Tournament Report! July 8, 2017 – Lockout League Week 6 of 6

Posted: July 10, 2017 in Dice Masters, Report, Strategy, Team Building
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

This is week six of six for our Lockout League season. If you aren’t familiar with the Lockout League format, it’s a really fun format that allows for more creativity as the weeks progress. Each week, the first place player will have their entire team added to a Lockout List. Players cannot use any card on the Lockout List while building a team for that week. We tried something different this time (suggested by Brett). We started this Lockout League with a pre-Locked List. Players voted on cards from the previous season’s final list and the cards with the most votes started our Lockout List. Pre-Locked List is Italicized.

Characters
Half-Elf Bard: Master Lords’ Alliance
Elf Thief: Lesser Harper
Lantern Ring: Limited Only By Imagination
Oracle: Master Investigator
Constantine: Hellblazer
Black Widow: Tsarina
Guy Gardner: Blinding Rage
Zatanna: Inverted Incantations
Blue-Eyes White Dragon: Monstrous Dragon
Professor X: Trainer
Rip Hunter’s Chalkboard: “Only Zatara Can Reach The POINT”
Ring: Lesser Gear
White Tiger: Mystical Amulet
Green Goblin: “Gobby”
Dwarf Wizard: Paragon Zhentarim
Red Dragon: Lesser Dragon
Captain Cold™’s Cold Gun: Frozen “Firearm”
Constantine: Antihero
Lyssa Drak: Future Sight
Wasp: Fashionista
Lady Bullseye: Attack on Two Fronts
She-Hulk: Sensational
Professor X: Recruiting Young Mutants
War Machine: “Rhodey”
Donatello: Technologic
Raphael: Second Son
Michelangelo: Booyakasha!
Leonardo: Fearless Leader
April: No Mere Damsel
Metalhead: Dissociative Identity
Rip Hunter’s Chalkboard: WHEN AM I?
Casey Jones: Mutant Hunter
Falcon: Recon
Alfred Pennyworth: MI-5
April: Channel 6 Reporter
Aunt May: Independent
Elektra: Way of the Stick
Parallax: Source of Terror
Felicity Smoak: Manipulating Technology
Foot Ninja: Ninja Syndicate
S.T.A.R. Labs: Advanced Research
Goblin: Lesser Humanoid
Giant Spider: Greater Beast
Rip Hunter: Navigate the Sands of Time
Multiple Man: Pile On!
Jessica Jones: Ladies’ Night
Goliath: Bill Foster

BAC
Cloudkill
Vicious Struggle
Resurrection
Magic Missile
Cone of Cold
Hypervelocity
Mutation
Villainous Pact
Reclaim
Big Entrance
Superhero Registration Act
Upgrade – Proton Cannon

You can check out our featured matches from this event on my YouTube channel, Dice Dice Kitty. You can find the videos in the July 8, 2017 playlist.

My TeamMy Team 7-8-17

You can find my team here, on DM Retrobox.

I wanted to give this Hawk-Dove combo a shot in this week’s Lockout League. I got to use my beloved Nasty Plot for some churn, and I put Haymaker on the team to pump up Hawk’s attack. Rocket was supposed to help me spin my Doves to level three and Captain America was supposed to help me gain a little bit of life and give me a blocker too. Flesh Golem was the KO engine for Dove, which works perfect if you can get Doves in the Field. S.T.A.R. Labs, Red Dragon, and Goblin Attack Force were my utility cards used primarily for their Globals.

Round One – Bailee R.

Bailee's Team 7817

Bailee and I test played our teams to prepare for the tournament and I already knew I was at a serious disadvantage going in. Using Harley Quinn, Batwoman, and Huntress together is so nasty! Once Botwoman gets cycling, there isn’t much you can do to defend yourself against her. We were the featured match for round one, so you can see the teams in action on my YouTube channel.

Bailee went on to win the event, which would have gotten her list added to the Lockout List, but this was the final week.

Record: 0-1-0

Round Two – J. North

North's Team 7817

Here I was, sitting across from a very similar themed team to what I just played against. We both had awful rolls to start the game and we both struggled to get our momentum going. North got his team up and running long before I could even get my team to stabilize, which ultimately ended in my defeat. North used the uncommon Harley instead of the rare version that Bailee used. Both are highly effective and Carmine Falcone is a great choice in a format where players are fielding Sidekicks to get them out of their bags.

Record: 0-2-0

Round Three – Bye!

bye-player-pony

Spectator time! I got to dance around and watch all the other matches in the third round.

Record: 1-2-0
Final Standing: 5th

I know I speak for many of the locals when I say that I’m relieved this Lockout Season is over. We won’t be planning another anytime in the foreseeable future. We were playing Lockout Leagues to help with the stale Unlimited meta prior to the announcement of rotation. We are just now getting around to the final week of that series of events. Most of us want to Draft and play Modern Age and maybe do some special events around the holidays instead of worrying about ban lists like this.

I still had fun and I definitely enjoy the Hawk-Dove combo when it works. I plan to build a Modern Age version of this team and hopefully I can get it to work a little better than this one. We all enjoyed the Lockout League and it may be a format we revisit in the distant future. But for now, our focus is going to be on Modern Age and drafting, and maybe a little Prime too.

What are some changes you’d make without changing the spirit of the team?
Have a build you like better?
Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

You can find videos from this event and many other events on my YouTube channel.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Leave a Reply

