Confusing Card of the Week #86 – Ready to Rocket!: Basic Action Card

Posted: May 2, 2017 in CCW, Confusing Card of the Week, Dice Masters, Rules, Strategy, Team Building
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Ready to Rocket!: Basic Action Card  from the Marvel Age of Ultron Starter set.

W Ready to Rocket, BAC

Ruling – Ability

Ready to Rocket! is a Basic Action Card. When a player uses a Ready to Rocket! Action die, a target character die will get +2A until the end of the turn.

When this Action die is used, it will be placed Out of Play until the Clean Up Step where it will then be moved to the Used Pile.

You can target one of your character dice or one of your opponent’s character dice with a Ready to Rocket! action die.

Ruling – Teamwork

When a player uses Ready to Rocket! on a character with an affiliation, they must also use the Teamwork ability if there is another character die of the same affiliation active. This is not an optional ability if there are active character dice with the same affiliation as the initial target.

Similar to the first part of this card’s ability, you can target one of your character dice or one of your opponent’s character dice, so long as it shares an affiliation with the initial target.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Ready to Rocket! is a Basic Action Card with no energy type.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a max dice of three.
~ This card is a Common and is #32 of 126.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Ready to Rocket! during the Main Step.

~ I have a Ready to Rocket! die showing an action face in my Reserve Pool. I have two Villain character dice and an Avenger character die in my Field Zone.
~ (Main Step) I use Ready to Rocket! and target one of my Villain dice, giving it +2A. There is another Villain active, which means I must use the Teamwork ability on Ready to Rocket! and give the other Villain +2A as well. The Ready to Rocket! die is place Out of Play.

Example Two:
Using Ready to Rocket! during the Attack Step.

~ I have a Ready to Rocket! die showing an action face in my Reserve Pool. I have two Villain character dice and an Avenger character die in my Field Zone. My opponent has a Villain character die in their Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign my three character dice to attack, moving them into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns their Villain to block my Avenger affiliated die, moving it into the Attack Zone and placing it in front of my Avenger affiliated die.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) I use my Ready to Rocket! die, targeting one of my Villain affiliated dice. There are other Villains active, so I can choose which of the two other Villains to give the +2A from Teamwork to. I choose to give my other Villain character die the +2A. The Ready to Rocket! action die is placed Out of Play.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

Well, I didn’t have any requests or rules questions this week, so I hit the random buttons on DM Retrobox. Much to my surprise, the random character was a Rocket Raccoon and Ready to Rocket! was the Basic Action. Seems fitting since Ready to Rocket! is in the Marvel Free Comic Book Day starter, and Guardians of the Galaxy 2 is about to hit theaters. It was like fate reached out and said  – THIS ONE! The Rocket Raccoon was not a good choice for a CCW article, because there wasn’t any text to cover.

Even though the fates directed my random selection this week, they didn’t choose a card that I like. It’s got cute artwork and I’m getting a promo this weekend, but as for being a card I’d play – it’s not. I love to play affiliation teams, but most of the time, those teams need other BACs to help them along. And as I’ve mentioned in previous articles, I don’t like using cards that could benefit my opponent. You always have the option of not using an action die, or not fielding a character, but why would I want to waste a die – even in a casual game. I hate wasting dice more than potentially helping my opponent. There are times where buffing an opposing character’s attack might be useful, like to KO one of your characters with a large defense that also has a KO ability, but there are easier ways to that. That’s especially true for Golden Age, which is the only format Ready to Rocket! is legal in.

RtR Close Up

As you can see in the picture above, the promos are numbered the same as the original from Age of Ultron – meaning these Ready to Rocket! promos are not legal for Modern Age. I don’t see myself playing a lot of Golden Age, but if I put my Guardians of the Galaxy team back together, this card might be kind of useful since I’ll have access to Blue-Eyes as a cost reducer in Golden Age and not need to use Big Entrance.

I don’t mind that WizKids has chosen a Golden Age card as a FCBD promo. I think that’s a good move; showing that they’re still giving some love to Golden Age cards. I hope that WizKids eventually expands their tournament options to Golden Age like they have with the Rainbow Drafts. That would make some of these Golden Age promos a little more desirable.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!

Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s