Tournament Report! February 25, 2017 – Lockout League Week One of Six

Posted: February 26, 2017 in Report, Strategy, Team Building
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

This is week one of six for our Lockout League season. If you aren’t familiar with the Lockout League format, it’s a really fun format that allows for more creativity as the weeks progress. Each week, the first place player will have their entire team added to a Lockout List. Players cannot use any card on the Lockout List while building a team for that week. We tried something different this time (suggested by Brett). We started this Lockout League with a pre-Locked List. Players voted on cards from the previous season’s final list and the cards with the most votes started our Lockout List.

Characters
Half-Elf Bard: Master Lords’ Alliance
Elf Thief: Lesser Harper
Lantern Ring: Limited Only By Imagination
Oracle: Master Investigator
Constantine: Hellblazer
Black Widow: Tsarina
Guy Gardner: Blinding Rage
Zatanna: Inverted Incantations

BAC
Cloudkill
Vicious Struggle

I’m sure most of those are no surprise to anyone. Almost all of them are major meta cards. When and if we do another Lockout League, these cards will not be added to the pool of choices for the pre-Locked List. This will give players an opportunity to play with them again in the next season. Otherwise, this pre-Locked List would likely not change much from season to season. The updated Lockout List will be added to the end of the article.

My Team

my-team-2-25-17

You can find my team here, on DM Retrobox.

I have no clue what I was thinking when I built this team. I was building at literally the last possible minute because I didn’t have the forethought to build the night before. I was so focused on the upcoming Deadpool HeroClix Pre-Release that I totally forgot about building a team. I was going to use my TMNT team, but Mr. DDK heckled me about it and told me to play something more competitive. So I literally threw this together. It’s some odd mash-up of my Front Line Cyclops team with some other cards, and I didn’t like it at all.

Round One

bye-player-pony

I got the bye in round one. I got to sit back and watch everyone else and throw popcorn at them.

Record after Round One: 1-0-0

Round Two

round-2-2-25-17

I got to play against Mr. DDK in round two. I was pretty sure I was going to get blown up really fast. My team is definitely slow on a good day and he was rolling really well. The game didn’t last long! It was this first match that I realized I made that crucial error in not adding Blink – Transmutation. You can find the video to our match, here.

Record after Round Two: 1-1-0

Round Three

round-3-2-25-17

I really love North’s Satchel team, but it doesn’t seem to want to work in an unlimited type format. I put lots of pressure on him with an early Front Line purchase and an aggressive Beholder with his Sidekicks in tow. It took everything he had just to stay alive, and he couldn’t get his win condition going. He was having to use his Turtle Van dice when he blocked my Beholder, just to keep his characters in the Field Zone. In the end, the aggressiveness paid off for me. If this were a Prime format, I have no doubt his team would have done well. There are some teams that just flow so well with the right pilot and Prime Satchel works really well for North. He put up a great fight in our match, trying to find a way to combat my team. He didn’t give up until the last damage was dealt.

Record after Round Three: 2-1-0
Final Standing: 3rd

Final Thoughts

I got super lucky. I had a bye round one, giving me one of my wins. If I had gone up against Hannah or Roper, it would have likely been a loss. I will never build a team at the last minute like that again. It wasn’t fun to play with because it felt like I wasn’t giving the best I could to my opponents. Lesson learned! There are lots of things I would change about this team, starting with taking Big Entrance off and adding Blink – Transmutation. I will be brewing for the next Lockout League event and hopefully do better at building my team.

Lockout List

New Additions are Italicized

Character Slot
Half-Elf Bard: Master Lords’ Alliance
Elf Thief: Lesser Harper
Lantern Ring: Limited Only By Imagination
Oracle: Master Investigator
Constantine: Hellblazer
Black Widow: Tsarina
Guy Gardner: Blinding Rage
Zatanna: Inverted Incantations
Blue-Eyes White Dragon: Monstrous Dragon
Professor X: Trainer
Rip Hunter’s Chalkboard: “Only Zatara Can Reach The POINT
Ring: Lesser Gear
White Tiger: Mystical Amulet
Green Goblin: “Gobby”
Dwarf Wizard: Paragon Zhentarim
Red Dragon: Lesser Dragon

BAC
Cloudkill
Vicious Struggle
Resurrection
Magic Missile

What are some changes you’d make without changing the spirit of the team?
Have a build you like better?
Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

You can find videos from this event and many other events on my YouTube channel.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Leave a Reply

