News! Dice Masters Release Schedule as of January 5, 2017

Posted: January 5, 2017 in News
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

I’ve been looking over the upcoming releases for the year and I’ve noticed a few things that I’m really excited about, but also some things that concern me. Before I get into all of it, here is the tentative release schedule for the first part of the year – as of January 5, 2017:

January

No Product

February

2/8/17
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Heroes in a Half Shell Box Set

2/15/17
Marvel
Iron Man and War Machine Starter Set

March

Marvel
Deadpool Family Values OP Kit

April

Marvel
Guardians of the Galaxy Gravity Feed (90 ct)
Guardians of the Galaxy Gift with Purchase (Feed Incentive)

DC
Batman the Animated Series (TAS) OP Kit

May

DC
Batman Gravity Feed (90 ct)
Batman Gift with Purchase (Feed Incentive)
Superman and Wonder Woman Starter Set

Marvel
Defenders Team Pack
Xavier’s School OP Kit

June

Marvel
X-Men First Class Gravity Feed (90 ct)
X-Men First Class Gift with Purchase (Feed Incentive)

DC
Batman the Animated Series (TAS) Villains OP Kit

July

No Product

August

DC
Batman the Animated Series (TAS) Sirens OP Kit

Okay, so here is the list of things I don’t like.

1. May – A Gravity Feed, Starter, and Team Pack are all scheduled for that month. That’s a huge dent to a wallet.

2. There are three Gravity Feed sets scheduled for three consecutive months. So forget about the Starter and Team Pack in May, because April, May, and June all have Feeds scheduled. One of those Feeds was originally scheduled for February and it was pushed back to May. There could be a plethora of reasons that Batman was pushed back and I don’t want to open up speculation about it. I just hope they adjust this release schedule and spread those Feeds out a little more.

3. January, February, and July are void of OP Kits. I get that inventory usually happens at the first of the year and WKOs happen in February, but I wish we had a consistent OP Kit release for each month. This is just a minor dislike and not really a major issue.

4. I don’t like that the Starter releases are months apart. I would have preferred them to both be released in the same month, like both during the last week of April or the first week in May.

Now – on to the positive things.

1. New Turtles! I’m super excited for the new Turtle box and I can’t wait to get my hands on additional TMNT Dice Masters. If we get a new TMNT Box each year, that would be awesome!

2. The new Defenders Team Pack – I’m really excited to see them continuing with this type of product. The format for the product is great for beginners to help them build a better team than just what they get from a single starter.

3. The return of Starters! I imagine these starters will be similar to previous ones, but I can’t confirm anything on those. If they’re like previous starters, they’ll likely just have two dice for each character. I can only hope that those characters will have a Max Dice of two. I can understand how some folks will likely be frustrated if they feel they have to purchase two Starters in order to get more dice. A great solution for this would be for WizKids to utilize preexisting character dice patterns/colors for Starter characters so players can use dice they may already have – or can easily get. Hopefully that’s something that they’ll consider. There is a picture circulating on BoardGameGeek that shows the starter contents, but the text is too hard to read. The picture only shows two dice for each character though and almost all the dice look new, as do most of the characters.

4. I’m really excited for the Batman the Animated Series OP Kits – and there isn’t just one, or two, but three that are currently scheduled! Batman TAS is one of the most positive memories from my childhood and it brings back wonderful thoughts of time I spent with my Great Grandmother. I’m so excited for these kits!

5. On the topic of OP Kits – I’m glad there are more DC OP Kits than Marvel OP Kits because I’m a little burnt out on Marvel kits at the moment.

6. I’m very happy to see the continuation of the ‘Gift with Purchase’ items. I highly suspect them to be cards that are likely obtained when you purchase a Feed and are probably blank sketch variants of a card in the set. I like those a lot because they aren’t functionally different from other cards in the set and that eases the stress on many players that feel like they need a functionally different copy of every card in the game. I personally love these cards and horde them for when I am finally able to make it to a convention to have artists I like draw on them. My feelings wouldn’t be hurt if they changed those Gift with Purchase cards to something else, but I wouldn’t want to see functionally different cards. I think things like that should be saved for major events like WKO’s or Free Comic Book Day.

7. And speaking of Free Comic Book Day – I’m excited about the tentative release date for the Superman and Wonder Woman Starter and I hope they don’t change it. I hope it releases the first week in May or even the last week in April, that way stores have a new item to showcase for FCBD! That would be totally awesome!

8. And a final positive point – there is new product scheduled. I know some of you may think, ‘well duh, of course there’s new stuff’, but let me tell you… I also play(ed) a game I discovered at Origins this past year called The Spoils. The future seemed bright and exciting. We were expecting to hear something about new product any day. Then… they dropped the final letter to the community. It was a goodbye letter. A game that I thought was going to be around, since it was already ten years old, and it was suddenly gone. The same thing happened to me when I was playing the World of Warcraft TCG. One day, the best set of the entire game had dropped, then a week later Blizzard had pulled the plug on the game. So, if you love Dice Masters, be thankful that WizKids is continuing to support the game by creating new product and hosting major events. Be thankful for the communication that they provide through WORF – even if you think it’s minimal communication, it’s something! Be thankful for the friends you’ve made through this amazing game. Be thankful for all the positive things and try to help fellow players. Show some love to WizKids every now and then so that way they know their game is loved and appreciated. I want to see Dice Masters continue to grow and thrive for many years to come!

Final Thoughts

If you would like to keep up with the releases as they update them, you can find their tentative release schedule, here. Just adjust the drop down menu if need be.

Also – I don’t mind comments and discussion on my articles, but please keep it clean and friendly.

What are you most excited for that’s currently on the schedule?
What do you think should be on schedule that isn’t?
Leave me a comment and let me know!
Be sure to follow me on Facebook or my other social media sites and thanks for reading!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

 

 

Comments
  1. You’re right about the wallet-busting this release schedule is gonna cause. It doesn’t seem to be well thought through at all. And a big dry spell for the first three months of the year too. For a game that has a strong customer base into drafting (and with other shiny new games on the market) that seems like a huge risk to me.

    I have fond memories of Batman TAS too, I’ve just got my fingers crossed the OP sets have some interesting and PLAYABLE game-texts on them LOL

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

