News! Spring Rainbows for WKOs!

Posted: March 29, 2017 in Dice Masters, Draft, HeroClix, News
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Wiz-Fans!

 

Guess what?! We have a third round of WKOs coming this May! You can find the info here and here! For Dice Masters fans, this is huge because WizKids has announced that the format will be a Rainbow Draft! This is the first event of its type for Dice Masters. We’ve always had the Rainbow Draft format and we’ve always had draft side events, but for the main event to be a draft – that’s a first and really awesome!

What’s not awesome is how far and few between the events seem to be right now. The closest one for me is over five hours away. That’s not feasible for me to do in a single day. I can handle a three hour drive, one way, but not five or more. I hope they add more locations for many of those areas lacking a closer location.

It’s still really super awesome that WizKids is officially recognizing Rainbow Draft as a competitive level format with this round of WKOs. This is another huge step in the right direction for the game as a whole.

The prizes for the spring WKOs appear to be the same prizing as the other two rounds of WKOs. I have absolutely no issue with this as this helps players that couldn’t make it to the previous events. It gives those players an opportunity to play for those cards that many of the constructed competitive players already have. I do not like having a tournament season where each event has different prizes. Some players may get overwhelmed if they feel like they have to travel all the different events just to try for different prizes. If someone already has the prizes and they don’t want to go play again, then they don’t have to. If someone already has the prizes and they still want to play, they can because they can trade duplicate prizes. I hope that they don’t alter the prizes for the spring WKOs because I feel like it’s more beneficial to have the same set of prizes for the whole tournament season. We will get a chance to play for different prizes at Nationals, Worlds, and the Origins side events.

Now, for Clix, my limited knowledge of official events is going to show. I’m not sure if they’ve ever done a sealed event as the main event at a WKO before or not. I do know there are sealed side events and that sealed is format in Clix, just like Dice Masters has a sealed format. I think it’s really cool that they’re doing that for Clix this time around. I told Mr. DDK that this makes me want to try a Clix WKO Sealed event – but since there isn’t one close enough, I sadly won’t be able to.

I love that they offer the con exclusives at WKOs too. I know a couple of players that want that cool Spirit of Vengeance Hulk thingy and he’s only $15! I wanted the Turtle Van, but I wasn’t able to get one and now I’m having trouble getting one. I would recommend that you pick up those con exclusives if you’re really want them!

I’m excited about this announcement for the upcoming Spring WKOs, for both Clix and Dice Masters! I hope that this trend continues and WizKids continues to support sealed events as official competitive formats.

Thanks for reading!

Dial it up and roll on!

Leave a Reply

