Confusing Card of the Week #94 – Mr. Freeze: Dr. Victor Fries

Posted: June 27, 2017 in CCW, Confusing Card of the Week, Dice Masters, Rules, Strategy, Team Building
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Mr. Freeze: Dr. Victor Fries from the DC Batman set.

W Mr. Freeze, Dr. Victor Fries

Ruling – Ability

Mr. Freeze has a When Fielded ability. A When Fielded ability will trigger when that character die is ‘fielded’ either by paying its fielding cost and placing it into the Field Zone from the Reserve Pool, or when an ability allows you to ‘field’ that character die. An ability that swaps, moves, places, etc. will not trigger a When Fielded ability.

Mr. Freeze’s ability allows you to put a Stun Token on an opposing character card. That character does not need to be active in order to use his When Fielded ability on a character card.

Ruling – Stun Tokens

Stun Tokens prevent a character’s dice from attacking or blocking. If a character card has any number Stun Tokens on it, none of those character dice can attack or block.

A character card can have more than one Stun Token on it. Stun Tokens can be removed, but the owner of the character card must pay two generic energy each. Removing a Stun Token can be done at any time the player could use a Global.

Removing a Stun Token during the Attack Step must be done during the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step, after the Assign Blockers portion. This means the character that just had all their Stun Tokens removed has missed the opportunity to block that same turn.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Mr. Freeze is a Bolt type character card.
~ He has the Villain affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #23 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Mr. Freeze’s ability.

Game State
~ I have a level one Mr. Freeze die and a Fist energy in my Reserve Pool.
~ My opponent does not have any character dice in the Field Zone.
~ It’s during my Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ I spend my Fist energy, moving it Out of Play, to pay for Mr. Freeze’s fielding cost.
~ I then field Mr. Freeze’s die by moving it from the Reserve Pool to the Field Zone and his When Fielded ability triggers.
~ I choose any character card on my opponent’s team and place a Stun Token on that card.
~ The rest of the turn proceeds as normal.

Example Two:
Removing multiple Stun Tokens.

Game State
~ I have a level one character die in my Field Zone and that character’s card has two Stun Tokens on it.
~ I have two Bolt energy, one Mask energy, and one Fist energy in my Reserve Pool.
~ It’s the end of my opponent’s Main Step and they have passed me priority.
(Main Step)
~ I spend one Mask and one Fist energy, moving them to the Used Pile, to remove one of the Stun Tokens on my character’s card.
~ I spend my two Bolt energy, moving them to the Used Pile, to remove the second Stun Token from my character’s card.
~ The rest of the turn proceeds as normal.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find a relevant ruling, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

The more I read this card, the more I really like him. Using him with Parallax and Fabricate could be a great way to get multiple Stun Tokens on several character cards, forcing your opponent to waste precious resources to free up those characters. I really love the idea of Stun Tokens too, and I think it’s really silly that they can stack! It’s not over powered though because Mr. Freeze is a five cost character (the cheapest one too) and his fielding cost is one on all levels. It balances out a little and makes you work for those Stun Tokens, but if you can get a good flow going, you could lock down your opponent’s team and then attack with your Mr. Freeze dice for a chilling victory!

Yes, I went there.

How could I not when my favorite Mr. Freeze of all time is the Arnold Schwarzenegger?! I know… everyone hates him except for me, but I don’t care! I want an alt art Arnold Freeze card!

Arnold Freeze

Arnold aside – This Mr. Freeze card has lots of potential in Modern Age and casual play, but I think it may be just a bit too slow for Golden Age. I could be surprised though and someone could find a team build that works. As far as drafts go, this guy is ridiculous. I’ve not had the opportunity to use him, but I’ve seen him in action, and folks that use him have an easier time against those troublesome Red Hoods.

I have a Modern Age team build that I want to test with this particular version of Freeze, and I’m itching to try it. I’ve been too busy trying to make my Jessica Jones/Goliath/Proton Canon work and I need to move on to something else. I would totally recommend this card for other players to test in Modern Age and play around with in casual settings.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Leave a Reply

