Confusing Card of the Week #81 – Shiklah: Succubus

Posted: March 29, 2017 in CCW, Confusing Card of the Week, Dice Masters, Rules
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Shiklah: Succubus  from the Marvel Deadpool set.

W Shiklah, Succubus

Ruling Ability

Shiklah has a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Shiklah’s ability says that while she’s active, you move a Sidekick die from your Used Pile to your Prep Area, but only at the beginning of your turn. If Shiklah is not active when your turn starts, you can not use her ability even if you field her later that turn. The beginning of your turn is before your Clear and Draw Step, so if you don’t have any Sidekick dice in your Used Pile before your Clear and Draw Step, you won’t be able to use her ability.

Ally characters only count as Sidekicks while they are in the Field Zone. Allies do not count as Sidekicks anywhere else, so you could not move an Ally character with Shiklah’s ability.

Any dice put into your Prep Area before your Roll and Reroll Step, cannot be rolled during your Roll and Reroll Step. Sidekick dice that are moved using Shiklah’s ability are not eligible to be rolled during the Roll and Reroll Step on the turn they are moved. They can be rolled that turn using other game effects such as Momentum or X-23.

Shiklah’s ability is not optional because it does not say that you ‘may’ move a Sidekick die from your Used Pile to your Prep Area. As long as she’s active at the beginning of your turn and you have any Sidekick dice in your Used Pile, you must move one into your Prep Area.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Shiklah is a Mask type character card.
~ She has the Deadpool affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Rare and is #112 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Shiklah’s ability.

~ I have two Shiklah dice in my Field Zone and three Sidekick dice in my Used Pile. I have no dice in my Prep Area.
~ At the beginning of my turn, before my Clear and Draw Step, I must use Shiklah’s ability. I move one Sidekick die from my Used Pile to my Prep Area.
~ (Clear and Draw) I move any leftover dice from my Reserve Pool and place them into my Used Pile. I draw four dice from my bag and place them in my Prep Area – but keeping them separate from the Sidekick die I just moved there.
~ (Roll and Reroll) I roll the four dice that I drew this turn, but not the Sidekick that was put into my Prep Area at the beginning of my turn.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

You can find a ruling about dice placed in the Prep Area before the Roll and Reroll Step, here.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Ratings

You can find a guide to my ratings, here.
These are personal opinion of the card being showcased and not an official reflection of current major meta.

Golden Age Rating

I would be really surprised to see this card make it onto any competitive level Golden Age team. There are way too many other cards that are much more effective and easier to utilize. I can’t give her a zero rating though because she is an alternative form of churn that doesn’t rely on a Global. While she’s not the best option for churn, she can’t be shut down by Global nullification like PXG can.

Shiklah: Succubus gets a rating of one out of five stars.
1 Star

Modern Age Rating

I could see Shiklah finding her way onto a few teams in the Modern Age format. She’s a more delayed form of churn, but if you keep her active, you’re always gonna have at least a Sidekick in your Prep Area every turn. I’m not quite convinced that she’s better than a rogue team character. She’s got a unique ability that requires her to be active at the beginning of your turn. This gives your opponent a whole turn to get rid of her if they want to. She can be blasted out of the field with a Cold Gun, or even bolted with the Global on Unstable Canister. But I guess if your opponent is spending their resources for that, they aren’t spending them on anything else.

Shiklah: Succubus gets a rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Prime Rating

I’m not crazy about this card in Prime either. Her defense stats aren’t the best if you’re looking at an uncommon or rare Cold Gun across the table from you. It can take her out on two of her sides and mess with your churn flow. Personally, I’d rather use Stepford Cuckoos than Shiklah because I’m guaranteed a character or Sidekick die with Cuckoos, where Shiklah relies on there being Sidekicks in the Used Pile. She’s not a first pick for me in any format. She’s not a terrible card and I’ve seen others use her effectively for their team, but I’m not feeling her for my teams.

Shiklah: Succubus gets a rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Casual Play Rating

I do not like this card for casual play. She causes so much confusion, like Lockjaw does if he KO’s dice with his ability. I just had a discussion about X-23 and this card with several different folks, trying to explain how the dice moved via her ability interact with dice drawn for the Roll and Reroll Step and with X-23. She’s a great card to use for X-23, but the confusion over the Roll and Reroll Step makes her very difficult for beginners to use. I’ve watched advanced players get confused over this card, and Lockjaw too. Many players do not realize that they can’t roll those dice that were just placed there on that turn. It’s a very common mistake and one that I know I’ve made several times. I do not recommend beginners use this card right away. I would recommend that players on a more advanced level try using her with cards like X-23 and Momentum to help teach other players.

Shiklah: Succubus gets a rating of two out of five stars.
2 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s