Tournament Report! July 22, 2017 – Modern Age Constructed

Posted: July 26, 2017 in Dice Masters, Report, Strategy, Team Building
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

This week was just your typical Modern Age event. Our locals enjoy Drafts and Modern Age the most, but we’re going to add in some Golden Age events soon. Be on the lookout for those!

You can check out our featured matches from this event on my YouTube channel, Dice Dice Kitty. You can find the videos in the July 22, 2017 playlist. We only had four players this week, so I stayed on camera to give everyone a chance to have their team featured.

My Team
My Team 7-22-17

You can find my team here, on DM Retrobox.

I am very determined to get Hawk and Dove to work – eventually. I absolutely love their combo with Fabricate. Rip Hunter adds that additional churn that this team desperately needs, but I don’t like that I have to buy him as well. To get the churn I need, it slows me down by a turn. S.T.A.R. Labs and Wasp are on the team for their utility. Wasp helps me force those troublesome characters to block when I attack, hopefully KO’ing them. This helps the most against Swarm characters. And because of that very reason, I use Multiple Man instead of any other Swarm character. With his level three side, he can potentially withstand a hit from a low-moderate attacker. Giganta is a key piece on this team for her Global. She can be a big, beefy attacker making her my back up win condition. Reclaim and Big Entrance are both very handy, but I’m considering swapping them out at some point.

Round One – Hannah N.

Hannah 7-22-17

You can watch our match, here.

Parademon burn is not something I like to see across the table from me. It can be lethal the longer the game goes. You start by taking one or two, here and there, and before you know it, you’re almost KO’d. Pair that with an unblockable Harley Quinn and that Merlyn and you’re in big trouble. I was able to slow her Swarm ramp by using Wasp’s Global, which caused her some problems in getting her team set up. The longer our match went on, the more fearful I was that she would get those characters that she needed and be able to KO me with one attack!

Record: 1-0-0

Round Two – Travis F.

Travis 7-22-17

You can see our match, here.

I really dislike Guy teams. They’re difficult for me to deal with and to add to it, it was Mr. DDK playing it. He’s a very tough opponent and I’ve gotten lucky a few times against him, but this wasn’t one of them. I made a lethal mistake in this match by not keeping my level one Hawk and trying to roll him on a higher level. I should have kept him to spin him up on the next turn. I don’t think it would have mattered that much in the grand scheme of things, but I would have had a better chance if not for that error. It was still a great match and didn’t go at all the way I expected. That’s mainly due to his Guy dice not rolling characters, but that happens and it’s part of the game.

Record: 1-1-0

Round Three – J. North

North 7-22-17

You can watch our match, here.

The Satchel Master Sidekick King is back at it with a new type of team! He wanted to try out Team Up from the new Superman Wonder Woman starter so he chose lots of cheaper characters with different affiliations. I had better rolls than he did in this match. We both agree that Lantern colors would probably be best for Team Up, but nothing ventured – nothing gained. Knowledge and experience was gained in this match, and sometimes that’s priceless. I hope he tries his Lantern Team Up idea soon as I would love to play against it!

Record: 2-1-0
Final Standing: 2nd

I’m at a loss as to what I need to change on this team. I know I can get it to work, I just don’t have the creative juices to get it going right now. This may be a team that needs to sit in the box and then revisit it in a few weeks. I have a few other teams to try out, so I guess that’s what I’ll do. I had thought about swapping Multiple Man for Goblin. That would give me the extra fist energy for Haymaker, and make it so I only need two Doves, but Goblins get blasted way too easy. Multiple Man has the ability to survive an attack on level three, where the Goblin just dies. I really believe that my error lies in my BAC choices and possibly with Rip Hunter. But Rip Hunter was so beneficial – or was he? He slowed me down on my Dove purchases because I had to purchase him, and roll him. I may try swapping him out for a utility card like Chalkboard.

I’m definitely open to suggestions for this team, but I’m probably going to box it for now and try something different.

What are some changes you’d make without changing the spirit of the team?
Have a build you like better?
Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

You can find videos from this event and many other events on my YouTube channel.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Leave a Reply

