Tournament Report! February 18, 2017 – Prime Format

Posted: February 19, 2017 in Report, Strategy, Team Building
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

We held a Prime format event this past weekend and I decided to play with a mostly TMNT team. Before I go any further, I have a little bit of bad news. I did not take pictures of my opponents’ teams, and an unfortunate technical issue has destroyed two of my three videos. I will post the video I have on my YouTube channel when I get done editing it. I did not take pictures of my opponents’ teams for this report because I was doing videos of all my matches this week. I apologize for the lack of content in this report.

My Team

You can find my team here, on DM Retrobox or in the Slideshow below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I put April, Michelangelo, and Leonardo on my team to decrease the cost of my TMNT characters. I like Donatello because he does ability damage directly to my opponent for each of my other active TMNT characters when each of his dice attack. Metalhead is a really beefy attacker when you have lots of TMNT dice active. Raphael protects my TMNT characters from Action Dice and Globals, which came in handy! I put Casey Jones on the team to help me clear Sidekicks/Allies out of Metalhead’s path. Rip was the only card on the team that wasn’t from a TMNT set. I wanted to have access to the Global if my opponent decided not to bring it. Reclaim was useful for moving over those recently purchased character dice. Mutation is just a great card for Mutating Sidekicks out and bringing in those TMNT characters as well as Mutating out characters on my opponent’s side, for less threatening characters.

I had lots of fun playing this team, and every game I played was somewhat close – except for my first match. I ended with a record of 0-3-0 for the event, but the fun I had was totally worth playing with my Turtles! I would like to take Casey Jones off the team and add a force block Global, like Wasp: Fashionista so that I can force my opponent to block my Donatello dice, hopefully putting them back into the Field Zone. I would also like to swap my Metalhead out for this one:

w-26-metalhead-dissociative-identity

Using Dissociative Identity with the four Turtles would be a huge benefit. I can attack with all of my dice; Donatello dice will be doing their direct damage first; then Metalhead’s ability will make the four Turtles unblockable; then the four Turtles will all hit my opponent, hopefully for lethal. I can use one or multiple Donnie dice to soften my opponent up first, making the victory easier to accomplish.

I played against a Bat-Family team, an Action Burn team, and a Satchel team. The Action Burn team won the event on tie-breaker points, but all three of those team were 2-1-0 for the event. I plan to make the appropriate adjustments to my team and play it again in a future Prime event. I also have a Gorilla Grodd team that I enjoy playing and Hypervelocity team that I’m working on.

I apologize again for the lack of content in this report, but I wanted to put something out there for folks to read. Something is better than nothing! I hope I have the technical kinks worked out for next week.

What are some changes you’d make without changing the spirit of the team?
Have a build you like better?
Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.
Remember to subscribe to my
YouTube Channel for Dice Masters and HeroClix videos!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Leave a Reply

