s part of the combo. I suppose I could swap Beholder out for Bane or Phoenix, but that takes away a potential win condition and very useful utility. I guess I could use Magic Missile to win if I had to, but it’s not ideal at all. Maybe I’m going about this all wrong. I could take off Magic Missile and add Imprisoned as a board clearing tool and then I won’t have to use Groot. I’m determined to make this character work on a team – I will exhaust all my resources to hopefully find a way!

What are some changes you’d make without changing the spirit of the team?
Have a build you like better?
Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Leave a Reply

