Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

We had a constructed event with a twist for tonight’s OP Event. Everyone was required to play a ‘Cold’ themed character or Non-BAC on their team. I chose to add Killer Frost: Coldsnap to my Gandhi team for this event.

My Team

my-team-12-17-17

You can find my team here, on DM Retrobox.

I love my Gandhi team because if it works the way it should, the characters on this team never attack. I’ve had this team for a long time now, just tweaking a few things here and there. Rip, PXG, and Blue-Eyes are all utility cards. Colossus is my win condition and Wonder Woman helps the win condition along. Elf Thief is a cheap Mask character that has an awesome ability, makes for great BEWD food, and can also feed Wonder Woman’s ability. I added Killer Frost for tonight and never had a chance to use her. I had hoped that she would come in handy to force a troublesome character into my opponent’s bag. I originally was going to use either Beast: Genetic Expert or Bane for his taunt, but when I thought about it, Multiple Man seemed like a better idea. His purchase cost, Swarm, and Max Dice were all major bonuses. Blink is on the team for the Global, to push back those heavy hitting characters and since this team isn’t concerned with attacking, it’s really only me that benefits from the Global. Big Entrance was just a default choice for me and could possibly help me get my Colossus a little cheaper. It would also help me get my Multiple Man dice for one Mask energy and add them to my bag.

Round One

round-1-12-17-16

Round one I had to face off against a Guy Rush team. I was fairly certain I wouldn’t win this match, but it wasn’t as much of a train wreck as I thought it would be for me. The Multiple Man dice that I kept on energy faces helped me Blink his Guy’s back and keep them in check while I tried to build up to my Colossus. I was able to defend myself really well with blockers and Blink and it came down to a single turn. I was at two life and my opponent was at twelve. I rolled all but one of the characters I needed for Colossus’s ability. My opponent was at two life now along with me. It came down to my opponent’s last turn. He needed to roll several characters to get past my blockers and Blink energy. He rolled plenty of characters and then purchased a Morphing Jar and fielded a Miri to add that extra punch. It was such a close game and without Blink, I would have been annihilated early on. I didn’t think my team would do well against an aggro team since it’s much slower. I was very pleased with the performance of my team.

Record after Round One: 0-1-0

Round Two

round-2-12-17-16

I knew just by looking at this team that I was probably in for a world of pain. I felt like I possibly had a chance defending myself with Blink. Blink is the bane of any Overcrush team, and it was definitely my savior here. My opponent had several rough turns where his Wolverine dice refused to roll character faces for him, but he played around it really well by KO’ing his Lady Bullseye and using Beholder’s Global to keep his Hulk Out stashed. The pressure he was putting on me kept me from being able to purchase extra characters, like Killer Frost. Every time I wanted to buy one, I couldn’t because I knew I’d need the Masks I had for Blink. It came down to the wire with this game too, but in the end I rolled up the characters I needed for Colossus’s ability to gain me a victory. This game was all about blocking vs not blocking and what characters to Blink. There were a few times I considered keeping a Bolt to KO the character that Lady Bullseye targeted, or even KO a character that was forced to block so that I wouldn’t get hit with a trillion bazillion damage.

Record after Round Two: 1-1-0

Round Three

round-3-12-17-16

Once again, I found myself sitting across from Mr. DDK. We always seem to end up playing against each other, and this game was possibly going to decide first place. He was the only player that was undefeated and I was 1-1 with decent tie-breakers. But I knew I had an uphill battle against his Bat-Bomb team. He had built it as a Prime team, but forgot one of his BACs. I know how good Bat-Bomb can be so I knew what I needed to do – buy all the Multiple Man dice and Blink his Dick Grayson back. Oracle was such a pain! It took me forever to get my purchases set up, but I had all six Multiple Man dice cycling through my bag or fielded. Even with Oracle, I was able to Blink Dick Grayson while blocking other characters, and still PXG once or twice. That was definitely thanks to Multiple Man who was my MVP for this event (excluding Colossus – since he is the reason I won twice). Mr. DDK would KO Alfred with my BEWD and use Bruce Wayne’s ability to take out my Multiple Man dice so that I couldn’t benefit from Swarm all the time. That was definitely a good move for him, but I did eventually end up winning with five Multiple Man dice at level two or higher with a level two Colossus in the Field Zone.

Record after Round Three: 2-1-0
Final Standing: 1st

Final Thoughts

My tie-breakers boosted me to first place tonight, but every game was down to the wire and every game demanded a strategic plan just to stay alive. One mistake and that would be it – game over. I made a few mistakes in my first match and it cost me dearly. Killer Frost would have been a huge benefit in that particular game and I never purchased her. I love my Gandhi team and I wish I could make it work in a more serious competitive like a WKO, but it won’t work because of how slow it is to set up. I don’t know when I’ll play this team again, but it’ll likely go through another minor change or two between now and then. I’m thinking about keeping Multiple Man on the team and putting Oracle: Master Investigator in the place of Killer Frost. I hate playing the Lottery, so I definitely don’t want to put Parallax on this team. I already rely too much on Globals to make this team work, so I don’t want to add another. I just love playing a team that never attacks and never uses Actions to damage my opponent. Colossus is a unique character and I’m just happy I can make him work in a casual setting.

What are some changes you’d make without changing the spirit of the team?
Have a build you like better?
Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Leave a Reply

