Confusing Card of the Week #83 – Ranx: Malevolent Metropolis

Posted: April 11, 2017 in CCW, Confusing Card of the Week, Dice Masters, Rules
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Ranx: Malevolent Metropolis¬† from the DC War of Light set. This randomly selected card is brought to you by DM Retrobox.

Before we get into the game related part of this week’s article, I want to briefly talk about who Ranx is. I’m not that familiar with the DC Universe – or more specifically the Lantern part of it. I had no idea who Ranx was, so I went to Wikipedia for some answers. In short, Ranx is a sentient city that is often viewed as a villain of sorts. It is classified as a planetoid and has many unique abilities, including powers granted to it by the yellow power ring. I found this character to be interesting and if not for Dice Masters, I probably wouldn’t have known Ranx existed.

W Ranx, Malevolent Metropolis

Ruling Ability

Ranx has an ability that can be used during the Assign Blockers part of the Attack Step. Due to the nature of the ability, you may only use the ability if the character is active.

Ranx may block any number of Bolt type character dice that are attacking you. Those characters must be assigned as attackers in order for Ranx to block them. If you choose to use Ranx’s ability to block multiple Bolt characters, you may not block a character that isn’t a Bolt character. Characters with abilities like the one on Ranx may choose to block normally or may use their special blocking ability, but not both.

You may choose to use the ability or choose not to use it for each individual Ranx die that can block.

Standard Sidekick dice are not considered to be any energy type and would not be eligible for Ranx’s ability if you choose to use it. An Ally that is a Bolt type would be eligible.

A Crossover character that has a Bolt in its energy type is considered a Bolt character.

When a character is blocking more than one attacker, you do not get to deal your blocker’s full amount of damage to each blocked character. You can choose to assign all of it to one attacker or divide it among any number of blocked attackers.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Ranx is a Shield type character card.
~ It has the Villain and Sinestro Corps affiliations.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #96 of 142.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using multiple Ranx dice.

~ I have two level three Ranx dice (4/8) in the Field Zone. My opponent has five Bolt characters, a Mask character, and two Sidekick dice in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) My opponent attacks with all five Bolt characters, the one Mask character, and the two Sidekick dice. My opponent moves all the attackers into the Attack Zone to show that they are attacking.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) I assign one Ranx die to block all five Bolt characters, moving it into the Attack Zone in front of the five Bolt characters. I assign the second Ranx die to block the Mask character, moving it into the Attack Zone in front of the Mask character. The Sidekicks are unblocked.

Example Two:
Assigning damage while blocking two or more characters.

~ I have one level three Ranx die (4/8) in the Field Zone. My opponent has two Hal Jordan dice (level one 3/2 and level two 4/3) and one Sidekick die (1/1) in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) My opponent attacks with both Hal Jordan dice and the Sidekick die, moving them into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) I assign my Ranx die to block both Hal Jordan dice, moving it into the Attack Zone in front of the Hal Jordan dice. The Sidekick is unblocked.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) Ranx assigns three of its four damage to the level two Hal Jordan die and the last point of damage to the level one Hal Jordan die. This is enough to KO the level two Hal Jordan, but not the level one Hal Jordan. The two Hal Jordan dice assign their combined total of seven damage to Ranx, which is not enough to KO Ranx. The Sidekick die assigns and resolves its one damage to my life total and is then placed Out of Play.
~ (Clean Up) The KO’d Hal Jordan die is placed in the Prep Area. The characters that are not KO’d are moved out of the Attack Zone, back into the Field Zone. All effects end. Dice that are Out of Play are moved into the Used Pile.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

You can find a ruling about a similar ability, here.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Ratings

I am temporarily removing my ratings from the Confusing Card of the Week articles. I plan to redo my ratings system and improve it!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s