Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

During the month of December, I’m featuring a different cold/ice/snow related card each week to celebrate the winter holidays. Today, we’re going to take a look at Killer Frost: Coldsnap from the DC Green Arrow and The Flash set.

killer-frost-coldsnap

Ruling – Ability

Killer Frost’s ability says that when a Non-Villain character die KO’s her, the die that KO’d her is added to its owner bag. The die that KO’s her must not be a Villain, but it can KO her with combat damage or ability damage.

Global Abilities are not considered character abilities and unless the Global specifically states that the character is the source of the damage, Globals will not trigger the ability on Killer Frost. One example of this is Blue-Eye White Dragon: Monstrous Dragon’s Global. That Global KO’s a character you control, but it’s not the character die that’s using the Global, it’s the player.

There are other abilities that KO a character that do not trigger her ability. Fabricate is an example of one of those abilities. When a player KO’s their Killer Frost die for a Fabricate ability, it’s not the character die KO’ing Killer Frost, it’s the player KO’ing her.

Characters that deal damage with an ability, like Green Arrow: Oliver Queen, will trigger her ability. If the damage from his ability is enough to KO Killer Frost, then the Green Arrow die that KO’d her will go it’s owner’s bag.

If Killer Frost is KO’d by a character’s combat damage (either blocking or blocked), that character die will go to the owner’s bag. If the character die that KO’s Killer Frost is also KO’d, that character die would go to the owner’s bag instead of the Prep Area.

Character dice that aren’t KO’d and are sent to their owner’s bag by Killer Frost’s ability are not considered to be KO’d, because the card does not state that those character dice are KO’d by her ability. They are moved to the bag.

Affiliations and Types

Killer Frost: Coldsnap is a Mask Character and has the Villain affiliation. This card also has a Max Dice of four.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario.

Example One:
Killer Frost KO’d by Combat Damage
.

~ I have a level one Killer Frost and my opponent has a Non-Villain character die with 3A/3D in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) My opponent attacks with their character, moving it into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) I assign Killer Frost as a blocker, moving her die in to the Attack Zone and placing it in front of the die she’s blocking.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) Active player doesn’t use any Action Dice. Neither player uses Globals.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) My opponent’s character assigns three damage to Killer Frost. Killer Frost assigns one damage to the character she’s blocking.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) Killer Frost will take a total of three damage, which is more than enough to KO her. The character she blocked will take one damage, which would not KO it. Her ability checks that the character die that KO’d her is not a Villain, and then that character is sent to my opponent’s bag.
~ (Clean Up) My Killer Frost die that was KO’d by damage from an attacker is sent to the Prep Area. All dice that are Out of Play are sent to the Used Pile.

Example Two:
Killer Frost KO’d by Ability Damage
.

~ I have a level two Killer Frost in the Field Zone.
~ (Main Step) My opponent has two level one Green Arrow: Oliver Queen characters and two Fist energy in their Reserve Pool.
~ (Main Step) My opponent spends one Fist energy (moving it Out of Play) to field one of the Green Arrow dice, choosing my Killer Frost as the target of that die’s ability. Killer Frost takes two damage, but is not KO’d.
~
(Main Step) My opponent spends one Fist energy (moving it Out of Play) to field the other Green Arrow die, choosing my Killer Frost as the target of that die’s ability. Killer Frost takes two damage and is KO’d by that die’s ability.
~ (Main Step) Killer Frost is moved to the Prep Area and the second Green Arrow die is moved to my opponent’s bag. The first die is not moved because it did not KO Killer Frost.

Example Three:
Using the Global on Blue-Eyes White Dragon to KO Killer Frost.

~ (Main Step) I spend one Bolt energy (moving it Out of Play) and KO Killer Frost to use the Global on Blue-Eyes White Dragon: Monstrous Dragon.
~ (Main Step) Killer Frost’s ability does not do anything because I KO’d her, and not a character die.

Example Four:
Character die that KO’s Killer Frost is also KO’d .

~ I have a level one Killer Frost die and my opponent has a level one Green Arrow: Oliver Queen die in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign my Killer Frost die as an attacker, moving her into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns Green Arrow to block Killer Frost, moving their Green Arrow die into the Attack Zone and placing it in front of Killer Frost.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) Active player doesn’t use any Action Dice. Neither player uses Globals.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) Killer Frost assigns her one damage to Green Arrow’s one defense. Green Arrow assigns his four damage to Killer Frost’s two defense. Both characters will are KO’d. Killer Frost’s ability triggers and checks that Green Arrow is not a Villain. Green Arrow is moved into my opponent’s bag.
~ (Clean Up Step) My Killer Frost die that was KO’d by her blocker is moved to the Prep Area.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have an official ruling for this specific card.

You can find a ruling here, stating that Globals are not character abilities.

Page 10-12 of Civil War Rulebook details the Attack Step and Clean Up Step (where dice that are KO’d are then moved to the Prep Area).

Competitive Play Rating

I don’t see this card making it into any major competitive scene. She’s got a cheap TFC of one, decent defense on level two and three, and she’s a cheaper Mask character – but her ability probably isn’t going to be that useful in the current major meta. Bag manipulation is one factor in my rating for her. It’s way too easy to set your bag up or correct a single die error in a split second with the current cards available in the meta. Her ability isn’t terrible, but it’s just not good enough for current competitive meta. Another factor for my rating is that there are cheaper characters with better fielding costs (Elf Thief: Lesser Harper jumps immediately to mind) that make themselves just as useful or more-so in current team builds.

Killer Frost: Coldsnap gets a competitive play rating of one out of five stars.
1 Star

Casual Play Rating

In a casual setting where players use more characters and less competitive shenanigans, Killer Frost could very easily find a home. She can be very confusing for some players that are just starting out and learning how certain abilities like Fabricate work or they become exposed to direct damage Globals. But once a player becomes more familiar with the basics, they could possibly find a use for Killer Frost. In a casual setting, players are less likely to come across some of those more confusing scenarios. Her purchase cost, fielding costs, and stats are fantastic for a beginner. She’s also a perfect teaching tool for those tricky abilities and Globals. I could definitely recommend Killer Frost for any player of any skill level.

Killer Frost: Coldsnap gets a casual play rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s