Tournament Report! March 11, 2017 – Lockout League Week Two of Six

Posted: March 13, 2017 in Competitive vs Casual, Dice Masters, Report, Strategy, Team Building
Tags: , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

This is week two of six for our Lockout League season. If you aren’t familiar with the Lockout League format, it’s a really fun format that allows for more creativity as the weeks progress. Each week, the first place player will have their entire team added to a Lockout List. Players cannot use any card on the Lockout List while building a team for that week. We tried something different this time (suggested by Brett). We started this Lockout League with a pre-Locked List. Players voted on cards from the previous season’s final list and the cards with the most votes started our Lockout List. Pre-Locked List is Italicized.

Characters
Half-Elf Bard: Master Lords’ Alliance
Elf Thief: Lesser Harper
Lantern Ring: Limited Only By Imagination
Oracle: Master Investigator
Constantine: Hellblazer
Black Widow: Tsarina
Guy Gardner: Blinding Rage
Zatanna: Inverted Incantations
Blue-Eyes White Dragon: Monstrous Dragon
Professor X: Trainer
Rip Hunter’s Chalkboard: “Only Zatara Can Reach The POINT”
Ring: Lesser Gear
White Tiger: Mystical Amulet
Green Goblin: “Gobby”
Dwarf Wizard: Paragon Zhentarim
Red Dragon: Lesser Dragon

BAC
Cloudkill
Vicious Struggle
Resurrection
Magic Missile

I want to apologize in advance for the poor quality photos. I have to take screen shots from the videos because I don’t have a decent camera since my phone was stolen. I will add DM Retrobox links for each of my opponent’s teams.

And because of the weather roller coaster we’ve been experiencing the last two months, many of our players are still out sick or now have sinus issues (a small part of what caused my headache towards the end of the night). We had four players, so I volunteered to stay on the camera so that everyone could get on at least one video (even though I think most of the locals would rather play off camera). You can find all the videos on my YouTube channel in the March 11, 2017 playlist.

My Team

rarity-and-paper

I apologize for the lack of a team picture, but at the time I published this article, I didn’t have a camera to take the picture with. I tried to get a screen shot from a video, but I couldn’t get a decent one. I’ll try to update the article with a picture later.

You can find my team here, on DM Retrobox.

This is my classic Guardians of the Galaxy team, with a slight tweak. Blue-Eyes is banned already, so I had to replace him. I thought Stepford Cuckoos would be a nice addition, to help me clear their field a little so that my attackers could get through. I also added Reclaim in the place of Hulk Out, and Big Entrance in the place of Polymorph. I love my GotG team and I wanted to give it a go in Lockout League.

Round One

Round 1

You can find my opponent’s list, here.

Never under estimate the power of a super intelligent gorilla and his Sidekicks. I knew I needed to hit North early for as much as I could, but Grodd came in full blast with way too many Sidekicks. Grodd is an overwhelming piece when he’s been turned loose on your opponent. I just couldn’t get enough going to take out North before I was overrun by Grodd and his Overcrushing, 2A Sidekicks. Lady Bullseye played a huge part in his victory against me as well. She’s a great early game pressure piece to distract your opponent while you work up to Grodd. The Guardians fell to Grodd in round one.

Record after Round One: 0-1-0

Round Two

Round 2

You can find my opponent’s list, here.

This is another team that needs to be hit fast and hard. If the game drags out too long, this burn team can easily take the victory. Storm is a titan among mortals with Unstable Canister, and even Superhero Registration Act (SRA). When Hannah plays SRA with Storm in the Field, I take one damage. Then I have to decide if I’m going KO a character or let her draw three dice. When you know she has the chance to draw one to three Unstable Canisters from SRA, you typically want to KO a dude so she only draws two dice. She was desperately lacking Parallax though, because with SRA, you only get the single roll on those dice you drew. Missing the roll on a couple of Canisters is what enabled me to seize a victory in this round. The Guardians built up their force and then went for the victory with little character resistance, thanks to the Cuckoos.

Record after Round Two: 1-1-0

Round Three

Round 3

You can find my opponent’s list, here.

I was not looking forward to battling it out with Mr. DDK. My slight headache had become a full blown migraine by this match and I’m ashamed to say that I did not give it my all against him. His team is devastatingly effective though with Lyssa Drak and War Machine dealing their burn damage to the opponent. She-Hulk is a great finishing piece with Lady Bullseye as extra damage backup. I kinda wish I had made him play on camera all night because his team would have been much more entertaining to watch than mine. The Guardians fell really hard against Travis’s team.

Record after Round Three: 1-2-0
Final Standing: 4th

Final Thoughts

I love my Guardians team, just as much as I love my Justice League team. But with the announcement of rotation, both those teams are now going to be solely Golden Age. Our local scene is going to focus mainly on Modern Age and Prime, but we plan to host Golden Age events from time to time. A few players want to play their Bards, and I want to be able to play my JL or Guardians again. I want to remind folks that just because the big WizKids events will likely only be Modern Age, doesn’t mean you can’t play Golden Age locally.

Even though I had a nasty headache/migraine most of the day, I still had fun in most of my matches. I can’t wait for our third week of Lockout League! I have no clue what I’ll be playing, but I’m brewing some more theme-team type stuff. That’s the stuff that’s really fun to play!

Updated Lockout List

New Additions are Italicized

Character Slot
Half-Elf Bard: Master Lords’ Alliance
Elf Thief: Lesser Harper
Lantern Ring: Limited Only By Imagination
Oracle: Master Investigator
Constantine: Hellblazer
Black Widow: Tsarina
Guy Gardner: Blinding Rage
Zatanna: Inverted Incantations
Blue-Eyes White Dragon: Monstrous Dragon
Professor X: Trainer
Rip Hunter’s Chalkboard: “Only Zatara Can Reach The POINT”
Ring: Lesser Gear
White Tiger: Mystical Amulet
Green Goblin: “Gobby”
Dwarf Wizard: Paragon Zhentarim
Red Dragon: Lesser Dragon
Captain Cold™’s Cold Gun: Frozen “Firearm”
Constantine: Antihero
Lyssa Drak: Future Sight
Wasp: Fashionista
Lady Bullseye: Attack on Two Fronts
She-Hulk: Sensational
Professor X: Recruiting Young Mutants
War Machine: “Rhodey”

BAC
Cloudkill
Vicious Struggle
Resurrection
Magic Missile
Cone of Cold
Hypervelocity

What are some changes you’d make without changing the spirit of the team?
Have a build you like better?
Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

You can find videos from this event and many other events on my YouTube channel.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Leave a Reply

