Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

I apologize for the lack of tournament reports the last few weeks. We’ve hosted events each week, but I was working on videos and neglected to get pictures of my opponents’ teams the last few weeks. I think I have a decent understanding of how to use my camera and software now, at least enough to get some featured matches up on my YouTube channel. Please subscribe to my channel on YouTube so you don’t miss any upcoming review videos or featured tournament matches!

I want to mention that we do not do ties in our local events. All of our players are aware that in larger events such as a WKO or PDC event, if you go into turns and do not defeat your opponent by reducing their life total to zero, the match ends in a tie.

My Team

my-team-1-21-17

You can find my team here, on DM Retrobox.

Ever since the release of the Deadpool set, I’ve been trying my hardest to find a way to make Lady Bullseye work. It’s almost impossible in an unlimited format, because it’s too difficult to get all the proper pieces to align perfect every time. But I thought I’d give it go in a prime format to see if I could make a somewhat functional team with her and Gorilla Grodd. Putting those two together is almost a no-brainer – they’re perfect for each other. I chose Stepford Cuckoos: Celeste for a few reasons. She can target herself or I can use her to target one of my Lady Bullseye or Multiple Man dice that may be stuck in the field. She gives me an opportunity to remove a potential blocker or trouble character from my opponent’s Field Zone as well. Even though my opponent gets to choose which character they move to the Prep Area, it’s still a benefit for me. Multiple Man: Pile On! is an easy choice. He’s got a max dice of six, Swarm, and only cost two. Agent Carter: Answered the Call was another easy choice, for that bit of control. I may not have an Elf Thief to steal energy, but my opponent is going to waste an energy to field a Sidekick or any character with the Ally Keyword. I like my control pieces and Captain Cold’s Cold Gun: Frozen “Firearm” was an easy choice as well. Bane: Professional Criminal and Wasp: Fashionista are both great control pieces for their Globals. I could taunt a character into attacking and either block it to KO it, or let it through to force it back into the bag cycle. The force block Global is key for Lady Bullseye and Grodd. I use it on the character that Lady Bullseye targeted with her ability to ensure I get my double damage Overcrush. I chose Heroes in a Half-Shell and Too Big To Fly for my two Basic Action Cards to help boost my attackers if I needed that extra push. Too Big To Fly’s ability is extremely beneficial in getting rid of troublesome characters.

Round One

round-1-1-21-17

My first round match was the featured match. You can watch the video on my YouTube Channel, here. If you watch the video, you can see that Hannah didn’t have the best rolls and I had pretty decent rolls. I was able to Rip a Grodd in this game, and she didn’t have many ways to stop or counter Overcrush. I’ve seen her team in action before and it’s a really good team, but her dice didn’t want to roll for her this time.

Record after Round One: 1-0-0

Round Two

round-2-1-21-17

Round two I found myself facing off against Mr. DDK. I suspected his team was going to be rather speedy and I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to keep up. I used my Cuckoos to clear some of his characters out of the field, helping me slow down his progress a little. This particular match made me realize that I need to add one more Cuckoos and reduce Agent Carter by one. If I would’ve had a third Cuckoos die, my match may have gone much easier for me. He purchase all of his Rocket dice, but thanks to the Cuckoos I used, it kept many of them in rotation and out of the Field. His Lockjaw helped him regain some of the life I chipped away at early in the game. Agent Carter made it more difficult for him to field his Sidekicks for Justice. He used his Motorcycle Global to great effect during our match. I originally thought that this card was terrible, but that was before PDC announced Prime, and Motorcycle isn’t terrible for Prime. I fielded a Grodd very early against Mr. DDK, which I’m convinced helped me defeat him. Once I was able to get enough characters fielded and several Lady Bullseye dice circulating, I was able to overcome his defenses for my second round victory.

Record after Round Two: 2-0-0

Round Three

round-3-1-21-17

I’ve seen North’s Satchel team in action several times over the last few weeks as he’s worked on fine tuning it. I was thrilled that he played it in our first local Prime event. I know that several folks out there think Satchel is terrible, but this team won our event. It was slow going for both of us in the beginning, but we were both able to pick up speed a few turns in. He was using Oracle: Master Investigator, which slowed me down a little, but not a lot. She made it harder for me to Rip and purchase certain characters, like Grodd. His Ronin absorbed several of my Overcrush hits throughout the match. I tried to cycle my two Cuckoos to the best of my ability, but when I needed both to roll a character face, they didn’t. He did well in keeping a Cold Gun with burst(s) in the Field Zone in order to blank Grodd when I attacked. We went into turns, but even with my final attack, I couldn’t get enough damage through. My biggest mistake in this game was not purchasing my Cold Gun dice. By the time I realized I needed them, it was too late. North defeated me and took first place in our first prime tournament.

Record after Round Three: 2-1-0
Final Standing: 2nd

Final Thoughts

This was our first experience with the prime format in a tournament setting. Lots of things were as I expected, and others were a bit different. I expected the rounds to take a little longer as the games would go many more turns than they do in an unlimited format, and this turned out to be true in our event. I also expected to have a difficult time in buying and fielding Grodd, but this was not as difficult as I originally thought. He is a very expensive character and without ramp or cost reducers, you would think him impossible to obtain. There are several ways I tried to get around the ramp issue, like with Stepford Cuckoos and Multiple Man. They worked amazingly well, but I did realize that I need one more Cuckoos die an one less Agent Carter die. I’ve also considered changing out Heroes in a Half-Shell for Superhero Registration Act. My one concern in doing so is that I won’t have my cheaper action to purchase if my dice don’t roll the energy I want or need. Having that action that only cost two energy is a major plus, especially if my opponent is using Rip, allowing me to Rip it on my first turn for a potential two extra energy on my second turn. I’m not sure I want to make that change, but I’ll be testing it in the future. I was very pleased with how my team performed. I did some minor play testing with Mr. DDK against Bat-Family, but I didn’t test it against the team he played in the tournament. I felt like I should have tested it against other builds, just to get the feel for how it would play against other things that weren’t Bat-Family. But overall, I really like this team and I can’t wait to try it out again!

What are some changes you’d make without changing the spirit of the team?
Have a build you like better?
Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Leave a Reply

