Confusing Card of the Week #85 – Bob, Agent of Hydra: The H Stands For Hopeless

Posted: April 25, 2017 in CCW, Confusing Card of the Week, Dice Masters, Rules, Strategy
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!


For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Bob, Agent of Hydra: The H Stands For Hopeless  from the Marvel Deadpool set.

W Bob, Agent of Hydra, The H Stands For Hopeless

Ruling – Ability

Bob’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.


While Bob is active, Deadpool affiliated character dice can’t be targeted by opposing actions. Bob’s ability applies to Basic Action dice and Non-Basic Action dice.

An opposing action is an action die that the opponent uses, regardless of which player’s Basic Action card it was purchased from. For example, if I have Unstable Canister as one of my Basic Actions and my opponent buys one of those dice, that action die is considered to be my opponent’s action die for game effects.

As long as Bob is active, an opponent can’t target any Deadpool affiliated characters with any action die. If you have Bob active on your side of the Field and your opponent has a Deadpool affiliated character on their side of the Field, you can’t target their character with any action die. Bob does not only protect your Deadpool affiliated characters; he protects all Deadpool affiliated characters from opposing actions.

Bob’s ability will protect his own dice from being targeting by opposing action dice because he has the Deadpool affiliation and his ability does not say ‘other’ Deadpool character dice’.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Bob, Agent of Hydra is a Fist type character card.
~ He has the Deadpool affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Rare and is #88 of 124.


These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Opponent using a Basic Action purchased from my card.

~ My Basic Actions are Unstable Canister and Reclaim.
~ My opponent’s Basic Actions are Shocking Grasp and Superhero Registration Act.
~ My opponent has an Unstable Canister die showing an action face in their Reserve Pool.
~ I have Bob and Dogpool active.
~ My opponent cannot target Bob or Dogpool with the Unstable Canister die that they purchased from my card because the die is considered to be an opposing action die while my opponent is using it.

Example Two:
Opponent has an active Deadpool affiliated character, I have Bob.

~ My Basic Actions are Unstable Canister and Reclaim.
~ My opponent’s Basic Actions are Shocking Grasp and Superhero Registration Act.
~ I have a Shocking Grasp die showing an action face in my Reserve Pool.
~ I have Bob active.
~ My opponent has Dogpool active.
~ I cannot target Dogpool with the Shocking Grasp die. I can target Bob because the action die is not considered an opposing action die since I control Bob and I’m using the action die.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

Opposing Globals relevant ruling, here.

Abilities benefiting or affecting opponent’s characters relevant rulings, here and here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference


Opinion and Strategy
I want to take this opportunity to thank a fellow Dice Master for reaching out to me with their question about Bob. They were unclear as to what would qualify as an opposing action. This was an excellent question to ask and I also wanted to mention that the same ruling applies for the use of Globals. The game state only cares about who is using the Action or Global. Thanks for reaching out with your question, because it gave me the perfect card to use for today’s article! I love having inspiration for my articles as opposed to just hitting the random card button in Retrobox, because then I know someone out there is getting some benefit from my article.
I’m not a huge fan of using characters that potential benefit my opponent unless it’s part of my strategy. So far, I haven’t found a good use for this version of Bob. I know there are a few other players out there looking at working with this particular version and I hope that they find a way to make him work for them. In a casual setting, I could see where this version of Bob would make for some interesting games. He’s not an expensive character to purchase and his fielding costs are very good, but his attack and defense are not the best. He’s not a character you’d necessarily want to attack with since his ability requires that he be active, so low attack isn’t really an issue. His defense is lower than what I like for a character with a While Active ability. It makes him an easy target for burn Globals like the one on Unstable Canister. That’s a huge downside if you’re wanting to use Canister and Bob on the same team. It only takes one or two Bolts to be rid of Bob! He’s probably not a character I would choose for one of my teams, and not likely one I’d draft either.
That is just my personal opinion on this version of Bob and just because he’s not my type of card, doesn’t mean he’s bad. Everyone has a different play style and someone out there may have a build using him that works great for them! If you have a team build using him, feel free to share it! It’s fun to see what everyone else is playing with and how other folks build their teams.
Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!

Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s