Tournament Report! April 1, 2017 – PDC Prime Store Championship

Posted: April 3, 2017 in Competitive vs Casual, Dice Masters, Report, Team Building
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

Saturday was our Pro Dice Circuit Prime Store Championship event. We had a total of eight players attend and I’ve put links to their teams from DM Retrobox below. We played three rounds with no top cut. I had tons of fun and it seemed like everyone else did as well. We had enough PDC dice to give everyone one right at the start.

In prepping for this event, I couldn’t decide if I wanted to play Bat-Bomb with Dick Grayson or Inhumans with Black Adam. I was very close to choosing Inhumans, but I really wanted to try Bat-Bomb.

My Team

Bat Bomb

You can find my team on DM Retrobox, here.

This is your average, everyday Dick Grayson Bat-Bomb team. Without the addition of Unstable Canister in the TMNT2 box, this team would not function near as well as it’s meant to. I had a build where I used the uncommon Cold Gun instead of the rare version, so that I could KO my Alfred dice and not have to worry about blanking them. I wanted to use Babs, just because I’ve never used her in a tournament before. Travis suggested that I pair her with Static for field control. I love my Cuckoos, but I only bought them once during the entire tournament. Reclaim is probably one of my favorite BACs in Prime. It’s a churn machine with the chance to give you energy instead.

Round One

Josh's X-23

Josh and I finally get a rematch! We played at the Owensboro WKO back in 2016 in round one. We saw each other at the WKO this year, but didn’t get an opportunity to play against each other. I knew I was going to have a fun match, win or lose, because Josh is an all around nice dude and a great sport. I also knew I was going to be in trouble if I made any mistakes because he’s a really good pilot. I made a huge mistake by waiting until late game to purchase a Babs. I made an error with Dick Grayson during the match, which was caught by Travis. I didn’t apply the bonus from Alfred being KO’d and almost lost my Dick Grayson die because of it. I also made a mistake in turns, which wasn’t caught. Static was active and I didn’t use his ability – but I highly doubt it would have made much of a difference in the outcome of the match. But the error is still there because his ability is not optional. You can watch our entire match on YouTube, here. I made lots of tactical mistakes in this match and I probably would have put up a better fight if I had purchased Babs sooner, or maybe started cycling a second Cold Gun. I was afraid of making my bag too clunky with too many Cold Guns, but in hindsight, I probably should have done it.

And I’ve already told Josh this, but I am so very proud of how much he’s advanced in his Dice Masters skills. If you live around the Nashville area and you’re looking for a group, get in touch with his group. I’ve heard they have a nice bunch of folks that play at Blackthorn in Dickson. I hope to make my way out there sometime and get a few games in!

Record after Round One: 0-1-0

Round Two

Aaron's Inhumans

Aaron came to the event without any of his Dice Masters stuff. When I realized that he didn’t have anything at all to play with, I scrambled to adjust my Inhumans team so he could play. I didn’t have a spare rare Cold Gun, so I subbed in the uncommon, which is really a good card in its own right. I also didn’t have a spare Wasp: Fashionista, so I threw Bane in her place. Haymaker is supposed to be Reclaim, which I didn’t have a spare of either. That was the Inhumans I was thinking about playing, but chose Bat-Bomb instead. I don’t regret that choice. Aaron had a ton of fun playing this team and even came in third place with it!

This team is a little more devastating than I realized. Black Adam was slowly picking me off, because I didn’t want to put my characters back on their cards. I couldn’t buy all of the pieces I needed and deal with Medusa-Black Adam at the same time. Hacker made me spend that extra bit of energy to field my characters, leaving me unable to purchase other dice I needed. Many times, I desperately needed those characters in the field because he would be able to KO me if I didn’t have a blocker! Do not underestimate Inhumans in Prime. There were two Inhumans teams and they took second and third place! There was nothing I could do in the end and the Inhumans overwhelmed me.

Record after Round Two: 0-2-0

Round Three

Hannah's Storm Burn

Hannah was playing her signature Storm Burn, with a few adjustments. I know how fast this team can fire off, so I went straight for Static and Babs to help me keep Storm in check. That worked well for me and bought me some time to get Dick Grayson and set the timer on the bomb. She was doing okay without Storm. She was using her Unstable Canisters, and my own, to whittle my life total down. We were coming down to the end of the match, with me at next to no life and her rolling two Canister dice. Her Canister die rolled an action face, but my Canister die that she had purchased, did not. My die didn’t betray me! I was left at one life, and I needed to roll a couple of Bolt energy to have a chance to win. I drew four Sidekicks and rolled a Bolt and a Wild. One Alfred ended up failing to return to the field, but my second Alfred gave Dick Grayson more than enough attack to KO Hannah in one attack. This game was down to the wire and very exciting to play!

Record after Round Three: 1-2-0
Final Standing: 6th

Final Thoughts

I love my Bat-Bomb, so very much. There are a few things I would change on it, like Cuckoos. They have their place on several of my teams, but this isn’t one. I like the Babs and Static combo, but I think I’d rather use it on a different team. I need to find a way to make Dick Grayson the center of attention and just use accessory and utility pieces around him.

The event overall was a great success and everyone had fun. I was very happy to see Josh and Jeremy from the Nashville area and hope to see them at Origins or another event in the near future. I’m so proud of Josh for winning this event and earning a spot in the PDC State Championships! Josh was lucky enough to be in all three videos since he was the top match each round.

First Place

First Place – Josh B.

I’m very proud of everyone that played because everyone tried their best, but they didn’t let a defeat get them down. I give major kudos to our two Satchel players. They both worked hard on their teams and did the best they could. This was Jamie’s first tournament for Dice Masters – ever. He’s played casually, but decided to jump into this event and give it a shot. Maybe our other locals that didn’t attend will decide to brave the more competitive waters next time and join in the fun!

Top Four 1 a

Top Four (left to right) – Jeremy C., Travis F., Josh B., and Aaron H.

Full List of Teams

Here are the team lists for each team played, who played it, and the order they placed. Click the team name and it will take you to DM Retrobox, with all the card details. If your team name is different than the one shown, let me know and I’ll correct it. I neglected to ask everyone what they called their teams.

First Place:
Josh B.
X-23/Babs

Second Place:
Jeremy C.
Inhuman Justice

Third Place:
Aaron H.
Adam and the Inhumans

Fourth Place:
Travis F.
War-Hulk

Fifth Place:
J. North
Satchel

Sixth Place:
Kat F. (DDK)
Bat-Bomb

Seventh Place:
Jamie T.
Satchel/Storm

Eighth Place:
Hannah N.
Storm Burn

Congratulations to everyone on a successful event! Now it’s time to prep for Origins – Modern Age.

If any of the other players at this event choose to do a write up, please let me know. I would like to add a link to your article!

What are some changes you’d make without changing the spirit of the team?
Have a build you like better?
Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

You can find videos from this event and many other events on my YouTube channel.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Leave a Reply

