Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Jessica Jones: Ladies’ Night  from the Marvel Defenders Team Pack.

17 Jessica Jones, Ladies' Night

Ruling – Ability

Although her ability doesn’t say it, it acts as a While Active ability. You can find that ruling here. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Jessica Jones says that whenever one of your character dice are targeted by a Global or character ability, she will get +1A and +1D. Her ability is not limited to opposing Globals and character abilities. If you target one of your own character dice, including a Jessica Jones die, her ability will trigger. Her ability does not target, so she would not get additional bonuses from her ability triggering.

Her ability will trigger each time one of your character dice are targeted by a Global or character ability, and not just once in a turn.

When Jessica Jones’s ability is triggered, it will apply to each of her dice that are active at the time it was triggered.

Action dice abilities can affect Jessica Jones and characters friendly to her without triggering her ability. Targeting her, or a character friendly to her, with a Global on an Action card will trigger her ability.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Jessica Jones is a Fist type character card.
~ She has the Defenders affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #17 of 24.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Jessica Jones and a friendly character targeted during my opponent’s Main Step.

Game State
~
I have a level three Jessica Jones die and a Sidekick die in the Field Zone.
~ My opponent has a level one Shredder: Dining on Turtle Soup in their Reserve Pool and two Bolt energy.
~ It’s during their Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ My opponent pays one energy, sending it Out of Play, to field Shredder.
~ They use Shredder’s ability and target my Sidekick, which is now KO’d and placed in the Prep Area and I lose one life.
~ Because a character die I control was targeted by a character ability, Jessica Jones gets a +1A/+1D.
~ My opponent spends their last Bolt energy, moving it Out of Play, for the Global on my Unstable Canister Basic Action Card. They target my Jessica Jones die.
~ My Jessica Jones die takes one damage from the Global ability, but because a character die that I control was targeted by a Global ability, Jessica Jones gets a +1A/+1D.
~ My Jessica Jones die now has a +2A/+2D, making her attack an 8 and her defense a 5. But because that die has taken one damage this turn, she can only take 4 more damage before she’s KO’d.
~ My opponent passes priority to me, but I choose to not use any Globals. I return priority and we move into the Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ My opponent assigns Shredder to attack, moving his die to the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ I assign Jessica Jones to block Shredder, moving her die to the Attack Zone in front of Shredder.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ My opponent does not use any actions or Globals.
~ I do not use any Globals.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ Shredder assigns his four damage to Jessica Jones’s remaining defense of four.
~ Jessica Jones assigns her eight damage to Shredder’s defense of four.
~ Both characters are KO’d.
(Clean Up Step)
~ Character dice that were KO’d during the Assign and Resolve Damage portion of the Attack Step are moved to the Prep Area.
~ All dice Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile.
~ All damage on character dice is cleared.
~ All effects end unless otherwise stated.

Example Two:
Jessica Jones die targeted during the Attack Step.

Game State
~
I have a level three Jessica Jones die and a Sidekick die in the Field Zone. I also have one Fist energy and one Bolt energy in my Reserve Pool.
~ My opponent doesn’t have any characters in the Field Zone and no energy in the Reserve Pool.
~ None of my characters stats have been altered.
~ We’re moving into my Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign my Jessica Jones die and my Sidekick die to attack, moving both of them into the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ My opponent does not assign any blockers.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ I spend one Bolt energy, moving it Out of Play, to use the Global on my Unstable Canister Basic Action Card and target my Jessica Jones die.
~ Jessica Jones takes one damage and her ability triggers because one of my character dice was the target of Global ability. My Jessica Jones die gets a +1A/+1D.
~ I spend my Fist energy, moving it Out of Play, to use the Global on my opponent’s Haymaker Basic Action Card and target my Jessica Jones die.
~ Jessica Jones gets a +1A from the Haymaker Global and her ability triggers because one of my character dice was the target of a Global ability. My Jessica Jones die gets a +1A/+1D.
~ My Jessica Jones die now has a +3A/+2D making her attack a 9 and her defense a 5.
~ My opponent does not use any actions or Globals.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ Both of my character dice are unblocked. They each deal their attack directly to my opponent.
~ My opponent is dealt 10 damage and both of my character dice are immediately placed Out of Play.
(Clean Up Step)
~ Character dice that were KO’d during the Assign and Resolve Damage portion of the Attack Step are moved to the Prep Area.
~ All dice Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile.
~ All damage on character dice is cleared.
~ All effects end unless otherwise stated.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have an official ruling for this specific card.

Ruling about abilities that need the character to be active, but the card doesn’t say While Active, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

Out of all the cards in the Defenders Team Pack, this Jessica Jones and Iron Fist: Holding Back the Storm are the only cards I like. I went straight for Iron Fist instead of test playing Jessica Jones because I loved his ability. But after playing with him a little and trying to make him work, I think Jessica Jones is the route I need to go.

When playing a card like this, you want to bring Globals that tempt your opponent into using them on your dudes, like Unstable Canister. They can target Jessica Jones as much as they want, but unless they have some other way to deal her damage, she won’t get KO’d by Canister Global strikes alone. Using Haymaker isn’t a bad idea either – or Goliath if you want to use a different Basic Action besides Haymaker. You don’t have to rely on your opponent to use Globals/character abilities on your characters. You could just pump her up on your own and then give her Overcrush for those potential blockers. You could make her unblockable with an ability like the on Silver Sable: Hero for Hire. And because it targets, it buffs her stats too.

For the competitive scenes, I think she might fall just short of being a top tier card. It’s not her purchase cost that’s the issue – I think it’s very reasonable for her ability and stats. There is way too many Cold Guns out there that can take her out. Her ability doesn’t trigger off of Action abilities, just Globals and character abilities. But even if it did trigger off of Action abilities, a Cold Gun shuts her down before she attacks. You would need to put pressure on your opponent with multiple Jessica Jones dice, which can be difficult since she cost five to purchase.

I don’t think she’s too overpowered on her own for a casual setting, but I would be mindful of what your other locals are playing.

I like this card and I think she’s probably the best card in the Team Pack. I can’t wait to give her a go this week! I might even pair her with some of this crazy new Batman stuff. And just because I don’t think she’s good enough for meta competitive play, doesn’t mean I won’t try her!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s